k series into b series engine bay

SKYR

Aug 8, 2006
That's good to see, come on dcloo, do it faster leh, then I can try later on..

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
price comparison target 250 whp or more

k20a gsr(black top) turbo
engine rm 3500 engine+ gearbox
head -
piston forced rm 2400 8.5:1 cr wesico
con rod stock
cam stock
camgear rm 1200 toda
valve spring/retainer stock
ecu/management rm 4700 haltech e6x
ezos manifold rm 1300 (custom)
intake manifold stock
injector rm 300 evo 450 cc
turbo rm 2500 garret t04e/hks 2835
gearbox -
clutch system rm 3300 toda/ogura
ratio stock
timing belt use chain
mounting hasport k24 swap rm 3600
engineering shop 500++/less
intercooler& piping rm 2500
total rm 25800

B20b vtech N/A
engine rm 800
head rm 600
forced piston rm 2300 wesico 13.3:1 CR
con rod stock
cam rm 2900 jun 3/toda
cam gear rm 950 toda
valve spring/retainer rm 1400 jun/toda
ecu/management rm 3000 hondata
ezos manifold rm 1300 Mugen/spoon
intake manifold rm 1500 itr
injector rm 450 b20b 330 cc
turbo -
gearbox ctr/itr 2600
ratio ats/spoon rm 3100
clutch system rm 2500 ogura
timing belt rm 530 toda/power
engine mouting rm 1300 mugen/js
intercooler& piping -
engineering shop rm 1600(block guard+bla)
total rm 25230

both of the item also have some hidden cost some like about cam seal/valve seal/main bearing/fuel regulator/labor some small small parts where not include inside where from rm 2k-5k

u can see the price was not much different
all parts was count in new item where only compare apple with apple
don't talk any about 2nd hand/ used item
this way we talking about some amount of budget if gain to setup

but in term of power :burnout: ..... must fun from the G feels...
Naturally, the fun is in the G feels, but you put K series GSR.. with head. I wonder if the GSR head is any good, because it seems like they're always being ditched for the R version.

The R head will toss the budget way off, and not to mention the harness conversion.

The wiring will be a hidden cost. if you do it yourself, it will be cheap, to have shop do for you, it won't be.

BTW, stock B20B boosted can be cheaper too, make 2bar, then see how long the engine last.

even a boosted B16A can make lots of hp, but waiting for turbo to spool... hmm.. if drag, can use anti lag, but when daily driving, how?

In the end, if you're going the K way, it's all good, B series is good too.

Let me know if you can get JPJ approval for K series into EG/DC/EK chassis. Some people want to do it, but they want it legalized.

dcloo

May 11, 2005
The wiring will be a hidden cost. if you do it yourself, it will be cheap, to have shop do for you, it won't be.

BTW, stock B20B boosted can be cheaper too, make 2bar, then see how long the engine last.

even a boosted B16A can make lots of hp, but waiting for turbo to spool... hmm.. if drag, can use anti lag, but when daily driving, how?

Let me know if you can get JPJ approval for K series into EG/DC/EK chassis. Some people want to do it, but they want it legalized.
if u taking the after market ECU such like microtech/haltech installation charge will rm 700 exclude tuning or if u have some little theory about engine just like our shiro brothers u can follow the installation manual book to install by your self
its not touching any of ur body harness just the engine harness...

BTW the b series was early 1990's technology y we don't go for Y2k technology engine its should more advance n lots of feature to turn
of course k series also have weakness but its solve more from the experience from b series
example : 86 x 86 square block ,the block brace was more bigger on k series n bla bla bla....

this oredi 2 ppl at kl was approved by jpj from b to k series as i know was 1 ek(done 2 years++ ago) n 1 was ef (done last October)
and another ek was coming soon
the car now transplant at sunway XXXXX garage
should be mid of January will done the transplant

i have checked n confirm any eg/ek/dc 2 from d/b series to k20/24 was can get approval from jpj inspection thats just like d to b
only if going to k24 u have to pay little much cause the engine capacity extended more thats jpj approved

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
if u taking the after market ECU such like microtech/haltech installation charge will rm 700 exclude tuning or if u have some little theory about engine just like our shiro brothers u can follow the installation manual book to install by your self
its not touching any of ur body harness just the engine harness...

BTW the b series was early 1990's technology y we don't go for Y2k technology engine its should more advance n lots of feature to turn
of course k series also have weakness but its solve more from the experience from b series
example : 86 x 86 square block ,the block brace was more bigger on k series n bla bla bla....

this oredi 2 ppl at kl was approved by jpj from b to k series as i know was 1 ek(done 2 years++ ago) n 1 was ef (done last October)
and another ek was coming soon
the car now transplant at sunway XXXXX garage
should be mid of January will done the transplant

i have checked n confirm any eg/ek/dc 2 from d/b series to k20/24 was can get approval from jpj inspection thats just like d to b
only if going to k24 u have to pay little much cause the engine capacity extended more thats jpj approved
there in lies the hidden cost for K conversions, no?
the amount you have to pay for the K conversion approval.

