Urgent advise need sifu . Honda civic FD 2.0 2007 . Gearbox car wont move

nicxon

Apr 4, 2009
All the sifu here , i have a honda civic FD2.0 , 200k , done 200k+ milage ..

My car 1 week ago when drive at low gear , the car keep choke , then when on low speed like stop and go at traffic light , when u start paddle from 0kmh, will give a huge choke like sudden push your car forward .

Now worse , I'm driving halfway on highway , suddenly the car wont move , engine is on not dead , but at gear D also wont move abit no matter how i paddle , i shift gear to P and back to D , the car also wont move although engine is on .

I off my car and start it back again , pull to D , the car can move again , but for awhile suddenly cant move again , same problem have to off on car , then slowly drive to mechanic . Mechanic say gear box spoil need replace .

Is it really gear box totally spoil and need to be replace ?

I got friend say try change spark plug . Is spark plug related to gearbox ?

Anyone know the cost for replacing gearbox ?

I scout around , cut car gearbox cost 2.8k , recon cost 4.6k .

What should i do ? Should i try changing the spark plug ?

Needed help . Urgent . Thanks to all the sifu

nicxon

Apr 4, 2009
I change every 25k my ATF .. When it choke a week ago i change new ATF already , less than few day now totally wont move . So not related to spark plug right . Spark plug never change before . Thanks for helping bro

ettm_14

Jul 30, 2006
sounds very much like a gearbox failure.

have you send it in to a honda service centre? let them check and allow them to advise you, but dont repair it in service centre. You will pay thru your noses.

veedub

Jan 18, 2006
Gearbox problem, confirmed.
Need to get a quote around, probably around 2-4k, depends on location.

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
any warning light appear on meter panel?

if yes then its easy to diagnose,just go back to honda or any shop which can read the code.

this is just my opinion-it do show sign of total gearbox failure but when u said its able to move after u restart the engine then i think u might be able to save on repair cost.auto gearbox depends on atf pressure to operate so when there is no atf pressure it cannot shift.
what i think is that a critical seal is leaking and causing the solenoid valve in the gb brain does not receive atf hence u cant move.however,it only leak at certain pressure or gear which explain why u van move a bit after u restart.
if u change yr atf at 25k km and uses the correct atf then i do think there is an internal leak.hard to determine without a very exp and honest mech.its kinda hard for gb to fail at that mileage with your type of maintenance.

most mech just ask u to swap the gb as they cant fix it and do not know how to diagnose.plus,working on autobox require experience,knowledge and the correct tool.ask around for a gh specialist or if u r in melaka,i can point u to one.normal mech just work on engine,gb specialist only work on gb.

i exp something like your problem but i can still drive under safe mode.my car is 1.8 waja.in my case the gb warning light lit up.safe mode on my car is drive only availabe on 2nd gear and speed limit is capped.i sent it to my regular mech and after removing the gb he confirmed that its not the oil seal so he call his friend to check as he cant repair autobox.end up changing 2 seal.cost abt 200+.
sounds expensive rite,cause my car is running on renault engine.still,cheaper than a 2nd hand gb.

again,just my opinion.

ken yeang

it might be gearbox software/circuitry problem. H City gearbox tend to give problem as such.

nicxon

Apr 4, 2009
Thanks for all the reply , and sorry for the slow reply , i rushed to bali for work trip , hence the cat is left at the mechanic without repairing it yet . Hope I'll get it repair nicely and no need to burn a big hole in my pocket :)

sounds very much like a gearbox failure.

have you send it in to a honda service centre? let them check and allow them to advise you, but dont repair it in service centre. You will pay thru your noses.
Nope bro , my friend told me that honda service center charge you over 200 just for checking . Zzzz

Gearbox problem, confirmed.
Need to get a quote around, probably around 2-4k, depends on location.
So far after some survey on gb replacement . Price quite standard .

Used / 2nd hand gearbox = Rm2800 ( 5 shop offer same price )

Reconditioned gearbox = 4000 ( 6 month warranty )

Both not include installation cost , any bro can comment on the price ?

any warning light appear on meter panel?

if yes then its easy to diagnose,just go back to honda or any shop which can read the code.

this is just my opinion-it do show sign of total gearbox failure but when u said its able to move after u restart the engine then i think u might be able to save on repair cost.auto gearbox depends on atf pressure to operate so when there is no atf pressure it cannot shift.
what i think is that a critical seal is leaking and causing the solenoid valve in the gb brain does not receive atf hence u cant move.however,it only leak at certain pressure or gear which explain why u van move a bit after u restart.
if u change yr atf at 25k km and uses the correct atf then i do think there is an internal leak.hard to determine without a very exp and honest mech.its kinda hard for gb to fail at that mileage with your type of maintenance.

most mech just ask u to swap the gb as they cant fix it and do not know how to diagnose.plus,working on autobox require experience,knowledge and the correct tool.ask around for a gh specialist or if u r in melaka,i can point u to one.normal mech just work on engine,gb specialist only work on gb.

i exp something like your problem but i can still drive under safe mode.my car is 1.8 waja.in my case the gb warning light lit up.safe mode on my car is drive only availabe on 2nd gear and speed limit is capped.i sent it to my regular mech and after removing the gb he confirmed that its not the oil seal so he call his friend to check as he cant repair autobox.end up changing 2 seal.cost abt 200+.
sounds expensive rite,cause my car is running on renault engine.still,cheaper than a 2nd hand gb.

again,just my opinion.
Wow thanks for the very detail answer , I'm learning a lot of new stuff here , problem is i also have no idea where to find a trustful and honest mechanic to get it check . All the mechanic i called , without checking direct say need replace GB .

Can i direct ask mechanics to replace the mentioned seal u said and try see if it fix the problem ? But i doubt the mechanic will replace the seal properly for me too , as its like a slap on his own mouth if its fixed without the need to replace the gb .

it might be gearbox software/circuitry problem. H City gearbox tend to give problem as such.
Any recommended mechanic to get it check bro ?

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
most mech and lazy gb specialist wont repair it cause sometimes it involve lots of work to reach the seal.
u have to ask them to diagnose first to know which seal/solenoid leaks or not functioning.very hard or impossible for normal engine mech.

most will recommend a replacement because its easier.just remove the old box and put in the replacement.plus,they can reconditioned your damage gearbox and sell it again.

I change every 25k my ATF .. When it choke a week ago i change new ATF already , less than few day now totally wont move . So not related to spark plug right . Spark plug never change before . Thanks for helping bro
Out of curiousity when you change ATF do you change the ATF filter?

Jul 24, 2015
then, did they advise anything for solution over this?
did any mech explain about the problem?

I have civic 2.0 fd and currently experience the same problem. The GB become free no matter how much I paddle. It will occur when I drive in town, because suddenly need to brake, but the GB not response to shift to lower gear. sometimes GB vibrate, I suspected that mine not shifting properly (due to solenoid inaccurate).
I've sent my car to inspect via computer diagnostic and found solenoid and few sensors problem.

if you dont mind to share your experience and how did you troubleshoot/solve your problem, please do write some here.

tq

hi there.. my gen2 is fitted with front airbags and i wanted to change my steering to those aftermarket ones (without airbag). initially was planning to keep my original steering so when i want to sell off my car i can install back the original steering but my concern is do i need to disconnect / sealed / cut-off any wiring to prevent the airbag from activating before installing aftermarket steering? thanx in advance guys & girls..