B16B Block, what crank & rod to put in?

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
but when u open the engine, the piston was hit top or ur head cause 1 of ur piston crack totally
so next time have to be careful when rebuilt ur b20b
most probably because of the mechanical failure. n yes it maybe from the bearing clearance.. i also believe there is physical contact between head n piston that causing the piston to crack into thousand pieces...
the lesson is do not rush when building up an engine especially hybrid one...
and one more thing maybe i'm suite to 1.6 only laaa...

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
Heh.. actually if the B20 is street driven, I don't think it'll ever blow. It's the constant high rpm that kills it. I think there's still plenty of normal B20Bs on road that's still running because they don't go past that VTEC point very often.

Talking about piston to head contact, I've recently seen one unit with forged piston that got the 81mm head bore circle pounded into the piston.. can see the mark clearly.

Guess what? The gasket seal 'mampos'ed becaused the head bolts got stretched with all that pounding. Even if the piston can tahan, the head bolts cannot la.

That's why forged pistons paper all got the min 'recommended' clearance of .040" to .060" to head. Stock is about .035".

dcloo

May 11, 2005
wah.. 13.8 CR.. I guess no need to ask about fuel consumption already oh.. :P
No wonder you were suggesting 30+ ignition advance.

Must be running a tad rich to compensate for that high a compression.

What FD are you running? 4.2? or lower?
normal driving petronas rm 65 = 300-320 kmh
if vtech killing 250++
for me its still ok cause just like driving b16a fuel consumption but 200++ whp feeling :P

for 30+ ignition advance have to pump shell vpower if not sure knocking kau kau

simplycomplexed

Jun 28, 2007
redorzero.blogspot.com
i meant b20b sleeves doesnt crack that easily compared to the other b series lar.. lol

but hor... stock wise, the b2ob CR is around 8.8:1 to 9.6:1 right?

haha opera mini rocks weh.

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
Bump....For newbies...
Was reviewing threads that i started....
Many good dicussion here for engine /block selection...
So bump...
:biggrin:
Totally good topic and loads of info 2..
Really apreciated it guys...

deathzone

Jul 9, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
Which setup is more reliable for daily drive and high rev(9000rpm)?

1. B16b + B18cr crank but use back b16b rod and piston
2. B16b + B18cr crank + b18cr rod and piston
3. B16B head + Use back my B16a Block and stroke to 1.8cc? ( Any suggestion how to build this setup?)

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Which setup is more reliable for daily drive and high rev(9000rpm)?

1. B16b + B18cr crank but use back b16b rod and piston
2. B16b + B18cr crank + b18cr rod and piston
3. B16B head + Use back my B16a Block and stroke to 1.8cc? ( Any suggestion how to build this setup?)
Small budget set ups...answers
1. kenot...piston come out of block. If change special ordered piston can.
2. Can... better is 18 crank, 18 rods & 16b piston.. higher CR= higher hp
3. special piston needed... crank 18, c/rod 16A..

deathzone

Jul 9, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
Small budget set ups...answers
1. kenot...piston come out of block. If change special ordered piston can.
2. Can... better is 18 crank, 18 rods & 16b piston.. higher CR= higher hp
3. special piston needed... crank 18, c/rod 16A..
For setup 3, Can use b16b piston mod with b16a rod?

For anyone embarking on a budget sim rig journey considering using a cheap / spare TV instead of computer monitor, this is what I gathered from my recent sim racing experience, comparing my existing 55″ 1080 TV setup to a computer monitor.

While the expansive TV screen offered immersive visuals, the computer monitor brought forth a sharper focus on details and a faster response...