Toyota Corolla GL 1.6 AE82

kai_thekaizer

Oct 9, 2008
I'm driving Toyota Corolla GL 1.6 AE82 (LE AE80 1.6 version with standard anti-roll bar) using 4A-L engine SOHC 8 valve carb, it's still good on the highway but I think I want to swap my engine next year........... between 4E-FTE and 4AGE Silvertop, which is the best in terms of budget?

GRexer

GRexer™ KuzTomZ
Puchong
If yours is using 4A engine already, juz go for a 4A-GE, go for the late model AE92 non-TVIS 16v instead of the 4A-GE Silvertop if you only drive around a bit and not into "gila kuasa" spec

kai_thekaizer

Oct 9, 2008
actually at Kuantan the price at "kedai potong" a little bit crazy

4AGE Twincam 16v AE92 RM5000

4AGE Twincam 20v Blacktop 6speed RM5800

4EFTE EP82 kot? RM3500

4AGE Twincam 20v Silvertop RM4700

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
there is a silver top manual selling under RM3k in market place but located in melacca

2 Old 2 Rusty

Nov 18, 2006
actually at Kuantan the price at "kedai potong" a little bit crazy

4AGE Twincam 16v AE92 RM5000

4AGE Twincam 20v Blacktop 6speed RM5800

4EFTE EP82 kot? RM3500

4AGE Twincam 20v Silvertop RM4700
Go find the Toyota kakis in Kuantan, I'm sure they'll be able to help you out. Go to this thread:

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/1277549-post1.html

There's a contact number for the Kuantan gang. I think you'd better ask the seniors before embarking on your project coz you're likely to get slaughtered for being newbie.

Good luck.

GT'd

Jun 7, 2006
have one workshop got 1 blacktop 5 speed halfcut sell it around rm4k.can pm me.....i know where it is.....

scomatic

Sep 20, 2005
Kota Bharu, Kel
go for 3SGTE (from ST205 or ST185) or 5EFTE le... for better performance....:rofl:
for my advice, don't go for silvertop... or else you will suffer.

My place here (Kelantan) halfcut price:
Silver top: 3k
16V Red top: 3k
16v blue top: 3.5k
Blacktop (5 speed): 4k
Blacktop (6 speed): 6k
4EFTE (EP82): 3k
4EFTE (EP91): 3.5k

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
go for 3SGTE (from ST205 or ST185) or 5EFTE le... for better performance....:rofl:
for my advice, don't go for silvertop... or else you will suffer.

My place here (Kelantan) halfcut price:
Silver top: 3k
16V Red top: 3k
16v blue top: 3.5k
Blacktop (5 speed): 4k
Blacktop (6 speed): 6k
4EFTE (EP82): 3k
4EFTE (EP91): 3.5k
bro,mind to elaborate more bout why silvertop in AE82 will be an issue?

nnik

Sep 20, 2005
Lembah Klang
ekekeke...bro scomatic diff meh....he not play wif std2 engine....if std2 sure fully toyol in n outside..tat y he suggest for 3sgte.....heheheh

woo 3sgte on LE body....:hmmmm::hmmmm: cant imagine how...
frens LE wif 4agze oso now finding new SE body...always tarik2 sampai LE chasis sudah out...eeke

no heart feeling meh....:adore:

nnik

Sep 20, 2005
Lembah Klang
Got a fren wanna sell his BT engine for RM 2.5k nego..compl.:itsme:..just w/o dashboard....still in car as owner wanna change to std engine...PM me if interested....

scomatic

Sep 20, 2005
Kota Bharu, Kel
ekekeke...bro scomatic diff meh....he not play wif std2 engine....if std2 sure fully toyol in n outside..tat y he suggest for 3sgte.....heheheh

woo 3sgte on LE body....:hmmmm::hmmmm: cant imagine how...
frens LE wif 4agze oso now finding new SE body...always tarik2 sampai LE chasis sudah out...eeke

no heart feeling meh....:adore:

hahahaha.... :rofl:
i agree with u, the chasis of the LE is the dead point of it.......

scomatic

Sep 20, 2005
Kota Bharu, Kel
bro,mind to elaborate more bout why silvertop in AE82 will be an issue?
sorry if i hurt on silvertop fan... BTW not because silvertop in AE82 will got issue...
but the problem for silvertop is VVT sound... engine abit manja... lack of the power (if stock)... AFM... else i also dunno liao le... but heard many story on the silvertop lor...

kai_thekaizer

Oct 9, 2008
Bro, somebody that used to work at Toyota told me that this GL Corolla's have a strengthened chasis then AE80 0r EE80 maa.....i dont know is it true or not............

hi guys.. wanna ask sifu sifu here, how does fuel cut switch work?

does it need a seperate key to activate?

and anybody can recommend where to install?