Can Subaru V8 1.6N/A install GC8 2.0 Turbo engine?

blue.taxi

Nov 27, 2006
err... why a GC8's engine..? u can try the GDB/GBA engine.

Solty8

Obviously can install, but as above, why GC8 ? Better to go for GD series chasis, if ur huntin for half or full cut, best is to get a full cut and transfer everything over. U will be gettin 4WD as well as subaru is just plug in play most important is to find a good garage with experience with Subaru. Another thing is ur budget, spending so much, mebe it's better to sell ur ride and top up get a proper V8 or V9 ?

Why most will say go for GD series coz GC8 is an older generation engine, maybe sourcing GC8 is easier than GD but u might need to mod or move certain things to fit into GD chassis, "might" coz I never compare the engine bay of GC and GD b4. :biggrin:

Zeroonetwo

Oct 6, 2009
I got this car very cheap but the cat engine cant satisfied me..so decided to plug in gc8 engine... N gc engine easy to find some more cheaper

fuselage

May 18, 2005
shah alam
hahah....obviously because of the price...

for ur reference..stock ver. 7 halfcut will cost u RM 13k - 15k....ver. 8 RM 15k-18k....

ver. 4 halcut from RM 3k to 5k.....

p/s: u got that car very cheap?how cheap bro...hehehehehe

kUmUcHaI 11/1

Feb 28, 2010
JB - KL
err... why a GC8's engine..? u can try the GDB/GBA engine.
agree what he said.....why not GDB????:confused: since you got your car good price
nowadays, V8 STI stock car can get at second hand market 10X000
transplant need too many work and time....done once for my ek4.....
Really feeling good when you building a car but it is just too time consuming for me
result will be satisfied of cos but....it is just a converted...
EK or EG converted is so wanted ..... Subaru or Evo converted .....??
i didnt wanna say converted is bad, keep in mind...
hope you understand what i mean....

bro....suggest you get a V7 STI converted to V8 STI.....or even a stock V8 STI ( better )

riggy

Oct 1, 2004
the problem is that if you buy a gc8 engine you may not have the correct propshaft, and will surely not have the correct driveshafts. the gd models are slightly longer and wider. then you also need to make sure you're also buying the brakes, knuckles, wiring..you also need a new meter panel as the 1.6ts meter has a 6200rpm redline so you need a gd wrx meter cluster. Then add the fact that the gc8 engine would be almost 20 years old.......hmmm

in short, if you opt for the gc8 engine you're screwed. your car will be a mess and you will not enjoy your ride even more.

how slow is your 1.6ts anyway? pm me for help

regards

Stewart

Jul 26, 2005
i'm interested to know how cheap u got that car too.. lol

Even if you could - JPJ would not approve it. Max upgrade 30% capacity increase. Meaning 1.6 can go to 1.8 at most

Stewart

Jul 26, 2005
Even if you could - JPJ would not approve it. Max upgrade 30% capacity increase. Meaning 1.6 can go to 1.8 at most
ermm isn't it 1600cc +30% still within 2000cc bracket?

Eh sorry bro,

Engine conversion application guide

It's 25%.. not 30%.

So 1600 + 25% = 2000cc

But is your Subaru 1600 or 1595 or something like that? Usually they round up the capacity so say it's 1585cc, then :

1585 + 25% = 1981.25cc

Whats the actual capacity for the scooby 2L engine?

those 1.8 limit only apply for proton cars only....

other than that if not mistaken still can jump from 1.6 to 2.0 without problems.... :adore:

how true not so sure....but i've seen quite a lot ride that non-proton able to follow the 30% rule up to the limit.....

but don't ask me the upclose personal with those ride..coz not really know the owner....

hye sifu2, senior bros :itsme: ... im newbie to car modification... i driving wira 1.6 (original engine)(auto)
now i want to increase the engine speed with budget under 10k...

so any1 can help me ,, wat i should do? Thnx :confused: