Type R Gearbox Syncro problem...Any advice?

mADmAN

i bought it for RM190 at Exceptional Autoparts in Glenmarie... dunno about other spare part shops. in mudah i saw someone selling RM220.

yeah can use for LSD gearboxes... the meor and hizam i mentioned above are both driving DC5-Rs

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
Sil80-13,
IF d crunches does not go away after 2-3 days of normal driving,thn i guess ur in big trouble.no choice but 2 open up d gbox n inspect...BUT since u mentioned d crunches now only happen during high rpm,shudn't b dat serious.....

maDmaN,
i'm not sure abt Hizam's case but every1 dat i've suggested using dis gear oil 2 solve d crunching problem all came back happy.....n i had d chance 2 compare btween MTFIII vs Lightweight Shockproof almost back 2 back......i'd say Red Line gives me better shifting whc is more precise compared w MTFIII.....but i must say MTFIII is good too...just too bad i had a mis-shift incident n had 2 switch 2 Red Line.....

cad843

Mar 23, 2005
Oita Ken
akuma,
Last time dis prob oso happened to me but after I use 1 oil product from US, its just reduce the prob onli. Let say I opened up my gb, which part should I check/change?

Btw its happened to me on low rev not high rev

Sil80-13,
Sorry coz borrow ur thread & asking another question :biggrin:

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
cad843,
usually crunching problem w Honda gearboxes r mostly caused by sychros......& to untrained eyes,usually u won know wat's wrong or whc synchros is spoilt..leave 2 a competent mechanic.....

cad843

Mar 23, 2005
Oita Ken
cad843,
usually crunching problem w Honda gearboxes r mostly caused by sychros......& to untrained eyes,usually u won know wat's wrong or whc synchros is spoilt..leave 2 a competent mechanic.....
I will send over to experience mechanic later to check my gb, but Im planning to change together with release bearing. Any advise for other wear & tear parts inside gb that I should check together? 1 more thing, that copper ring can be change or not?

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
wat copper ring?AFAIK,whn u buy brand new synchro,they come as a set...whc means 2gether w d copper ring(if v r talking abt d same item)...basically,nothg much in d gbox except 4 d ratios,shafts,synchros,bearing,forks,magnets......wat need 2 b changed depend on ur mechanic's inspection n how much u trust him.oh yeah..1 advise....while d gbox is open,kindly remind ur mechanic 2 clean d inner part of d shafts(usually by pumping fresh oil 2 force any dirt/grime out)....MOST shops i c dat fixes gbox don do dis....gd luck

mADmAN

and while ur gearbox is out..its a good time to upgrade/change ur clutch if u need to...

also a good time to be installing LSD if u dont have one.

still got 2L MTF-III left... will be using that in another 9k km....then mebbe ill give the redline a try....

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
woi..dun play d while ur at it game ler wei.....coz it'll b a never ending story..hahahah...so,y not while ur at it.....experiment w all d aftermarket ratios available(ATS,KAAZ,JUN,SPOON,etc frm 1-5).....hahahaha..koyak d poket!kekekekekkeke......
eh,wat's d service interval 4 MTF-III?

mADmAN

LOL.... poket koyak boleh jahit maaaaaaahhh hahahahhahahahahahha

MTF-III around 20k if not mistaken... typical for gearbox oils

but im the type that changes every 10k

mADmAN

itu kena slow slow jahit and refill la.... which is what im doing now ha ha ha ha ha

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009
Sil80-13,
IF d crunches does not go away after 2-3 days of normal driving,thn i guess ur in big trouble.no choice but 2 open up d gbox n inspect...BUT since u mentioned d crunches now only happen during high rpm,shudn't b dat serious.....

maDmaN,
i'm not sure abt Hizam's case but every1 dat i've suggested using dis gear oil 2 solve d crunching problem all came back happy.....n i had d chance 2 compare btween MTFIII vs Lightweight Shockproof almost back 2 back......i'd say Red Line gives me better shifting whc is more precise compared w MTFIII.....but i must say MTFIII is good too...just too bad i had a mis-shift incident n had 2 switch 2 Red Line.....
akuma,

Normal driving no problem at all. But when I try again with high rev shifting from 2nd gear to 3rd gear, no crunching sound already...Also dont know why. Anyone just bought Red Line Lightweight Shockproof gear oil from Kakimotor. Will change & test it when the next RCA track day....

cad843

Mar 23, 2005
Oita Ken
and while ur gearbox is out..its a good time to upgrade/change ur clutch if u need to...

also a good time to be installing LSD if u dont have one.

still got 2L MTF-III left... will be using that in another 9k km....then mebbe ill give the redline a try....

I already placed an order for few g/b items fr Japan with assistance fr 1 fren that staying there. Hopefully my g/b project can complete bef end of this year

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
so,wat haf u ordered frm Japan?not available here or price difference too much?care 2 share?

My gf's brother's car was stolen from a workshop in Batu Lanchang.
I was told that the victim sent the car to his usual workshop for services and found out the car was not there when he came to look at the car at about 8pm today. The details of the incident is still unknown as the victim is currently in Batu Lanchang Police Station to lodge a report.

It's a Proton Waja, white in colour with reg. plate of PFF7739.

To those in Penang or anyone here in zth happens to bump...