dcloo

May 11, 2005
loo, is that EK one of the drag enthusiast? hehe...
if yes then can do welcome party... haha
the ek was but the owner not ler..
u know the orang tua where he got join the drag event just always bring sampah inside his car here n there only n always tell u 1 word your car full tank can go to 500 km ? and he always ask ur b-series engine can do thats with every things stock ... n u will just keep ur mouth shout

dcloo

May 11, 2005
there in lies the hidden cost for K conversions, no?
the amount you have to pay for the K conversion approval.
your foreman also did tell u 100% actual price b4 u make the transplant? even a single cents also :rofl: i dun think will make it wats like ppl says u din't open the durian u dunno inside was good or bad

then ur b series no need pay for the jpj approval ? the cost same as u d-b/k series same as long u not weld the engine mounting not like ulu ulu place or under pokok foreman......hope bro shiro will not do this for his b conversion lar...
how $$$$$ for d15/16 covert b16/18/20= k20 for the approval
maybe some 1 will save this kind of money This i dunno lar... since some 1 from last year started b20b plan until todays still b16a maybe this talk cxxk kind of ppl will save this money

this was some awesome project if some 1 at m'sia can do it
K-Series in a EK

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
your foreman also did tell u 100% actual price b4 u make the transplant? even a single cents also :rofl: i dun think will make it wats like ppl says u din't open the durian u dunno inside was good or bad

then ur b series no need pay for the jpj approval ? the cost same as u d-b/k series same as long u not weld the engine mounting not like ulu ulu place or under pokok foreman......hope bro shiro will not do this for his b conversion lar...
how $$$$$ for d15/16 covert b16/18/20= k20 for the approval
maybe some 1 will save this kind of money This i dunno lar... since some 1 from last year started b20b plan until todays still b16a maybe this talk cxxk kind of ppl will save this money

this was some awesome project if some 1 at m'sia can do it
K-Series in a EK
<joking start>
Loo, funny you mentioned under pokok foreman that converted my engine that happens to own a CO2 gas analyser (I asked him why, since there's no smog test here and he said he got it from a foreign friend), OBD2 CANbus scanner, etc. etc.

or course, working under the pokok is much cooler lah, than working in the hot sun. Naturally he does work under the pokok, like most mechanics would given the chance, esp. if the garage area is already full.
<joke end>
Actually he quoted me completely, based on what kind of parts I wanted to change. My total conversion bill (to a B16A, lol) came to RM98XX (including halfcut), including new water pump, rubber seals, etc. That was a couple of years ago though. He quoted me 7.5K with halfcut. Well, that's the price I paid because I went "change to new ones" each time he said "this part still can use, but it's a bit worn."

Seriously, I liked the K series, and I've been planning on converting to K a few years after it came out, but after getting a four figure quote for jpj approval for the K (of course not official channels), and even getting a reply that modified mounts for the K series needed to go through the technical dept needed lots of work, (though there are ways around that, it won't be cheap.) Finally went to B16A because since K was not allowed, might as well go moderate, and wait till it's possible to plonk in a K series or go for built engine.

the only big expense I see for a K series conversion right now is the wiring work, and the cost for jpj approval, not to mention the parts required to retain basic necesities like the EP3 idler pulley and bracket to retain power steering and A/C. if those become cheap, the K series will become a better choice for conversion than B series.

B-series conversion is pretty cheap in terms of jpj approval. I'm not to sure about current K series approval though. if you say it's below 1K, then definitely the K series is doable.

If you're comparing to a built NA engine, a turbo engine will always come cheaper. The only tradeoff, is as usual, the lag/throttle response. new design turbos help alleviate the wait time for turbo spooling, but there's still that small gap, and go big enough for big hp and big A/R, that's a formula for turbo lag. Of course, there's the anti-lag, but I doubt that's practical to use every time when meeting a traffic light. if chasing hp numbers, turbo is the way to go, but still bragging rights goes to big hp NA engines outputting more than most turbo units.

but based on a rough est, a B20B turbo with stock internals pushing 0.5 (8-9 CR, could be higher) bar using stock B16A head is still cheaper than a K20 turbo. That's pretty much the limit for B20b units I think, unless sleeved.

Another is management, if you strip it down without A/C and P/s, it'll be pretty cheap and easy, but as I understand it, K20 climate control is ECU based, so there's a need to retain the stock ECU?

Well, if you manage to do it on the cheap, I bet more people will be converting soon enough.

Well, I'm looking forward to K conversions to be doable as well. The 3500 K20 CRV unit seems pretty tempting, but when I start to think of the wiring and work involved, ouch!

