5th gear weird problem

Shoken7

Oct 15, 2006
some advice or recommendation to fix this weird phenomenon ?

i can engage 1-4th gear with no problem
but when it comes to the 5th gear , after engaging the gear for a few seconds,
the gear will pop out by itself and goes to neutral
if i hold it down with my hand on the 5th gear, it can go on w/o problem

everytime i let go the gear knob on 5th gear , it goes back to neutral
what could have caused this problem?

---------- Post added at 04:10 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:53 AM ----------

i've done some reading and research

possible reasons i've read are

1.) gear box fluid is low
2.) Shift cable is corroded at the transmission
(replace cable bushing if corroded or replace the
transmission case housing, 1-2 shift fork, 2nd gear set,
1st gear, and 5th gear.)

does that mean my whole gear box has to be replaced?

3.) syncros worn out?

Shoken7

Oct 15, 2006
ic....thanks..
i remember some mech quoted me rm500-700 few years ago for a syncro
is that a right price? or kena potong? :S

gilos

Apr 26, 2004
yup no.3 is the answer

happened at my proton just recently(mileage >200k), replaced the parts n it cost me around rm300 :) . Hope can last another 200k...hahaha

honda may be a bit expensive...i dunno.

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
If new about that range....
If got mech friends good condition 2nd hand should do the job also and less $$$
But to bring down gearbox also labor charge of Rm1xx...

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
yup no.3 is the answer

happened at my proton just recently(mileage >200k), replaced the parts n it cost me around rm300 :) . Hope can last another 200k...hahaha

honda may be a bit expensive...i dunno.
Happened to my Satria once... Replaced only 5th gear itself bro.. Dunno abt Hondas

Shoken7

Oct 15, 2006
lol
thanks gilo for confirmation
i sure hope its not as expensive as i remembered

Shoken7

Oct 15, 2006
@ E-tech
then the money i prepare should be sufficient for 2nd hand part with labour
hopefully..lol..still havent got the time to go to any workshop yet..deng

---------- Post added at 01:59 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:58 PM ----------

@ wanggot
replace whole 5th gear? how much did u spent for your satria?

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
@ E-tech
then the money i prepare should be sufficient for 2nd hand part with labour
hopefully..lol..still havent got the time to go to any workshop yet..deng

---------- Post added at 01:59 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:58 PM ----------

@ wanggot
replace whole 5th gear? how much did u spent for your satria?
RM2++ inclusive gear fluid, labour and 5th gear taken from chopshop

guys i found this page on editing eprom programs for 4g61, thought it may be worth trying , if it works then worth the risk kekekeke or else ECU BURN :D

http://users.wpi.edu/~ktarry/dsmtech/dsmromedit.html#fuelcut