Perdana v6 6a12 auto upgrades

mafiabear

Jan 15, 2006
Dear sifus,
Ive been using this car for more than 2 years. It is stock standard.Auto transmission.I feel that an upgrade to the performance would make me fall in love with my car again..planning to keep the engine untouched.perhaps just minor upgrades..better feel perhaps.please advice what should i do..

1.iridium spark plugs
2.Air filter (k&n? Works engineering?)
3.cable plugs (what brand?)
4.does grounding wire helps? If so what brand?
5.After market exhaust extractor (pls reckon me where can i get one)
6.will 2.3 inch be big enough for auto?

It is a daily drive car..just want to fall in love with it again.Thank you in advance. Sorry for the noob questions.

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
I've done custom grounding, Mega Raizin VS, Simota drop-in AF, none can affect it a bit, probably the stock grounding is good enough, maybe your car will be different. What spark plug are you using now? The stock iridium/platinum is very good already. If you current plug cables start showing problem, change to smething better like NGK. I guess you don't want to touch on the exhaust because you don't want to burn a hole in your wallet for bad fuel consumption, stock 2" is optimal enough. I suggest you tackle the weak point of the engine i.e. low end response, probably change to LCP and use fully sync oil to feed it, you will feel the different in acceleration. There is minimal you can do with the 6A12.
Or leave the engine alone, invest in a good set of light weight wheel, UHP tyre, strengthen the chassis, suspension, then you will get back the first love feeling again...

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
1.iridium spark plugs - yeah, go for it
2.Air filter (k&n? Works engineering?) - using K&N but i guess works is good as well. Cheap is the key word
3.cable plugs (what brand?) - personally, i find it rubbish.. change to a bigger cable for my savvy and regreted.
4.does grounding wire helps? If so what brand? - rubbish to me too
5.After market exhaust extractor (pls reckon me where can i get one) this one, i never done before.
6.will 2.3 inch be big enough for auto? mine is a manual
just like bro YYC mentioned, limited for 6A12

see my comments in blue

Dear sifus,
Ive been using this car for more than 2 years. It is stock standard.Auto transmission.I feel that an upgrade to the performance would make me fall in love with my car again..planning to keep the engine untouched.perhaps just minor upgrades..better feel perhaps.please advice what should i do..

1.iridium spark plugs
**the cheapest is bosch fusion plugs bout rm220 but its platinum. as good as iridium
2.Air filter (k&n? Works engineering?)
**suggest K&N
3.cable plugs (what brand?)
**bosch super sport RM150
4.does grounding wire helps? If so what brand?
**hks purple Taiwan will do. Rm20
5.After market exhaust extractor (pls reckon me where can i get one)
**keep it std.
6.will 2.3 inch be big enough for auto?
**keep the std piping, just change to Sflow muffler

It is a daily drive car..just want to fall in love with it again.Thank you in advance. Sorry for the noob questions.
my replies in RED

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
wondering, what other modification can be done on 6A12TT?

upgrade of the turbos?
what is the hp for a 6A12tt?

Remember Danz did mentioned, 6A12 is around 150hp.
6A12TT, should be 220hp??

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
Hi, anyone using S90 throttle body? Any feedback?
My stock tb goes heywire sometimes during aircond idling, so want to replace it

try to fit Toyota FICD 1st. bout Rm50-60.

---------- Post added at 03:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:38 PM ----------

wondering, what other modification can be done on 6A12TT?

upgrade of the turbos?
what is the hp for a 6A12tt?

Remember Danz did mentioned, 6A12 is around 150hp.
6A12TT, should be 220hp??
change to GTO TD04 turbines.
yes black meter 220hp, RS white meter 240 hp (estimated only)

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
why people change throttle body? is it because of better response?

---------- Post added at 04:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:22 PM ----------

change to GTO TD04 turbines.
yes black meter 220hp, RS white meter 240 hp (estimated only)
nice, proton ought to give you a reward. :love:

TD04, one or two? after which, need to change to anything else?

i yet to see a white meter 6A12TT, mainly are black.
The meter, i hope you are referring to speedometer

---------- Post added at 04:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:22 PM ----------

TT mah! means 2 snails loh......:driver:

haha I wish....u need 2xtd04 from mitsu GTO 5 or 6speeder.
yes the speedometer panel. the ecu socket for RS is green, normal version is black.

---------- Post added at 01:46 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:44 AM ----------

there are a lot of imitation S90 TB's in the market.
just DIY port & polish your current TB will do.

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
try to fit Toyota FICD 1st. bout Rm50-60.

I have installed FICD but no effect.
AC off idle is perfect, AC on idle is ok but sometimes is very bad to almost stall especially after driving for ½-1 hour in hot day. I have also changed the compressor but it's the same. I know the alternator is not performing at its best now so could it be the culprit?

do a test on your alternator......
start your engine, disconnect the battery terminal, with your engine still running, switch on your headlights, aircond & radio.
if the lights started dimming, then your alternator is gonna kong soon.

btw u could just change the carbon brush inside the alternator, costs less than Rm60 with workmanship. but u need a really close mechanic to do it for u.

do a test on your alternator......
start your engine, disconnect the battery terminal, with your engine still running, switch on your headlights, aircond & radio.
if the lights started dimming, then your alternator is gonna kong soon.

btw u could just change the carbon brush inside the alternator, costs less than Rm60 with workmanship. but u need a really close mechanic to do it for u.
Careful of electrical spike to the ECU using the disconnect battery terminal method....hahha
Anyway, have to check also. Got one time my alternator failed, all the while we usually change the carbon, but mine the diode inside melted, so got to get a recon one.....:bawling:

Helo everyone!!! Just a newbie on car...I got this Mitsubishi Lancer 4g15 12v SOHC with c62 body (A month ago). Engine is still in great condition but it lacks power. I went to the mechanic and had the clutch assy replaced with aisi disk and excel pressure and release bearing. Even the timing belt was replaced and valve tuned. However on long drive, my car jitters on 1500 rev especially during gear shift. Could it be a defective clutch disk?
Another thing, may i ask what could be done in...