What is importance between torque and horsepower?

nurburing

Feb 21, 2010
that is drag race, in a uphill touge car, b16a may not perform well vs a high torque car. so both has pro n con

AE75

Feb 10, 2010
Example let us compare supercharged Toyota 1.6 4AGZE vs Honda 1.6 B16A VTEC.

4AGZE power is 168hp at 6400rpm n torque 210nm,
while B16A has 174hp at 7800rpm n torque 150nm.
Looking at hp, B16A is slightly better, but looking at torque, B16A is hopeless,
but during drag race between near stock engine, B16A will win more than 4AGZE, why?
Coz B16A horsepower is better than 4AGZE, so it has more pulling power,
eventhough its torque is very low.
And look closely as its max power rpm, due to its low torque, B16A need to rev much higher to match power on bigger torque engine (refer equation above).
Erkkk :hmmmm:
Why I use 4AGZE but with C56 gearbox + bigger crank pulley, I can always win B16A (near stock) and B16B (near stock) too? 1 thing I realize is when drag race between this 2, I found out in 1st 50-100m i can lead it easily; But once at 300-400m, I found B16 is closing up already.

---------- Post added at 12:21 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:19 AM ----------

that is drag race, in a uphill touge car, b16a may not perform well vs a high torque car. so both has pro n con
oo~ No wonder I feel more comfortable when uphill compare to B16 la...

nurburing

Feb 21, 2010
hehehehehe, b16a if powerful 1600cc if compare to most 1600cc.....BUT not the most powerful yet. when a single driver is inside, it can run pretty fast. but if full passenger, try race uphill with genting taxi aka b13 with sr20 and see who win :P

but to be frank, b16a in realife only puts about 120whp.....170hp is the brochure:biggrin:

maybe is the deaftening vtec sound give the uuuumpph to the driver feeling like f1

artworkz

Jul 3, 2008
hp= rpm x torque. even na engine like b16a oni produce max 16kgm but b16 can produce 16kgm torque at 6500rpm.
if 4agze can produce 20kgm torque at 5000rpm, sure 4agze hp is higher than b16a.
lets take an easy example.

engine A HP is same with B wen engine A can produce 15kgm torque at 6000rpm and engine B produce 30kgm at 3000rpm.
for NA engine which have max torque at peak of rpm normally have a high ratio final gear.
for turbo engine, normally the torque band is much 3000-6000rpm, that y their final gear is less higher than na car
for a car with less torque but high rev engine, can use high final gear to get same hp of turbo engine,

in the end wat i try to say is torque canot compare wif hp coz torque is `force` and Hp is `work`. the problem actually is where u wan ur engine powerband was, at low, mid or high.

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
hehehehehe, b16a if powerful 1600cc if compare to most 1600cc.....BUT not the most powerful yet. when a single driver is inside, it can run pretty fast. but if full passenger, try race uphill with genting taxi aka b13 with sr20 and see who win :P

but to be frank, b16a in realife only puts about 120whp.....170hp is the brochure:biggrin:

maybe is the deaftening vtec sound give the uuuumpph to the driver feeling like f1
Genting taxi's are SR20's meh? I always thought they were GA16's... Since when did sentras come with the 2.0 engine here in Msia? Correct me if im wrong.

Torque = How much power you have to move the car from a standstill. Example: Higher torque you can drive on low rpms but still have power to overtake.

Horsepower = How much power you can keep maintaining. Example: Higher HP you have to hentam the engine then only it starts making power. ( VTEC's + small engine cars very popular here, hahahaha :biggrin:)

nurburing

Feb 21, 2010
haha, lets back to the topic....for me i strongly believe high torque car will always win. for example a 2000cc continental has 200nm torque from 1500rpm onwards to 6000rpm but only has 120whp, but it will smoke b16a for good. and it will cruise 200kmh around 3500rpm, wherehence a b16a will be doing very high rpm at 180kmh n canot maintain that speed more than 45 minutes coz it will heat up.

in this point of view, high torque is more important.

cuscostrutbrace

Jul 10, 2004
Hmm...it is torque at the wheels that counts,which in this case,the gears plays a role...which engine characteristic is better,depends..very hard to compare because each engine is different,gear ratios are different,no apple to apple comparison..generally,if the vehicle weight is the same,and the difference of torque and hp between two car is minimal,on acceleration 1st,2nd and 3rd gear,high HP and high RPM engine will win..high torque engine will shine on high speeds,4th to 5th gear..but dont la compare 4AG to EVO,of course Evo will all the way la..

AE75

Feb 10, 2010
Well~ let compare with Mivec 4G92 where produced a pretty 180hp, but Vtec only B16 was produced 170hp. In the end, 4G92 Mivec will still always lost to Vtec B16 le...

muzhaffar

Dec 1, 2008
haha, lets back to the topic....for me i strongly believe high torque car will always win. for example a 2000cc continental has 200nm torque from 1500rpm onwards to 6000rpm but only has 120whp, but it will smoke b16a for good. and it will cruise 200kmh around 3500rpm, wherehence a b16a will be doing very high rpm at 180kmh n canot maintain that speed more than 45 minutes coz it will heat up.

in this point of view, high torque is more important.
continental car will win on top speed and long distance but not on acceleration..
b16a will reach 180 faster than continental car..
unless if you talk about alfa or fiat..it different story
if bmw, blacktop accelerate faster.(based on my previous experience)
power to weight ratio..
there are some guys at kedah..
evo vs bmw328
10km long race
evo accelerate faster
but bmw wins

artworkz

Jul 3, 2008
Well~ let compare with Mivec 4G92 where produced a pretty 180hp, but Vtec only B16 was produced 170hp. In the end, 4G92 Mivec will still always lost to Vtec B16 le...
mivec max torque oni in narrow powerband but b16a torque is wider powerband. 92mivec can produce 17kgm torque compare to b16a 16kgm torque. mivec can produce 17kgm torque but oni at narrow powerband, b16a produce 16kgm torque at wider powerband . tats why vtec can all the way tarik from 5500 rpm to 8500rpm wen vtec on. mivec 6000rpm hp is less than b16a 6000 rpm but oni win b16a at 7500rpm. the max torque is too narrow for mivec.

so dun wan compare hp, but compare power band.

another example, rb26 come wif sequential twin turbo coz wan to have wider powerband. wen ppl mod to single large turbo, the powerband narrow but max torque produce at peak of rpm. this can achieve higher hp but low rpm sure less power.

---------- Post added at 03:10 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:03 PM ----------

continental car will win on top speed and long distance but not on acceleration..
b16a will reach 180 faster than continental car..
unless if you talk about alfa or fiat..it different story
if bmw, blacktop accelerate faster.(based on my previous experience)
power to weight ratio..
there are some guys at kedah..
evo vs bmw328
10km long race
evo accelerate faster
but bmw wins
1 IS 4WD 1 IS 2WD. 4wd can easy use all hp wen pickup from zero but oso the most suffer powerloss in tranmission.

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
hmmm its been a while since i logged in here..

back on topic, a high revving engine like a B16 doesnt have the 'pull' at low rpm, in contrast to a high torque engine at low rpm.
suffice to say, a AGE could cruise high speed easily if compared directly to a B16.
i mention these 2 engines coz its the perfect example..

Dayline668

Aug 4, 2007
There is no replacement for displacement.

For the first time ever, the largest gathering of Ducati riders in Asia will be congregating in Malaysia for the Asia Ducati Week 2010 that will see over 500 of the Italian two-wheelers gather at the Sepang International Circuit (SIC) for the upcoming MotoGP race...