Formula One opts for turbo 1.6-liter V6 mills for 2014

Dinesh

Oct 13, 2006

The new regulations that were to be imposed in Formula One in 2013, replacing the current engine designs of a 2.4-liter V8 with a smaller 1.6-liter turbocharged four banger, have been ditched before they were even put into action.

Strong opposition from the likes of Ferrari have curtailed that ruling from being implemented. Among the concerns voiced included the change in engine sound and that the new engine and exhaust tone could turn off fans as it wouldn’t be as exciting as the current V8 tune.

Instead, the sport’s ruling body, the FIA, have come up with an alternative that serves as a fine balance between the two layouts.

The FIA have proposed to use a 1.6-liter turbocharged V6 layout with Kinetic Energy Recovery System (KERS) and have also extended the implementation of the new rules a year back to 2014.

The proposal has already been approved by the FIA and is just waiting on ratification by the World Motor Sport Council before it kicks in. It’s expected to appease the few teams that have been opposing the inline four layout as it offers a fitting compromise between both engine designs.

Source: CarScoop

LOPI

Feb 28, 2006
melacca
OHH MAMAMIA......
How could FIA proposed this kind of option..
Like Ferrari said the sound of V8 engine make audiance adrenalin up to watch the game...:hmmmm:

Civic Type R

Jun 6, 2011
Sarawak
forum.myviclub.com
Lol.. To save the planet? :idea: VTEC turbo can join also.. :top:

just watch youtube for f1 turbo in 80's era....

thats the sound of v6 1.5liter turbo f1 engine.... :driver:

NeuroOne

WFH
Sep 11, 2006
Putrajaya
1.5 v6 turbo = 1400hp during qualifying? crazy....
what's the AF ratio in this beast? crazy fuel guzzler. hahah..

E-CB3 - 666

Emperor
Apr 25, 2006
Thanks Bro ^pomen_GTR^... im loving this allot. remember those time. f1 car have no abs or magic gizmo to assist drivers. saw one clip onboard senna. constantly making correction on steering each time full throttle. now thats skill.

Hi Guys,
Just wanna share my experience with my mech/workshop with u guys.

on the 06.02.10, i send my car to my workshop to rebuild my engine nearby my apartment,
supposedly yesterday 16.03.10, after 6 bloody weeks i was so happy that i will collect my car,
but at 2 pm, my foreman called me told me to immediately come to the workshop, so i did lor...
guess wat, when i reached there, my left door was like a 'V' shaped.....the stupid foreman can langgar the tiang roadsign......the...