How to Detail your Engine Bay (Basic)

Bro fishbonezken, i really like your post. will definately try it this weekend. My car engine valve cover leaks due to loose screws and look horrible now.
Better get the gasket or leak fixed first, if not wash clean, oil leak will dirty it again....

mcliong1

Jun 30, 2010
hi, i would like to ask. In my case, I got alot of grounding cable and voltage stabilizer. It is ok if i just proceed without wrap those things? thanks

fishbonezken

Feb 13, 2006
hi, i would like to ask. In my case, I got alot of grounding cable and voltage stabilizer. It is ok if i just proceed without wrap those things? thanks
Hi MC,

Better to wrap it since the quality of these voltage stabilizers vary from brand to brand. In the pic below I just lightly wrapped it with some aluminium foil.

Is the car ECU in engine bay or passenger compartment? If in engine bay, wrap that up too.....

Uncle VR? :hmmmm2: :biggrin:

Nice thread but dun have the tools to try yet...just never dare to spray water
at the engine...

Uncle VR? :hmmmm2: :biggrin:

Nice thread but dun have the tools to try yet...just never dare to spray water
at the engine...
Yup, in AW forum, where most know me well, will call me uncle.....hahahahaha

Jap cars especially and all cars that have the ECU in the passenger compartment can safety wash the engine bay. Usually take care of the spark plugs, spark cable and distributor (if any).

Need brush and degreaser only. Whether petroleum based like kerosene or water base degreaser. Water base is best nowadays, as after application can just hose down....

ayen_s

Jan 21, 2010
Nice tutorial. How often to perform this?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
aku tadak berani spray my engine... later sensor kaput... habis saya

i've noticed at the shops that the cheaper alarm systems don't
come with their own relay (they utilize the existing one), the
expensive ones do. does anyone know whether this factor is
important?