Thinking of buying a car from UK back to Msia with Student AP. But how?

Vox

Jul 2, 2008

I'm going to UK to further my studies and i heard from my friend said that in UK if you own the car more than 9 months you can ship the car back to Msia with student AP discount tax.

I just dono where to post this so i posted it in here. Hope someone experienced can help me out please.

I just want to ask, how much will Msia tax even with Student AP? :confused:
Izit really 9 months ownership can bring back the car? :confused:
Normally people will do this? or izit worth to do this? :confused:

Hope someone help me out as i'm going very soon. Thanks!

hell yeah!...depend on your ride...it worth the hassle...(considering high performance vehicle price here)

and yup...as far as i know...1person would get 1 AP to bring back any vehicle to malaysia..(bikes/car etc etc)...

if not mistaken u need to check with malaysian embassy over there first about the whole proccess....

and that 9month ownership also tru if not mistaken....

wsukun

Nov 17, 2008
London Calling
9 months? I highly doubt about it buddy..
What u plan to bring? Any specific in mind?
Are you here in UK d? Even better, what you studying here? Duration?

ae101rulez

Sep 2, 2005
erm...
conditions on bringing car back

9 months ownership
one year insurance
apply AP 3 months before u return to msia at MITI...
shipment back to msia would be around 6++ pounds if i am not mistaken (quoted few years back)

before considering what car to bring back, you have to think whether it is worth to do so..Yes, the cars are cheap there..Mini Cooper second hand can be bought for 2k pounds ..could you manage the insurance for a student driver there?? even so, u only could drive it on your first year...after that, u need a local license to drive the car...btw, I was quoted 5k pounds for a measly 2001 toyota Corolla for a 23 year old foreign student living in London without a garage at night, 7k for a Toyota Supra 1993 model...If you are FA-MA sponsored, den maybe can or under scholarship..there is no objection...one more thing, make sure you have the air conditioning option when you buy it..would not want a 'only' heater car when it is back in malaysia..hehehehe...:proud::proud::proud:...hehehe...p.s, if you have any minister connection, you can bring in the car tax free like one of my malaysian friend did...brought back a UK spec 7 series beemer for his minister dad which was tax free...hehehehe...:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Otacon

Sep 6, 2010
As someone who has actually done it, here are my 2 cents on this matter.

First off, the 9 month rule is correct. You will need to be in the UK, and own a car for at least 9 months to qualify for your student AP. Please note that owning includes registering the car in your own name and insuring it under your name for the aforesaid 9 month duration.

So assuming you've bought said car and kept it for the required 9 months - congrats, you've just earned yourself a handy Student AP! What next?

Logically, the next step will be to arrange for shipping of the car, right? Wrong! By UK law, you will need to declare your car as 'off road and to be exported out of the country' by sending off the required section in your vehicle registration sheet back to the DVLA. Once that form is sent, your vehicle is no longer legally allowed to be on UK streets.

Then comes the shipping part - a 6m container (half size) can fit a car, but if you're considering shipping your belongings back to M'sia, you might as well get a full size container and send a couple of boxes back at the same time. Cost of the container will depend....from about 1000 pounds is the usual rate for a half size container and it'll take about 6 weeks for the container to arrive at the port of your choice in M'sia.

After 6 weeks, your car arrives in M'sia. Here comes the difficult part. You will receive a notice from the Customs authorities that your car has arrived and that you will need to pay the necessary duties. The import tax is waived as part of your student AP but take note that you will still need to pay for EXCISE DUTY! This amount then depends on the original sale price of the car and the age of the car. If I remember correctly if the maximum discount you can get is 75% off the original sale price of the car...so be prepared to pay a large amount for the excise duty!

Once all the payments have been sorted out, you will need to register your car. This usually involves going to the JPJ and handing over or showing the necessary customs documentation, then sending your car over to Puspakom to be inspected - usually the engine number and chassis number will be scrutinised at this point! Once everything is in order, your car can then be registered and taxed under your name in M'sia....bearing in mind that ownership of the car cannot be changed for 2 years after the car is brought back to M'sia.

