Sr20ve rebuilt, overhaul

brokenjars

Jun 7, 2012
Kedah

My car engine is having high engine oil lost, around 1 litres for 1500km. When stationary revving can see smoke come out from tailpipe (4-5k rpm). No smoke come out during normal startup every morning. Engine sounds normal. Compression in all cylinders are 155, 150, 155, 150. Leakdown test shows no leakage. Engine sounds normal no tak tak tak sound. Recent dyno shows 160whp (factory rated 204hp). Engine history unknown as i just bought this car.
I suspect maybe the third piston ring (the one that swips down the engine oil) is worn...or jam? Do i need to do an overhaul? If yes, how much usually? Budget 3k enough?

Engine : sr20ve 20v neo vvl
Engine oil used : shell fs 5w40

sounds like worn valve seats or piston ring already. Time for an overhaul. Price depends on what it is you want to do but I think 3k might be just enough. Depends on mechanic

Nice engine.
Needs a rebuilt.

brokenjars

Jun 7, 2012
Kedah
sounds like worn valve seats or piston ring already. Time for an overhaul. Price depends on what it is you want to do but I think 3k might be just enough. Depends on mechanic
I was thinking, just change all the gaskets and seals and change the piston rings and bottom end bearing. No rebore and reuse pistons. If that is possible...how much would this usually costs?

Then need to open up and inspect the cylinder wall. If still okay, then ring change will do, but if cylinder wall not good, then need rebore......

cost is subjective and heavily dependent on your mech. Best you ask mechs for quotations.

And yes - what you're talking about is a normal overhaul. Rebore and changing pistons usually is done only when needed and if needed, you have serious issues

brokenjars

Jun 7, 2012
Kedah
I went to consult a mechanic to get some advice. He told me most probably my pistons rings are worn, but might not need to rebore and change the pistons. Anyway he asked for 2 days for him to search for all the parts availability such as pistons and rings before he can began overhauling me engine. Anyone got a sr20ve overhauling experience? If he can't find the parts, I might need to source it myself.

Does he have experience overhauling a SR20? Perhaps you need to seek a second opinion or a specialist.

Reactions: vr2turbo

He did not open up, and say most probably worn and is not confirm look for parts already......lol

Reactions: Izso

alcyon

Sep 13, 2015
whp and bhp is different ok. I would say the power loss through gb and wheels seems just about right.

brokenjars

Jun 7, 2012
Kedah
Does he have experience overhauling a SR20? Perhaps you need to seek a second opinion or a specialist.
He just give me a rough assumption based on the symptoms, and he did say he needs to open up the engine before he can confirm and quote the price.

The reason he needs to find all parts availability first is to make sure all parts are available to him if he needs to order it. Or not after he open, but he cant get parts then my car will open for nothing lol.

This fellow is an old experienced fiat specialist. Can see many fiat car there, even the old ugly fiat multipla lol.
Reason i went there is because it is recommend by my friend.

brokenjars

Jun 7, 2012
Kedah
whp and bhp is different ok. I would say the power loss through gb and wheels seems just about right.
The 160hp is whp i think. Dyno from dynojet machine. And my engine compression should be above 200 for all cylinders..

alcyon

Sep 13, 2015
The 160hp is whp i think. Dyno from dynojet machine. And my engine compression should be above 200 for all cylinders..
Exactly what i meant, you said the quoted factory spec is 204hp. Normally factory quoted spec is not whp but bhp (at the flywheel).