What does engine torque mean to you?

Okay, now got it. The calculation is for torque to HP, or vice versa, if you have one of the figures....

mines998

Dec 1, 2010
Your scale is wrong... One "Horsepower" is defined as 33,000 lb-ft per minute which is an Imperial Unit. Therefore your torque should also be in lb-ft (imperial) not nm (metric).

67.4kg/m = 487.5 lb-ft = 456.8 hp @ 4922 rpm
52.0kg/m = 376.12 lb-ft = 390.87 hp @ 5458 rpm

The graph should have both the power measured in horsepower and the torque in foot pounds with both lines shown on the same axes. For example a typical graph....
Now I get it thank you :top:

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
Why do diesel engines deliver more torque than petrol engines?

Brabus D4 (based on Mercedes E270 CDI): 475 Nm
Ferrari F430: 465 Nm
Mitsubishi Evo IX: 392 Nm
It's bcoz of the difference in the properties of the fuel...
-Diesel is has more energy per liter than petrol.(thats why it has more torque & better fuel economy)
-Diesel is more volotile than petrol. (thats why it doesnt need a spark plug)
-Diesel has higher compression tolerance
-Diesel cannot handle high RPM (small engines need high RPM, more RPM more power)
- Diesel engines are less responsive than petrol engines
- Diesel changes viscosity at low temperatures
- Petrol engines quieter & require less maintenance

But with advances in technology, the disadvantages of diesel power have been significantly lowered .Audi even proved that their R18 TDI Racing Car (Diesel engine) could win the Le Mans 24h race

-Diesel is more easily combustible(explosive) than petrol. (thats why it doesnt need a spark plug)
Have you tried lighting up diesel compared to petrol??
Diesel don't need spark plug, because they run on high compression to ignite....

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
-Diesel is more easily combustible(explosive) than petrol. (thats why it doesnt need a spark plug)
Have you tried lighting up diesel compared to petrol??
Diesel don't need spark plug, because they run on high compression to ignite....
sorry correction....misuse of words, its suppose to be "volatile" (not, easily combustible/explosive)..hence igniting at high compression

alantjw

Mar 26, 2008
i will go for HP then torque cos my car torque is too high de.. pening lah i drive... HP seems like the power is more constent.. Torque feels like the power comes in too big and too early.. just personal opinion... but both are great depending on your needs...

1JZtezza

Sep 26, 2008
The thread was leading somewhere before it de-generated...haha

Torque figures given are usually optimum at the rpm indicated.Put your stock car on a dyno and test with different gears it will be lower than the claimed figure and usually at a lower rpm because of the gear ratios.

Question; both cars petrol and same gear ratios,final drive,tyres; redline7000rpm
Car A:350Nm @ 3000
Car B:210Nm @ 5000

at the optimum rpm both have same hp BUT after that does torque 'fall off a cliff' and becomes zero...if so who or what is pushing the car.?
Who will smoke who in a drag??

figure this out and live a long happy life cheers :beer:

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
The thread was leading somewhere before it de-generated...haha

Torque figures given are usually optimum at the rpm indicated.Put your stock car on a dyno and test with different gears it will be lower than the claimed figure and usually at a lower rpm because of the gear ratios.

Question; both cars petrol and same gear ratios,final drive,tyres; redline7000rpm
Car A:350Nm @ 3000
Car B:210Nm @ 5000

at the optimum rpm both have same hp BUT after that does torque 'fall off a cliff' and becomes zero...if so who or what is pushing the car.?
Who will smoke who in a drag??

figure this out and live a long happy life cheers :beer:
hmm i guess the higher torque will win gua.. anyway i saw before a quote in one forum before as it interprets:

HP is how fast your car hit the wall and;
Torque is how far your car can push the wall after you hit the wall
:driver::banghead:

Heres the answer to all your minor dents, bumps, bruises and scratches... say good-bye to them as Dr. Dent The Automotive Perfectionist is here to restore your rides away from dents and bruises.

Call Williard Yong at 012 238 1010 for a free consultation