Best of the best engine oils

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
OK so I tried searching the forum for a topic discussion on engine oils but unfortunately topics are restricted to certain car brand within car subforum

Would like to gather all car enthusiast opinion here.

From my understanding
There's mineral, semi and full.
Since this is best of the best topic we will just talk about full.

Full synthetic is group 3, group 4 and group 5. 3 being refined from crude oil
4 is PAO and 5 is ester based.

So many advertisement and testimony with pictures of cars clocking 200k km above using chemlube ester based oil open up gasket not a single deposit of carbon found.

So my ques:
I have a 10yr old nissan Latio sedan 1.6
Nv really bother much on its performance last time (point A to point B workhorse car). Used semi synthetic for 8 years and now total quartz 9000 10w40 full synthetic 2 years.

If I use ester based oil would it slowly clean up the deposits on my car?
Plan to foam clean the valves and throttles and engine flush first next change

Another ques is for newer cars.
If say I have new nissan x trail 2018 and still under warranty would using other oil void the warranty?

And do cars like myvi icon 1.5 worth putting ester based oils if I go long distance and 60 highway 40 city

Is the price diff worth it?

Brands wise?
Torco Millers CFS NT
Chemlube

Lai sifu lai
For me my personal favorite would be Royal Purple's HPS for FS oil. One of the smoothest oils i've ever used and pretty good FC + anti wear & detergent additives inside.

Amsoil also has pretty good oil, but somehow it doesn't get as good FC results as RP. The entry level ones also cant hold oil pressure + shed heat fast so I didn't like that . Their manual transmission oil is crap also, but ATF & Powerfoam pretty good. Been using it for a few years now.

But for a cheap daily FS I normally go to Bardahl + 1 can of B1 because of price. :laugh:

Just a little extra for cleaning high-mileage/old neglected engines: I'm biased to Bardahl's engine flush because I managed to get a bit better ring seal from a friend's 1JZ when I serviced it awhile ago. Plus you can drive with it (not hard of course) in the engine oil. :biggrin: Marvel Mystery Oil is good stuff too, but that story is for another time...

Reactions: Izso and ixeo

If you're going for cheap oils on your everyday runner these cheap oils are ok to buy. But since this is "best of the best engine oils" thread, I'd put Penrite HPR series out there. Been playing with this brand for a while now and its resistance to heat is pretty incredible. Oil pressure doesn't budge much even with heat soak. And considering how much zinc it has it's good. But bad for catcons though.

WinterAngeLs

Feb 22, 2011
It's not a good nor bad oil. It's relatively cheap, korean and doesn't work well with performance cars.
At RM220+ for me its not cheap for daily :sweatsmile: Got it from autosaver cuz they free 2L of engine flush together. After this going back to helix ultra for sure.

If you're going for cheap oils on your everyday runner these cheap oils are ok to buy. But since this is "best of the best engine oils" thread, I'd put Penrite HPR series out there. Been playing with this brand for a while now and its resistance to heat is pretty incredible. Oil pressure doesn't budge much even with heat soak. And considering how much zinc it has it's good. But bad for catcons though.
Hmmmm... high zinc bad for environment, but still have SN rating?:confused:

Wolfsburg might not be pumping out anymore Mk4 VW Golf R32’s but that by no means signals the end of aftermarket options for the hatch. German tuning specialists MTE have taken their tuning stick and beaten the Golf R32 Mk4 to the tune of 790hp and 1,200Nm of torque.
Conveniently, the resultant bruises have settled in a wild...