S15 Spec R 6speed tranny problem

rex79gt

Jan 9, 2008
Ngiao City
anyone faced this problem b4?
don think my bro's 6speed gear box is right
n to tell the truth, the car is used for drift n track purpose

any solution for this if this 6 speed tranny is really weak?
such as go for 5speed gear box? juz don answer me for those HKS gearbox as that cost a nuclear bomb :P

thanx

slide_it

Oct 31, 2007
not a straight forward job bro. yes u can change to s14 box's but i think u'd have to change the tailshaft, match the bellhousing with s14 bolts, change clutch and flywheel with matching bolts, s14 gearbox crossmember, short shifter and a few pints of beer.

Autopiazza

Aug 19, 2010
orgazmopiazza.com
change to nismo lah bro... or get S14 gearbox...tougher !!!
not a straight forward job bro. yes u can change to s14 box's but i think u'd have to change the tailshaft, match the bellhousing with s14 bolts, change clutch and flywheel with matching bolts, s14 gearbox crossmember, short shifter and a few pints of beer.
do u mean 5 speed s14's

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
gearbox for s13 is quite cheap.u can get Rm600-1000. more than that quite exoensive.
other than that u need to convert from pull type to push type.or other way round.cant remember,i think u should contact joehan at drifthouse.usj1,quite friendly feller when he's not sick.hehe.

chromeibanez

Aug 17, 2008
one more question, the flywheel of the 5 speed transmission are way lighter than the 6 speed.
do you need to make engine balancing once it is changed?

damnthing

Nov 8, 2004
Almost 4 years ago i changed my S15 gearbox from Auto to a S14 5 speed manual. All in including gearbox, long sharf, clutch pedal, clutch pump etc plus workmanship came to RM2200. So nowdays whould be cheaper, especially on the parts.

GroundZro

bro damnthing - where did u do ur conversion? any downside to the conversion?

damnthing

Nov 8, 2004
bro damnthing - where did u do ur conversion? any downside to the conversion?
Hi there GroundZro, i dont see any downside to the conversion. Touchwood, i havent had any problems with it although its being whacked till kingdom comes once every month (Gymkhana) and since my car is a daily driver, i think i can consider the gearbox to be tough as i am not light footed! :biggrin::driver:
The conversion was done somewhere in USJ1, although i have no idea if the shop is still open until today as it has been almost 5 years now. However, i can suggest a place, its called Pit Works. Its at Puchong Perdana, and a lot of the silvia guys send their rides to him. He is also on FB, just search for Pit works, the pic is of a orange Sr20 head.

can I like buy somebucket of house paint , you know those paint wall and use it to paint car ?

I dontreally care about the quality I care more abourt covering it so it will not rust