Lots of wiper scratch HELP .

jiusan

Feb 13, 2008
Helo , how are you ?

How to remove those wiper marks and van gogh sun mark on windscreen ?

I recently used a watermark remover that really works
- 3R stain remover RM20 , any accessories shop will have one .

BUT .. to my horror , due to my old windscreen , actually those watermark is covering all the hidden scratches .. now already removed the marks ... comes the all new GREMLIN wiper mark and sun mark ..

So i would like some advice from anybody that have done any DIY or any shop ? thanks ...
and also please consider when using watermark remover on old vehicles .

---------- Post added at 11:55 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:50 AM ----------

some say using wax for polishing car , is this true ?
its giving me a hard night time driving

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand
wiper scratches are a real bane...esp at nite when driving on dark roads and have cars on oncoming side. the flare-ups really totally blinding so yeah...i also would like to know how to repair this.

went to windscreen "specialist"(those roadside specialist that specialise in claiming windscreens) n they say have to change...

jiusan

Feb 13, 2008
helo mr arturo ,
yes these are real problem ... especially old car owners ...
but it seems to have not much of solving since nobody ever answered except u :hmmmm:

i heard of using water sand paper , that really works for yellow scratched plastic headlamps
windscreen wise .. just heard of them working ...

or just add on windscreen coverage in your insurance policy,
wait 3 mths then claim it. but must kautim wid the shop 1st, tell them to smash the windscreen.

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand
i think using sandpaper is a very bad idea. if some dust on your wiper can cause such scratches then it will be much worse if u use sandpaper. i've heard of some sort of rubbing compound for glass that removes a microscopic layer of the glass to remove the scratches but never seen any shops doing it. most will just recommend to change. more $$$ to earn from there i guess...

i searched some archived contacts i have n came across Yeoh - 0378737873. he helped a fellow forum member here restore his 60's windscreen. maybe he can help out. price not sure. for my case...i'm changing my windscreen since already cracked. irrepairable damage.

Danz...old cars insurance company dowan to insure windscreen if previously not insured...they're clamping down on windscreen claims nowadays...

jiusan

Feb 13, 2008
i went to dr windscreen .. it did not work for my windscreen type ...
crystal type will break if dey try to work on it too hard ...
others might work ...

mysayasan

Jul 25, 2009
how much for new honda eg windscreen, cause its been really troublesome especially the glare when driving at night.. holy crap:driver:

last time dr cermin quoted me around 700-800.

jiusan

Feb 13, 2008
they told me rm80 polish my windscreen though it did not work ...
what wrong with ur price ? Rm700 ? what service are you doing ? thats veli expensive,,,,

mysayasan

Jul 25, 2009
they told me rm80 polish my windscreen though it did not work ...
what wrong with ur price ? Rm700 ? what service are you doing ? thats veli expensive,,,,
It is quotation for new windscreen.. uhuh :biggrin:
Not a service.

jimmyae101

Dec 7, 2005
medan indonesia
just use good brand syampoo and good brand wiper rubber which can buy up in eon jusco mall.sometime if ur car too rusty and dirty u using wiper it will make ur car glass sratch follow wiper line.try it first,always make sure ur car clean on glass.

I think this question we can ask KC2 :smile:

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand
i just got my windscreen changed. finally no need to wear sunglassed at nite to reduce flaring of oncoming headlights hahahahha

mysayasan...yr being quoted too high...u want to change?

rm 80 for polishing? what did they use as abrasive compound? if done right i think can be done...tried contacting the # i posted?

speedline...i'm using silicon wipers...even tho they promise that it will last a lifetime, it doesnt. mine already has tears so when swipe, leaves lines of uncleaned areas. i guess stones are to blame. cant blame it on the wiper that. another thing that will cause problems is the bracket it self...it WILL rust and that wont last forever. i'm changing mine to another set of silicons again just cos the previous set lasted me 4 years!

civic EdGe

Jul 27, 2006
My EG windscreen also kena such case.... Need Superman's vision to drive at night with all those scratches and degrading windscreen tint... haiya...... Last time I have searched all over for methods to restore it, but to no avail... searched Meguiar's US forums, and even the admin there mentioned that the best they can do with their high-cut compound and a RB is to remove clogged impurities only to give clearer vision, and not eliminating the actual scratch... Asked my friend who is working at car's window shop, he also has no idea how to polish it. He suggested replacing it instead.... Haihz, susah la...

mysayasan

Jul 25, 2009
My EG windscreen also kena such case.... Need Superman's vision to drive at night with all those scratches and degrading windscreen tint... haiya...... Last time I have searched all over for methods to restore it, but to no avail... searched Meguiar's US forums, and even the admin there mentioned that the best they can do with their high-cut compound and a RB is to remove clogged impurities only to give clearer vision, and not eliminating the actual scratch... Asked my friend who is working at car's window shop, he also has no idea how to polish it. He suggested replacing it instead.... Haihz, susah la...
Superman vision at night so true... :bawling:

Hi All,

After the Japanese eye surgery the previous time, I have been given the honour to perform yet another eye surgery + skin whitening on a Korean.

Patient this time is a Kia Optima 2.0 year 2004. Headlamps have been heavily oxidized and owner feels that it is no longer safe to drive at night with this headlamps. A new replacement would have cost a few thousand but lets say we did it at a fraction of the price.

Lets examine the condition of the lamps:

Oxidation from 7 years...