Best of the best engine oils

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Do u guys stick strictly to 10k km interval or 6 months (whichever come first) for ur OCI policy?
Been maintaining cars since mid 80s and I strictly follow 5k/10k km mileage only, don't care if it even exceeds 1 year interval. IMHO the period interval is mostly BS, just to make more money for workshops, oil companies, etc.

1 year interval is to address the engine oil oxidation, and breakdown of the additive package with the junk floating in it.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
1 year interval is to address the engine oil oxidation, and breakdown of the additive package with the junk floating in it.
Naah don't matter as much especially for modern engine oils now. Only complicating the tracking if use period.

WinterAngeLs

Feb 22, 2011
Does tesco, giant have any W30 on promo? I saw mostly W40 from shell, total or castrol last time.

Do we really need thicker oil for engine past 100k km? Been reading around, some says need some says just stick to manual recommendation. Can sifu here shed some light?

I'm still sticking with 5W30 on a 1.6L gamma @ 117k km

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Does tesco, giant have any W30 on promo? I saw mostly W40 from shell, total or castrol last time.

Do we really need thicker oil for engine past 100k km? Been reading around, some says need some says just stick to manual recommendation. Can sifu here shed some light?

Tesco only has the Castrol 5w30 FS and some Dynolube. Giant I think doesn't have or maybe just the Perodua oil. AEON Big may have some unknown brand for w30. AEON Jusco has the Mitsubishi and Nissan oils.

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka

Not really.
If u have been running W30 and the engine does not consume oil then go ahead amd maintain W30.

alcyon

Sep 13, 2015
Problem is 5W30 or 10W30 is never on sale as cheap as 5W40..
The cheapest i ever got for 5W30 was magnatec FS for RM160 at tesco, which is now my current fill.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Problem is 5W30 or 10W30 is never on sale as cheap as 5W40..
The cheapest i ever got for 5W30 was magnatec FS for RM160 at tesco, which is now my current fill.
That oil around last year or so had promotion down to rm129 but seldom.

WinterAngeLs

Feb 22, 2011
Not really.
If u have been running W30 and the engine does not consume oil then go ahead amd maintain W30.
Ok. Was thinking of switching to w40 since its cheaper.

Currently using 3 quarts of Mobil 1 EP 5w30 at RM42 per quart. For roughly around the same price can get 4L with 5w40 from tesco, might grab 1 and try

Tesco only has the Castrol 5w30 FS and some Dynolube. Giant I think doesn't have or maybe just the Perodua oil. AEON Big may have some unknown brand for w30. AEON Jusco has the Mitsubishi and Nissan oils.
Aeon promo also 10w40 and 5w40 only, seldom see Xw30 on sale.....

This is my boss's car. The paint was in terrible condition upon delivery. Defects were all over and deep. Pictures shall talk.

Full of swirls and watermark etching. Generous amount of random deep scratches too.

A closer look

The least aggressive method was tried. A light...