[DIY] Brake pads and disc rotor change

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Need to add one more thing after installing everything.

- Start the car and give the pedal a few more pumps until it's tight.

I've seen one too many idiots who forget this and drive off immediately after changing only to realise brakes are not ready.
That's the first thing to do before releasing the hand brake hahahahaha

C99D-MMC5537

Jan 9, 2008
1 thing that very important to do while replacing brake pad (which most mechanic never do) is to lubricate both the caliper guide pin with hi temp silicone grease. This to makesure that both inner caliper (piston side) and outer slide evenly whenever u apply brake. I just killed my brand new jun e-slit rotor n bendix metal king when only the piston side pad totally worn out and scratching the rotor but the outer side still very thick.

Kevinho

Mar 4, 2018
Puchong
Guys what about greasing the backing plate and metal to metal contact points with copper antiseize ?
Is that necessary ?

Guys what about greasing the backing plate and metal to metal contact points with copper antiseize ?
Is that necessary ?
not absolutely necessary but it helps a LOT in dissipating heat, even force distribution (to some extent) and overall brake stickiness (sorta).

yeah. Myvi calipers I can remove and dismantle everything under 10 minutes.

Kevinho

Mar 4, 2018
Puchong
Yeap, that's right guys.
We should clean the caliper pins so that it won't seize up.
Later didn't clean will eat one side of the brake pads

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
TS may i hijack sikit.
Anyone heard of Kugen brand brake pads ?
sort of made in malaysia iinm.

TS may i hijack sikit.
Anyone heard of Kugen brand brake pads ?
sort of made in malaysia iinm.
Why go for unbranded? I google go to a blog with no info at all.....lol
Wait for Trestor Advantage, maybe coming in 2019 but not sure when...:confused:

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
Why go for unbranded? I google go to a blog with no info at all.....lol
Wait for Trestor Advantage, maybe coming in 2019 but not sure when...:confused:
ok ok ...wait for trestor
becos the pricing of kugen not so unbranded lah...hahaha

Apologize for the thread.

Had been driving Civic FD for 5 years and decided to change. It had been months but I still can't decide between the W204 AMG and IS250. Pricing wise both bout the same but how bout the performance, comfort and maintainance? Any feedback highly appreciated. Thank you in advance.