Blacktop ECU - missing info in the service manual

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Yes it will work if you supply 1V to OX+. However the heating method for the heater are difference between SVT and BT ECU and will affect the performance of Titania O2 sensor.
SVT --> heat up the Titania O2 sensor with PWM. This is to keep the heater's temperature at a constant level. At this temperature, Titania O2 sensor works very well.
BT --> heat up the Zirconia O2 sensor with either turn ON or turn OFF the heater. It turns ON the heater at idling/low load, and turn OFF the heater at high load.
So if you run Titania O2 sensor with BT ECU, the O2 sensor will only deliver signal at idling/low load. At high load, when the ECU turn OFF the heater, the signal will gradually missing.
And since the BT ECU didn't control the heater's temperature, there will be a situation that the Titania O2 sensor will be over heated and may shorten its lifespan. Therefore, unless you have a seperate PWM circuit to support the Titania O2 sensor, otherwise never run your Titania O2 sensor with BT ECU.

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
wow, now I understand how it work. So I guess currently you are designing PWM circuit for the titania right?

olskool

Jan 15, 2005
Hi Guys,

Sorry to go off track a bit but have any of you experienced higher idling due to lower water temp when a/c is on? It's only happening after I switched to blk top 5sp ecu. I'm using a silvertop.

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
High idling? Could it be your TPS too advance? I guess if a vacuum hose left unplug will afect the idling as well, even though its running with MAP.

---------- Post added at 11:09 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:07 PM ----------

wow, now I understand how it work. So I guess currently you are designing PWM circuit for the titania right?
Still under design... paper still blank... :biggrin:

Wong , you really do research for the 20V. haha keep up the good job.
Yeah Danny, research for an old engine, not cost effective at all but still want to do it.

olskool

Jan 15, 2005
High idling? Could it be your TPS too advance? I guess if a vacuum hose left unplug will afect the idling as well, even though its running with MAP.
Yeah but when I switch A/C off and the water temp goes to 84-86C the idle will drop to 900rpm, perfect. Switch A/C on temp drops to 76C plus idle 1.1-1.2k rpm. Hoses replaced and checked, no leaks :banghead::banghead:

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
Is it that idling during aircon compressor on or off? AFAIK, when aircon compressor turn on, iscv will work to allow more air for the engine.
When both fan running, there will be slightly low temp for the water.

olskool

Jan 15, 2005
I don't know bro...It's been like that since I swapped to MAP.

I've been recently informed by a BT 6sp user who changed his thermostat to 78/76C that his idle is at 1.2k all the way but only after the change. Prior to that it was idling at 900rpm a/c on or off...

makan petrol!!!! :bawling::bawling::bawling:

Pls see table below...

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Yes thats the one. If turn anti-clockwise 45 deg each will move the idling up from 800rpm to ~900rpm. If you want to tune down your idling, it should be clockwise direction.
Usually we adjust this with the aid of carburator balancer. If you do not have it, makesure all 4 screws turn at a similar angle.

olskool

Jan 15, 2005
Thanks Levin818, but mine looks like the below pic and does not have individual vacuum outlets. So I wouldn't know how to use the carb balancer if I had it.

Also, if I tune it idling down when a/c is on to RPM900, would it affect the idling when the a/c if off?

cuscostrutbrace: Is all 20v water temp at 82C when a/c is on? I thought it should be lower since both fans are on...

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
I ever borrow a Carb balancer from Ah Ngah long time ago. It is a thing with analog needle that move according to the airflow. By placing it on top of individual throttle, you can monitor/adjust the aif flow at each throttle. According to BT service manual, at correct airflow you should get 850rpm at idle with all electrical load OFF. So you should not measure the airflow with A/C ON.

One of my bro's Proton Putra stolen. Location: KOI KINRARA Puchong.Date/Time: Between 1/1/11 2300hrs to 2/1/11 0400hrs. Reg.NO: BFE 8848. Car has custom bodykits and colour is RED Rosso Scuderia. Any info or leads, kindly inform 012 242 5050 or 016 260 6600. Do help to pass the message on. Thank You.