I definitely agree that K series is the NEXT big thing, as to being cheaper.. well.. that's the part I'm not so sure of.

darkemperor

Jan 4, 2006
hi guys...me 2 very interest in this k series...there is a w/shop in jb...where i did my convertion...they are.. can say vtec specialist since only do vtec n drag...n singaporean prefer them as well...i did saw quite number of ek and teg with k series hybrid...k24..but not very sure how they do the jpj...but all of them are on hasport..shud be no prob with hasport rite?

dcloo

May 11, 2005
<joking start>
Loo, funny you mentioned under pokok foreman that converted my engine that happens to own a CO2 gas analyser (I asked him why, since there's no smog test here and he said he got it from a foreign friend), OBD2 CANbus scanner, etc. etc.

or course, working under the pokok is much cooler lah, than working in the hot sun. Naturally he does work under the pokok, like most mechanics would given the chance, esp. if the garage area is already full.
<joke end>
Actually he quoted me completely, based on what kind of parts I wanted to change. My total conversion bill (to a B16A, lol) came to RM98XX (including halfcut), including new water pump, rubber seals, etc. That was a couple of years ago though. He quoted me 7.5K with halfcut. Well, that's the price I paid because I went "change to new ones" each time he said "this part still can use, but it's a bit worn."

Seriously, I liked the K series, and I've been planning on converting to K a few years after it came out, but after getting a four figure quote for jpj approval for the K (of course not official channels), and even getting a reply that modified mounts for the K series needed to go through the technical dept needed lots of work, (though there are ways around that, it won't be cheap.) Finally went to B16A because since K was not allowed, might as well go moderate, and wait till it's possible to plonk in a K series or go for built engine.

the only big expense I see for a K series conversion right now is the wiring work, and the cost for jpj approval, not to mention the parts required to retain basic necesities like the EP3 idler pulley and bracket to retain power steering and A/C. if those become cheap, the K series will become a better choice for conversion than B series.

B-series conversion is pretty cheap in terms of jpj approval. I'm not to sure about current K series approval though. if you say it's below 1K, then definitely the K series is doable.

If you're comparing to a built NA engine, a turbo engine will always come cheaper. The only tradeoff, is as usual, the lag/throttle response. new design turbos help alleviate the wait time for turbo spooling, but there's still that small gap, and go big enough for big hp and big A/R, that's a formula for turbo lag. Of course, there's the anti-lag, but I doubt that's practical to use every time when meeting a traffic light. if chasing hp numbers, turbo is the way to go, but still bragging rights goes to big hp NA engines outputting more than most turbo units.

but based on a rough est, a B20B turbo with stock internals pushing 0.5 (8-9 CR, could be higher) bar using stock B16A head is still cheaper than a K20 turbo. That's pretty much the limit for B20b units I think, unless sleeved.

Another is management, if you strip it down without A/C and P/s, it'll be pretty cheap and easy, but as I understand it, K20 climate control is ECU based, so there's a need to retain the stock ECU?

Well, if you manage to do it on the cheap, I bet more people will be converting soon enough.

Well, I'm looking forward to K conversions to be doable as well. The 3500 K20 CRV unit seems pretty tempting, but when I start to think of the wiring and work involved, ouch!

I definitely agree that K series is the NEXT big thing, as to being cheaper.. well.. that's the part I'm not so sure of.
Even K series aircond was ECU based u can change it to mechanical type wat like now eg/ek/dc2 function even remain stock body harness n the power steering u bought k24a swap hasport mounting its can use back stock k series power steering pump this will only happen tho who low/lack/sort of knowledge on k engine maybe some ppl like to act like expert but know nothing just coxk talk will be big/huge problem or its maybe they still in 90's year technology i dunno lar.. i can't/don't says i'm was expert just only sharing my 2 cents....

b20b stock + b16a head with stock internal will cheaper then k20a ?
i think u forgot the ecu/wiring/gearbox cost if so only for those already who have b- series conversion , turbo/inter cooler/extractor/waste gate/piping/blow valve all same price u have to paid for k/b series turbo bolt on
if u start from 0 - turbo boost up to 1.5/2bar for k/b series i can says the cost to built 85% n above was same but if u just paid a little bit 15% extra u can get k - series engine for me its worth ..

dcloo

May 11, 2005
hi guys...me 2 very interest in this k series...there is a w/shop in jb...where i did my convertion...they are.. can say vtec specialist since only do vtec n drag...n singaporean prefer them as well...i did saw quite number of ek and teg with k series hybrid...k24..but not very sure how they do the jpj...but all of them are on hasport..shud be no prob with hasport rite?
thats y ppl choosing HASPORT mounting cause its was legal to get JPJ approved
if not m'sia boleh skill confirm u can c its happen on the car n thats y ppl paid 3k++ to buy the mounting n do something without reason better use m'sia boleh skill n get the same results :biggrin: since u have a close look on hasport mounting u c how the good finishing of the hasport billet aluminum mounting i just like prefect fit the k engine to the car n look better then stock n lifetime warranty giving

Johnny_9

Jul 16, 2005
K20 in EK chassis - got driveshaft issue (angle of the driveshaft is not optimum, noisy when turning)

4.3 secs / 340ps / 500nm / 3L straight 6 twin scroll single turbo / 8 speed /automatic / RM568K.

Engine
Power is a major highlight of the GR Supra. Default 340ps figure is very decent by most standards, but it feels more than that in reality. It’s not just about the phenomenal acceleration either, but the delivery part of it.

It feels meaty, lag-less, linear, never ending and uncanny at supplying that 500nm worth of torque through the rear tyres, right on...