On road tuning vs dyno tuning

Mar 21, 2008
Another factor is, if your car arent AWD, grip will be an issue, so road tuning comes in to sync with the car characteristic and the driver's style.

All these real life car reactions cant be tune on dyno

renxun

Jul 4, 2006
as per discussion may i know what are the style u mean?

my road tuning i will only use either 3rd or 4th gear from low 2000rpm and pull onwards and datalog it. car with less power i will use 3rd gear and car which is powerful and have the ability to spin during boost kicks in, i will use 4th gear and pull 2000rpm onwards as well...

Force Performance

Apr 28, 2005
Borneo
:cool:Dyno results can only tell 70% of your actual performance by d good engineer.

:cool:All world class engineers will extract the remaining potential power by road testing.

:cool:Simple reason to differential d 2 testing - There will b no G-force, CD of d frontal area, Wheels rolling load, friction losses & ect when static wheels dyno in uses. All these factors have great influen 2 real vehicle performances.

Mar 21, 2008
:cool:Dyno results can only tell 70% of your actual performance by d good engineer.

:cool:All world class engineers will extract the remaining potential power by road testing.

:cool:Simple reason to differential d 2 testing - There will b no G-force, CD of d frontal area, Wheels rolling load, friction losses & ect when static wheels dyno in uses. All these factors have great influen 2 real vehicle performances.
:adore: Someone knowlegable hath spoken:adore:

renxun

Jul 4, 2006
so does that explain why after a dyno tune of a certain afr will run richer when i take a run on the street and datalog it again.

D-IV

Mar 11, 2006
+1 on load factor being the reason. But i wouldn't mind running it slightly rich.. leaves a slight margin for error.

Firebird

Nov 22, 2005
I only thrust the actual on road performance for driveability and tranfer-able power to the road. and not shown impressive dyno charts or figures to my friends.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
there are more accurate dyno machines tht no performance shop in malaysia could afford, go to youtube and see dyno's of ferraris , lambo's and etc , haha

Trinityblood

Nov 10, 2007
i`ll prefer street tune but still go dyno tune for touch up..hehe
it`s a combination lor....:rofl:

momosyah

May 16, 2006
the between maybe got more "ralat" in some aspect.Maybe can try On Track Tuning VS Dyno Tuning

Sky222

Aug 16, 2005
AU
For me..... i prefer street tune and fine tune with dyno... ermmm... end ups with a very Fine AFR Target

SKYBLUEV6

Aug 15, 2005
K.L
street tune can save money becoz u use actual street performance and u can setting fuel as needed like when u at trafic jam and when u want speedy.im tune my car sampai rsm blinking. Result is more than 250km/hour.so satisfy

turbology

Sep 20, 2008
Tuning on Dyno - only fine tune WOT
If you are going to drive the car daily, you need to tune the entire fuel map, including half throttle, off-throttle, engine under load, AC is on, etc etc

Dyno tune can only make your car able to drive on road, but not road-drivable.