One final word of advice...rotaries are classified as twice their stated displacement (1.3 litres to 2.6 litres) in the UK due to their high power output and unusual method of producing power compared to piston engines. So your rotary will be registered as 2.6 in M'sia and the road tax will be RM1100 per year! Not the measly RM80 for a 1.3 litre! So beware if you're thinking of getting a rotary!

Anyway, hope this helps!

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
another thing that u should also consider is the parts availability here in malaysia. not all the common cars there are common here. even to get euro car parts besides merc n bmw is hard. so think over it carefully. not discouraging u. u can pull of a good deal with this student ap thing but what really matters is the practicality in using it here once u r back for good.

wsukun

Nov 17, 2008
London Calling
No wonder fd3s are somehow rather "cheap".
For a mere 8k quid u can get quite a mint condition with some aftermarkets..
Let's say one transporting a 8k FD back to Msia..
the final price u have to pay for all the necessary procedures adds up to the same market value of FD sold in Msia which I think around 70-80k vary..

But the benefit of getting cars here is the amount of almost stock condition for instance FD or Supra.. The amount of 3rd parties importers here are quite big..

ae101rulez

Sep 2, 2005
erm...
Otacon : Can I ask about the insurance part? because it seems you have SORN-ed the car before bringing it back to Malaysia...Is that possible? because the a shipping company plus Malaysia counterpart told me I need to have valid insurance at the time of bringing the car back to UK. This part seems quite funny for students esp studying 3-4 years there where some would insure the car only the last year to fulfil the 9-12 months insurance rule and just SORN the car those previous years...hahahaha...and one more thing, was it worth the money saving to bring back the car to malaysia or maybe just could have got the exact one in Malaysia??? This could help newbies in answering their questions..

Otacon

Sep 6, 2010
@ae101rulez

Regarding the insurance, it is true that you will need valid insurance in order to ship your car back to Malaysia. In my case, my car was used daily from the day I bought it in the UK so it was never SORN-ed at any time. Be advised that SORN and the declaration for export are two completely separate matters, SORN just means what it states, a 'Statuatory Off Road Notification', but you will still need to declare your vehicle is for export and that requires another notification to the DVLA.

If you stay in the UK for more than a year then you are obliged to hold a valid UK driving license in order to insure your car. Let's say you plan to complete an average university course spanning 3 years - in order to drive or even insure a car once you are past your first year, you will need a UK license. Once you've obtained the license, getting insurance will be the next hurdle. Men aged 17-26 years and above have one of the highest insurance premiums in the UK as they are technically in the highest risk group.

An example - a Group 1 insurance car (1 litre Vauxhall Corsa) will have a premium averaging 2500 pounds per year for a man in the group I mentioned above. An 'average-level' performance car like the Civic Type R or the RX8 will be in Group 16....so try imagining the insurance premiums for that. And that is before you even try buying something truly 'hot' in Group 20 cars like S2000s, Evos or GTRs. In some cases the cost of the premium will be even higher than the cost of the car! I found out that some insurers even decline to supply quotes for performance cars. However, there are ways to get around this.

Method 1 is to find a specialist insurer for performance cars - quotes vary and you will very definitely have a sky high excess in the even of you needing to claim insurance for your car. This was the route I took and it was risky but hey, it wasn't as though I had a choice to be honest. Method 2 - insure your car under someone in a lower risk group (someone older, or a female) and put yourself as a named driver. Again, this depends on whether you actually have someone in the UK to bank on as the named person on the insurance policy. Method 3 is simply to not insure your car. I don't condone this for obvious reasons - if you get caught, you stand facing a hefty fine and your car may even be seized and crushed - yes, you heard me right...crushed. And pardon my French but uninsured bastards who get involved in accidents are the main driving force behind the ever-rising insurance premiums. So Method 3 is definitely a no-no!

The final consideration is almost Shakespearean in nature: to bring or not to bring? It depends on many factors. The most obvious would be cost savings - so do some research and find out the market price of cars back home before deciding to bring your car back from the UK. In my case, I found that selling my car would net me a huge loss (as cars depreciate really fast in the UK) so I decided to bring my car back instead, where even with the excise duty and shipping costs factored in, I could theoretically sell my car in two years' time in M'sia and still make a profit. Another factor would be cost - will you be able to accept not only paying for the car, but having to pay for the insurance premium, road tax, shipping fees, excise duty, registration fee before being able to use your car in M'sia?

