[Q] Renault Clio RS200 EDC Reliability

Hi to all Sensei,

The Renault Clio IV RS200 is using EDC (efficient dual clutch) transmission (dry clutch).

My question is -

1. Will it end up with a lot of fault like the DSG 7 spd dry clutch transmission?

2. Any owner here is facing gearbox issue or any other issues ?

3. Is the car reliable and fairly easy to maintain ?

Tks.

Tom

TIMETOATTACK

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000
I really enjoyed the Clio RS EDC in the 2 + years of ownership and over 70K km of experience with it.

To answer your questions

1. Will it end up with a lot of fault like the DSG 7 spd dry clutch transmission?
I've never had any issues as faced by the DSG 7. shifts were spot on every time.
This is inclucing slow drives, cruise, hill drives and track days
The only thing weird is the slight vibration when reversing on a minor uphill
I heard the transmission in the Clio is very different from the DSG 7, where it uses tranmission fluid and it is not completely dry like the VWs.

2. Any owner here is facing gearbox issue or any other issues ?
replied above

3. Is the car reliable and fairly easy to maintain ?
Yes, i've only facesd was wind noise from the front quarter windows which was fixed by SC.

I'd recommend this car to anyone in fact, especially new hot hatch adopters.

Tom

TIMETOATTACK

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000
Hi Tom,

Appreciate and thanks for your sharing.

By the way, can you share abit of the maintenance cost of it ?
Maybe normal service price and major service that you've done ?

Tqvm.
For normal service, it's really cheap if you do your maintenance at the shop of your choice or on your own. basically:
- 4L oil of your choice
- RM20 oil filter from the Nissan X-Trail (yes, the Clio RS EDC's engine is Nissan made 1.6T)

All i've done is simple oil servicing and only once manual transmission fluid change, which they use a certain ELF fluid for manual transmission. It's probably 2 litres or worth something.

Price quite cheap already, can get below rm100k. How much was it when new?
New was RM168K and hovered RM150K months after
There was a total of 80 cars i heard and they were all sold out

If it drops a lot more to below 50k in the next 2 years maybe I can buy for my older son to drive. :biggrin:
if it's RM50K, it's a great buy. It's very underrated until today, it's a great package

For normal service, it's really cheap if you do your maintenance at the shop of your choice or on your own. basically:
- 4L oil of your choice
- RM20 oil filter from the Nissan X-Trail (yes, the Clio RS EDC's engine is Nissan made 1.6T)

All i've done is simple oil servicing and only once manual transmission fluid change, which they use a certain ELF fluid for manual transmission. It's probably 2 litres or worth something.
If Nissan engine first person afraid will be Izso......lol:biggrin:

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
- 4L oil of your choice

New was RM168K and hovered RM150K months after
There was a total of 80 cars i heard and they were all sold out

if it's RM50K, it's a great buy. It's very underrated until today, it's a great package
Oh, didn't know it's a Nissan engine. :biggrin:
Is the Megane RS also a Nissan engine?

If one wants a small fun hothatch with 200Hp and manual gearbox, then this fits the bill perfectly.

Since Renault owns Nissan, many products can interchange and use....:driver:

Tom

TIMETOATTACK

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000
Heck no.. No no no no no no. Nissan engines are so fussy.
the Clio RS was fuss free in the 70K km and 2 years of ownership actually

Megane 3 isn't, the new Megane would likely be though

yes it is, and it's spicier than any in class

Since Renault owns Nissan, many products can interchange and use....:driver:
yes, especially that RM17-RM20 oil filter

the Clio RS was fuss free in the 70K km and 2 years of ownership actually

yes, especially that RM17-RM20 oil filter
Most new cars first two to three years usually less fuss, his Nissan is second hand and I think is likely after fourth or fifth year already....:rolleyes:

My VR also used RM10 proton filter....:driver:

Tom

TIMETOATTACK

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000
Most new cars first two to three years usually less fuss, his Nissan is second hand and I think is likely after fourth or fifth year already....:rolleyes:

My VR also used RM10 proton filter....:driver:
Except some brands like VW.
True Vr2turbo, but like 6uest said, some cars might not even last fuss free for a year
Also, there'd be minor symptoms or signs of trouble but i saw none in the Clio's Nissan engine, also taken it to Thailand twice, Krabi and Hatyai and didn't miss a beat, engine and tranny. Except once when the battery was weak, which caused a tranny error that's it, so this one is pretty good

hye to all sifus..
i planning toget a car under 10k.
i am really looking for a modded one.
juz wanted opinion of you guys whether should i go for a na or a turbo car to strt with.
give me your views on maintainance and stuff..
hope you guys cn help..
thx