battery relocation, again ..??

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
does battery relocation to the rear, really helps with the car weight distribution?

why always on the right and not the centre?

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
weight distribution ? applied for race car or sports car kut.:driver:
i only see good spot with no interruption for stuffs.
My case, is engine bay fit with new intercooler piping, battery interrupted my bonnet closing.

does battery relocation to the rear, really helps with the car weight distribution?

why always on the right and not the centre?
Put center boot space wasted......lol

---------- Post added at 10:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:55 PM ----------

View attachment 561861
temporary put everything in, to get clear picture for final detailing.
I also get some tube and fitting, foc, hahaha...it seems that battery have 2 vent hole.
Too messy, i think. Will get enclose box at tesco / aeon later. Make venting tube, quite a challenge.
Why not used the rectangle metal battery holder?

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
Put center boot space wasted......lol

---------- Post added at 10:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:55 PM ----------

Why not used the rectangle metal battery holder?
on the way, battery holder. Current one, saja want to find idea. So far battery stay put.
battery relocation, name is easy...time to source parts very slow. :banghead:

on the way, battery holder. Current one, saja want to find idea. So far battery stay put.
battery relocation, name is easy...time to source parts very slow. :banghead:
Ah! Ok! not fully done yet. I saw all cable tie nicely thought that was it.....hahhahaha

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
actually, apart from prolonging the battery life if were to place at rear.

it also did help the weight distribution, I read that in some sites, thought you guys know the pros

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
actually, apart from prolonging the battery life if were to place at rear.

it also did help the weight distribution, I read that in some sites, thought you guys know the pros
weight distribution, sikit shj... anyway as to why its placed on one side, easy..
i)space saving (real awkward in the middle)
ii)cable saving (shorter cable used = less money spent on cables!)
iii)practicality (best spot id probably in the spare tyre well if it fits, lower + centre but.... comeon i think im the only idiot traveling with no spare)

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
weight distribution, sikit shj... anyway as to why its placed on one side, easy..
i)space saving (real awkward in the middle)
ii)cable saving (shorter cable used = less money spent on cables!)
iii)practicality (best spot id probably in the spare tyre well if it fits, lower + centre but.... comeon i think im the only idiot traveling with no spare)
not only you, I am wondering why I need a spare tyre..
since my pcd is totally different.
spare is 4 holes while current is 5 holes.

any idea which spare tyre can clear a 4 pot brake kit?
5 holes only.

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011

5 holes only.
ohhhh u pun sama.... im not sure what issues u face but...
what 4 pots are you using? gto/aristo 4 pots? or..... brembos.......... some not very thick... no issue

these are my issues
-bbk, so yeah clearance is an issue
-my car has a wheel well for a space saver tyre so yeah, not exactly deep
-original space saver does not clear callipers
-went out to look for space savers which do... (there are some models with extra wide brake clearances, look weird as heck) some honda's have em, subaru sti's and evos do as well (check the centre whatucallit hole thing clearance tho)
-^yay they fit over the calipers.... but dammit, they dont fit the boot :banghead:.... so this is why i do advise people to reconsider bbk's (so check boot space clearance too)

in your case.... i think the perdana can carry a full size tyre? so dont think its an issue for u.....
my case, i think i have to just stick with my standard spare and just get an extra thick spacer to clear the brakes

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
yup back to finishing my job...fyi, i not eat full, sell pao, i work night shift. Got ample time indeed.

Go to tesco, finally managed to get the enclose plastic box i want. 22 litre one. 12 bucks.
Height of the box is 9". Dont use higher. Later cannot close the boot. :hmmmm:
Go stationary section, get ruler. Hahaha.,..
i was so worry. Anyway luck on my side.
Yeah, again dive in take out wira tray and fit into new box.
DSC_0276.jpg

Dive again, screw the tray and box together. And also my diy battery holder too (i use back from engine bay).
Battery holder is piece metal, i use 3 layer heat shrink tubes.
DSC_0278.jpg

Battery in, tighten everything. Red tape is acrylic tape from tesco too. 2 rolls. To ensure minimal gas leakage.
Air tube to vent out excess gas.
DSC_0280.jpg
DSC_0282.jpg

There you have it. Complete project.
DSC_0281.jpg
As you see the grounding, 4 welding spot. Do not drill hole there, is a frame. Cannot tighten bolts/nuts inside the frame....

Thanks for all the feedback. Dear sifu/otai/king. :biggrin:
Will get bigger venting tubes, maybe 10-12mm after CNY.

Oh! Nice work there......:driver:

---------- Post added at 05:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:23 PM ----------

5 holes only.
Time to throw away the spare, then carry repair kit and pump but if tyre burst cannot help.....:smokin:

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
Oh ya, before i BBQ myself. Better put fuse. Hahahahaha....:tongue:
I get ANL fuse. Fuse holder base diy.

DSC_0336.jpg

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
Cable rating 300A.
Fuse I use 250A. Just to avoid cable shorting and burn car down.

hello guys need your help.....
1) Apexi AVC-R Limited Edition=RM1950
2)Blitz Type1=RM1400
3)HKS EVC-4=RM2200
4)GREDDY PROFEC B SPEC2=RM1450
5)GREDDY TYPE S=RM1460
6)SARD TRIGGER=RM1520

these are the price of boost controllers offer by one of my mechanic....
just want to check with u all guys roughly the market price compare to these.
are these pice ok??which one better??anyone knows the second hand price??
i dont want to become 'water fish' anymore.....used to chop by them X times already