Of course the rarer performance cars like the Evo, the GTR, Supra, FD3S will command a higher price in Malaysia as they are relatively rarer in this country. I would say if you can afford it, go for something more exotic as it then justifies the expense when you consider the equivalent price you would have to pay for one in M'sia. But again, do your research as if you buy a newer model, you may be subject to a higher excise duty once your car lands in M'sia. When I unloaded my car at the port, there was a fenced off section with imported cars that were unclaimed by their owners as they did not want to pay for the unwelcome surprise that is the excise duty!

I guess the moral of the entire story above is to know exactly what you're getting into before buying a car in the UK, whether or not you decide to ship it back to M'sia at the end of your stay in the UK. The mountain of paperwork I had to go through made me feel like tearing my hair out at times, and the time and hassle involved was not insubstantial either. However, at the end of the day, I felt it was all worth it!

BE5RSK

Dec 31, 2009
Besaout
Everything that explained by Bro Otacon is correct, EXCEPT he missed one thing.

Before you paid and collect your car at Royal Custom Malaysia, you need to obtained AP from MITI. It means that, once you arrived in M'sia (and your car is still in container on ship) you have to purchase JK/69 form at Percetakan Nasional. You have to type (yes, use typewriter) the form (2 copies) and attached together with your flight boarding pass (UK to M'sia), copy of passport, M'sia IC, driving license, copy of all relevant documents regarding your ownership of the car and submit it to MITI. MITI will process it in 14 days and if every documents attached is completed, you will get an "APPROVED PERMIT" letter from MITI. You need to import/bring back that car to Malaysia in 90 days from the date of the letter.

Once, your car arrived at Port, you need to bring that letter together with all documents of your car/ownership to the Royal Custom Office at Port Klang. Get the calculation of tax/duty from Malaysian Custom (you can appeal for some discount by write a letter to their KP/DG), pay the tax/duty, and then your car is ready for PUSPAKOM inspection and JPJ registration (also local insurance premium) before it can roll on the beautiful Malaysia roads.

Good Luck :biggrin:

BE5RSK

Dec 31, 2009
Besaout
I have a soft-copy of letter from MITI regarding the new rules and regulations for AP. the file is in PDF format and I failed to upload it here as the capacity is quite big (about 2MB).

I guess it would be useful to share it with everyone here. Anyone can help me?

ae101rulez

Sep 2, 2005
erm...
well said from bro Otacon...hope it clears up anything that newbies like me didn't know.:biggrin::biggrin:..btw, I did method 3 of not insuring the two corollas I bought....hahaha..I can only say I was lucky not be caught driving it without any insurance for the time I was there.:stupid::stupid:.well aside from the silly things, it seems that its a big hassle to bring the car back to Malaysia...unless you really sayang your ride till the extend of bringing it back and make sure you know what deep $*** you may get into..hahahaa...if only this blardy country do not tax its own citizens for returning the country..hehehehe..:proud::proud:

---------- Post added at 01:12 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:07 AM ----------

MITI link...(hopes it work)

http://www.miti.gov.my/cms/content....n.Section_b9d1745e-c0a81573-35b735b7-76d76729

cRazYee

Oct 7, 2005
first! collect £300-400 pounds to convert your malaysian license to hk license then to UK license, save the hassle to take test
and make sure you have malaysian license translated to english by certified person

---------- Post added at 01:30 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:29 AM ----------

use dropbox bro!

I'm driving a Proton Iswara Aeroback...i just changed my absorbers to Monroe Sensa-Trac about few days ago....i'm using back my 5 year old stock spring with that new Monroe Absorbers.....i realized my riding became even harder than before....cornering is improved but it harden my ride....izzit because i use back my stock spring ? or should i change to a new n better spring ? What is the best spring recommended best for Monroe Sensa-Trac absorber ? Please help all the sifu...