Aftermarket cams for 4agze

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
me dunno also, but like scomatic, usually i see ppl change together too. but last time alvin@toms did post something about him asking ppl from Tom's and they say to use back the vvt puley will generate more power? well, if you say to generate power at a wider range then it make sense lar, especially true if you do not own one of those super expensive close-ratio gearbox.

normality78

i think the cam pulley is to enable u to adjust the cam timing. so its more like a seperated stuff and not really must get. however with it u can maximise the power gain with upgrade cam install.

i would to say, valve spring and retainer is more crucial

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
yeah, valve spring. my mech can't use his high cam cuz he dun have the uprated valve spring. he told me that, he tried to install the cam once, but the cam can't turn cuz lift too high, the spring cannot be depressed deep enough.

normality78

oh.. what cam is your mech using? on 20V ?

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
normality78 said:
oh.. what cam is your mech using? on 20V ?
what he's using in his car i dunno, but he got 2 set of TRD racing cam, one for 16v one for 20v. the 16v one he got show me, serial number 13501-AE881 if not mistaken. me and my friends thought its just 288 or 296 cam, until we pick up the trd bible to check the part number, and pengsan on the spot. my mech abit shock also, he just knew he got a set of TRD cam, can't use cuz not using 16v engine, and never thought its a 320degree cam.

the 20v's trd cam he never show me, but he say should be 300+ degree, high lift, thats why cannot install, too much lift, spring won't open enough for the cam to turn over.

ask him wan sell or not he say dun wan.. T_T

normality78

Wah... TRD got such aggressive cam ar? keng...!!!

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
TRD's cam baru aggresive, if you compare with toda. but then the whole story is more than just the cam duration lar.. must take both cam go dyno test to see the difference lar.

miriguy

Jun 29, 2008
anyone still active here? anyone installed cams yet? i have a set of hks 1n 264 ex 272 8.1mm... how good will it do on 4agze?

miriguy

Jun 29, 2008
why is it not good with standard gze?

AE75

Feb 10, 2010
why is it not good with standard gze?
Why no good? As long as you know how you gonna tune it to be, then it will be good too... FYI in 2002 I use HKS 256 in and 272 ex cam with 4AGZE, the power band can said 2500 - 7000 rpm. But engine sound a bit nasty when idling :biggrin:

Some parts of the car body are designed uniquely to the car itself.
It can be the angel eye (famously by BMW), the huge bonnet scoop (WRX), the quad rearlamps of the GTR, Sideblade (Audi), Whale tail spoiler (Porsche), etc.

Based on your current car, which part of the car is considered most unique/beautiful?