help needed on elec X-over

Gti

Sep 5, 2004
to all sifus out there...can u all recommend me a good 2\3 way elec x-over?
my budget is strictly below rm200....
or are there anyone selling any good used elec x-over here in zth?
i am very very noob in ice...i only know how to listen
now my alphasonic 2\3 way elec x-over already kong...
so need to find replacement...but no more budget already...
hope all sifu can give good advice...
thanx

DJThoRmented

Dec 1, 2003
giving out your budget and what currently your own would make it easier for the sifus to recommend you know :tongue:

:wink:

Viperize

Apr 12, 2005
Gti , do u use preamp for your setup ?

When u use Active E-Xover u remove all passive ?

Gti

Sep 5, 2004
sifu....i dun think i have any passive cross over la...
my setup very simple only...
i 2 channel amp for my woofer
and i 4 channel amp for my components set
and i don't have a pre-amp
that's y my X-over is very important lor....
hope sifu can help...

Viperize

Apr 12, 2005
I'm not sifu :D my setup almost same like yours... 1 x 4ch amp / 1 x 2ch amp / but my rear is comp set with crossover.... and i have a preamp... now wanna add a electronic x-over... any brand to recommend ? Mohawk MK 3I ok or not ? Do i still need to use back my current passive x-over after installing the E x-over ?

DJThoRmented

Dec 1, 2003
Viperize said:
I'm not sifu :D my setup almost same like yours... 1 x 4ch amp / 1 x 2ch amp / but my rear is comp set with crossover.... and i have a preamp... now wanna add a electronic x-over... any brand to recommend ? Mohawk MK 3I ok or not ? Do i still need to use back my current passive x-over after installing the E x-over ?
Having both PreAmp + Acitve XO isn't usually the recommended way. I have my preamp is meant ONLY for the SUB VOLUME.

I think there are people selling good XO's (2nd hand) in ZTH sell/buy section and gr8tuners.net

Check there out.

Mohawk aaa.... eeerrrrr....

:wink:

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
Viperize said:
Gti , do u use preamp for your setup ?

When u use Active E-Xover u remove all passive ?
pls share with us the rest of your system before we can advise you....

Viperize

Apr 12, 2005
Zenn said:
pls share with us the rest of your system before we can advise you....
Pioneer 4550
Mohawk 5S Preamp
Oxygen 4 channels amp (for front & rear comp set)
American Autocraft 2 channels amp (for 10"sub)
Boschmann 6" speaker (front)
Lanzar Tweeter (front)
Oxygen 6" & Tweeter (rear with X-over)

Did i miss out anything ? Wanna add another Mohawk MX 3I 3ways Electronic X-over.

Please advise.... and yeah... from changing my previous kennon preamp to mohawk i get some improvement

Gti

Sep 5, 2004
so is a lanzar 3 way elec X-over a realiable product?
has anyone has experience in it?
pls share

DJThoRmented

Dec 1, 2003
Viperize said:
Pioneer 4550
Mohawk 5S Preamp
Lanzar Tweeter (front)

Did i miss out anything ? Wanna add another Mohawk MX 3I 3ways Electronic X-over.

Please advise.... and yeah... from changing my previous kennon preamp to mohawk i get some improvement
If you are going to use the XO then the preamp can go (unlike me using the preamp SOLELY for the SUB VOLUME). But I don't know about specs as I'm NO where good in calculations :tongue:

Determine good or not the quality, surf around and see if any related comments to the product :wink:

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
Viperize said:
Pioneer 4550
Mohawk 5S Preamp
Lanzar Tweeter (front)

guess a 3way crossover wont hurt, just connect from hu to xover to both amps, using front, rear and sub mode. u will need passives for front & rear comp sets.

Viperize

Apr 12, 2005
Zenn said:
guess a 3way crossover wont hurt, just connect from hu to xover to both amps, using front, rear and sub mode. u will need passives for front & rear comp sets.
I see... u mean HU to XO straight ? Dun need tru Pre-amp ?

Or continue using the pre-amp .... HU - Preamp - XO - Amp - Speaker ??

Any big different between 2 setup ?

DJThoRmented

Dec 1, 2003
Viperize said:
I see... u mean HU to XO straight ? Dun need tru Pre-amp ?

Or continue using the pre-amp .... HU - Preamp - XO - Amp - Speaker ??

Any big different between 2 setup ?
How many filters you want to go to?

ICE is not water, the less filters the better well depends on how you see it :wink:

Dear sifu,

After I install the central locking, my door lamp function when door open. Door lamp cannot function when i switch on... central lock is ok... Do my wiring got problem? because 4 wire i only use and 1 white wire no use...

please help me.. dear sifu...