What causes a turbo to be blown-up?

JBQ

Aug 19, 2007
Well, I have finally done my BOT and runned in. Now enjoying my ride... Touch wood, no coughing and no sneezing on my engine... Everything is fine boosting at 0.6-0.7 bars daily drive.

well, I've consulted one of my friend on the cooling system on the turbine.. One of my friend and I had an argument over a TD04L. Should it be oil cooled only or water and oil cooled... I insisted on water and oil cooled. And he keep saying that oil cool only is enough... and nobody oil + water cooled...

What do U think..?

I got the statement below from somewhere sometime ago:-

Garrett ball bearing turbochargers require less oil than journal bearing turbos. Therefore an oil inlet restrictor is recommended if you have oil pressure over about 60 psig. The oil outlet should be plumbed to the oil pan above the oil level (for wet sump systems). Since the oil drain is gravity fed, it is important that the oil outlet points downward, and that the drain tube does not become horizontal or go “uphill” at any point.

Following a hot shutdown of a turbocharger, heat soak begins. This means that the heat in the head, exhaust manifold, and turbine housing finds it way to the turbo’s center housing, raising its temperature. These extreme temperatures in the center housing can result in oil coking. To minimize the effects of heat soak-back, water-cooled center housings were introduced. These use coolant from the engine to act as a heat sink after engine shutdown, preventing the oil from coking. The water lines utilize a thermal siphon effect to reduce the peak heat soak-back temperature after key-off. The layout of the pipes should minimize peaks and troughs with the (cool) water inlet on the low side. To help this along, it is advantageous to tilt the turbocharger about 25° about the axis of shaft rotation.

Many Garrett turbos are water-cooled for enhanced durability.

[Note: Some ball-bearing turbo' seals being pushed out of the housing is due to the fact that a restrictor is not used at an oil inlet].

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
Thanks bro for the explanation... Which is why, I sent water outlet from the head for machining for water cooled. Currently I am using water+oil cooled for my TD04L. At least I felt more satisfied and safe...

As I've made myself clear that the journey of this TD04L with me won;t be short before I upgrade to larger turbines. Need some time to recover from my financial injury after BOT...

renxun

Jul 4, 2006
you did the right thing bro....
your case happened to me once too when i BOT my hilux double cab ln166 with the ct20 toyota turbo...weired thing is all ct20 came with watercool chamber... but only on some model it had the outlet and inlet pipe for the water while some is only a plate to seal the water chamber...

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
you did the right thing bro....
your case happened to me once too when i BOT my hilux double cab ln166 with the ct20 toyota turbo...weired thing is all ct20 came with watercool chamber... but only on some model it had the outlet and inlet pipe for the water while some is only a plate to seal the water chamber...
Haha.. funny... Well, all I know is... In production of the turbine, they use consumables mol to shape the internal chamber... It's not a cheap thing to make an internal chamber on a cast iron. It's also a stupid thing for a big automotive manufacturer to do something not useful....

bebolagalas T

Jul 18, 2007
Well, I have finally done my BOT and runned in. Now enjoying my ride... Touch wood, no coughing and no sneezing on my engine... Everything is fine boosting at 0.6-0.7 bars daily drive.

well, I've consulted one of my friend on the cooling system on the turbine.. One of my friend and I had an argument over a TD04L. Should it be oil cooled only or water and oil cooled... I insisted on water and oil cooled. And he keep saying that oil cool only is enough... and nobody oil + water cooled...

Well, I came from a mechanical engineering background and till now, I've been dealing with alot of machine built to produce heat... Well, I understand his message that says TD04L can be oil cooled only... But I couldn;t accept that he said no body water and oil cooled a TD04L and TD05... (Mitsu's OEM turbine)

If there is no purpose of having a double cooling system on a turbine, why the hell does Mitsu uses uncountable amount of effort and money in designing and producing a twin chamber cooling system.. I believe they don;t do things for no reason... And I also know that there are lotsa BOTs out there that only oil cooled the turbine... Can use I know can use.... But when say nobody uses water and oil cooled, I mean... i couldn;t accept lar...

however, this topic was brought to be compared with some of the garrett turbine that using oil cooled only.... Well, for me... It all depends on the initial designed cooling method... Well, Garrett using Oil cooled only because it's being designed to do this... So, the oil travelling chamber for cooling would be different from a water + oil cooled chambers... So, to my opinion, it's all about the design... Well, I know it's going to be a never ending argument if we continues... I ended the conversation with "nevermind lar... it's OK"

had a friend whom damaged his TD04L at 1 bar. Told me overheated and shaft bengkok. Send to Turbo Tong to repair cost alot, and finally got himself a TD04HL...

Met up with my cousin last week... Driving an Airtrek Turbo... Just upgraded to TD05. Wanted to sell his TD04L(Stock turbine) in very good condition. not even oil leaks and I asked him about his boost before upgraded to TD05. And I was suprised that he told me it's been 1.2 bars for 1 year + without giving any problem...

So... it immediately reminded me about the argument....
What do U think..?

bro if u study heat transfer then u now why sometime we need double cooling and some times just oil cooled..very simple..Bigger the area- heat can be transfer easily and also removed easily- concept 'extended surface'...smaller turbo usually need oil and water due to fact i stated above. engineer always calculated everything..position of the turbo also need to be consider..

garrett turbo- 'R' series which is ball bearing need water cooling system due to 'ballbearing' it self- to prevent it easily broken so need to reduce it working temperature...need more xplanation visit my workshop..bring semporna A menthol then i can story more- haha so lazy to write 'karangan panjang' here...:smokin:

ps- shaft bend or cook usually cause by oil pressure not enough or delay- nothing to do with our discusion regarding cooling system:nurse:

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
bro if u study heat transfer then u now why sometime we need double cooling and some times just oil cooled..very simple..Bigger the area- heat can be transfer easily and also removed easily- concept 'extended surface'...smaller turbo usually need oil and water due to fact i stated above. engineer always calculated everything..position of the turbo also need to be consider..

garrett turbo- 'R' series which is ball bearing need water cooling system due to 'ballbearing' it self- to prevent it easily broken so need to reduce it working temperature...need more xplanation visit my workshop..bring semporna A menthol then i can story more- haha so lazy to write 'karangan panjang' here...:smokin:

ps- shaft bend or cook usually cause by oil pressure not enough or delay- nothing to do with our discusion regarding cooling system:nurse:
Bro, thanks for your useful additional info... Well, Semporna A menthol, how many packs U want..? Well, I think having cigarette as a trading medium for knowledge is something I shouldn't missed out... Where is ur workshop..?

bebolagalas T

Jul 18, 2007
Bro, thanks for your useful additional info... Well, Semporna A menthol, how many packs U want..? Well, I think having cigarette as a trading medium for knowledge is something I shouldn't missed out... Where is ur workshop..?
smoking bad for ur health..a pack should be fine haha...cigar is a 'pengeras' i aint sifu/master or guru to teach y'all but i think maybe i got something 2 share- dont know maybe usefull maybe not..i dont know..feel free to drop by to my place at subang..join speedspinturbo social group-hv my wshop address there :wavey:

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
smoking bad for ur health..a pack should be fine haha...cigar is a 'pengeras' i aint sifu/master or guru to teach y'all but i think maybe i got something 2 share- dont know maybe usefull maybe not..i dont know..feel free to drop by to my place at subang..join speedspinturbo social group-hv my wshop address there :wavey:
Bro, joined the group liao. Couldn;t find ur address... Hmm what time does your ws close daily..? Cause I work in Puchong only... Not too far...

bebolagalas T

Jul 18, 2007
Bro, joined the group liao. Couldn;t find ur address... Hmm what time does your ws close daily..? Cause I work in Puchong only... Not too far...
No 9, Jalan SUbang Perdana 4/3 taman subang perdana, 40150 shah alam. 019 2434600
near subang air port

rajie

May 7, 2005
pantai hillpark
bro can u advice me im using a IHI VF8 turbo what is the max boost it can hold in safe zone ???
thanks ... using it on a b8T

bebolagalas T

Jul 18, 2007
vf8 rojak with vj20
give me ihi family much easier e.g rhf, rhc,rhe,rx...etc

just assuming u r using rhf5 family stay below 2.2~2.5 pressure ratio should be fine..

same goes to smaller model like rhf4, rhf 3..

here's the deal, i'm trickin' out my uncle's old skool beetle and i wanna get it lowered. are there any adjustables or lowering springs available for an old car like this in kch? thanx in advance...