Light weight crank pulley good or bad

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
using a mythelogy one for 4g15 carburetted...worth every cent..ori one is about 2.3 kgs, mythelogy is 8xx gms only...

u can feel it more on the lower gears

from a review i did a few yrs back:

"peak hp has not changed much, some tests showed no increase, some 2hp only (need more testing to get average)...however, wat is more important is the power curve, it increases the whole powerband, at some points up to 4-5 hp...n it peaks earlier at around 270 rpm earlier...

now about torque, consistently it shows an increase of at least 6 to 9Nm...quite a fair bit...

not bad...now dont forget, the gtech's hp n torque readings will be lower than even the on-wheel dyno...this is due to the fact that im facing wind resistance in gear 2 (which is where the tests are focused on), so increases will be more obvious on the dyno..."

Cheers!
But..the top speed will still decrease...

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
which lightened crank pulley did you use which made ur car's top speed decrease?

the results from the gtech would prove otherwise...more torque in most places = more kick to bring you up to speed, is it not? if im wrong pls someone correct me

even if there was a loss of top speed, it would be negligible, and not noticeable, and sprinting from 0 to the approx. same top speed would be faster, with the fatter powerband/ more power under the curve

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
coz i heard from my fren...
they told me actually stock pulley is a balance pulley... pick up and top speed also not bad...
but..if light weight pulley..pick up will INCREASE !! but..when go genting...
u will feel the speed will decrease ....
btw...drag race will feel more fast !!
AM I RIGHHT ? if wrong ...taiko ...shifu pls correct me ...
tq !!
CHEERS !!!!! :biggrin:

proPIPING

Mar 23, 2006
coz i heard from my fren...
they told me actually stock pulley is a balance pulley... pick up and top speed also not bad...
but..if light weight pulley..pick up will INCREASE !! but..when go genting...
u will feel the speed will decrease ....
btw...drag race will feel more fast !!
AM I RIGHHT ? if wrong ...taiko ...shifu pls correct me ...
tq !!
CHEERS !!!!! :biggrin:
not take all you heard as a fact....i use it at my daily use gen2...speeding at the LPT highway from kuantan to karak every week....no problem at all bro,it reach top speed quicker than stock...:smokin:

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
i see...so its ur fren that told u it is like that...did he tell u why it is like that?

drag race is not only 'feel' more fast...but it 'is' faster

if u go to orang puteh forums...the only concerns they have with lightened crank pulleys are whether they are dampened, or not...

btw...i will answer ur PM to me here...since im not a sifu...hopefully someone else can help give a better advice, im still a noob as i never got any advice from my friends, but only from my own experience with my lightened crank pulley and a gtech pro...if i say i naik bukit no problem also no meaning as ur frens have stated otherwise....

PM:
halo..
i juz bolt on turbo ...
and my fren wanna sell me his crank pulley only..
so i wanna buy from him...but didnt install water and alternator pulley... is this ok ??
sorry to ask u few question....
if i install the crank puley..wont get any Problem ??
tq for replying me !
CHEERS !!:rofl:

ANS: I have stated all that is needed in my previous posts, and do u really think that u dont have to install the water and alternator pulleys? or u r being sarcastic? since u r "laughing" after asking such a question? if so, then there is no need for such an attitude in this forum

Listen to PROpiping. He has good advice.

Cheers!

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
i see...so its ur fren that told u it is like that...did he tell u why it is like that?

drag race is not only 'feel' more fast...but it 'is' faster

if u go to orang puteh forums...the only concerns they have with lightened crank pulleys are whether they are dampened, or not...

btw...i will answer ur PM to me here...since im not a sifu...hopefully someone else can help give a better advice, im still a noob as i never got any advice from my friends, but only from my own experience with my lightened crank pulley and a gtech pro...if i say i naik bukit no problem also no meaning as ur frens have stated otherwise....

PM:
halo..
i juz bolt on turbo ...
and my fren wanna sell me his crank pulley only..
so i wanna buy from him...but didnt install water and alternator pulley... is this ok ??
sorry to ask u few question....
if i install the crank puley..wont get any Problem ??
tq for replying me !
CHEERS !!:rofl:

ANS: I have stated all that is needed in my previous posts, and do u really think that u dont have to install the water and alternator pulleys? or u r being sarcastic? since u r "laughing" after asking such a question? if so, then there is no need for such an attitude in this forum

Listen to PROpiping. He has good advice.

Cheers!
TOfu....
u misunderstanding la ...
i always like to put such icon ":itsme::thefinger::rofl::wavey::rolleyes:"
really misunderstanding... :(
anyway..thanks you and propiping very much !!
thanks to gving me those information !
CHEERS!! :rolleyes:

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
TOfu....
u misunderstanding la ...
i always like to put such icon ":itsme::thefinger::rofl::wavey::rolleyes:"
really misunderstanding... :(
anyway..thanks you and propiping very much !!
thanks to gving me those information !
CHEERS!! :rolleyes:
orait sorry for the misunderstanding, if there was one

just wondering....u really dont know whether u have to put on the water and alternator pullies, or not?

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
.... conclusion...?? hehe.... i know some of car modder custom the pulley by CNC & aluminum, finishing very good... for those old car that dun hav after market pulley... they makes alternator side a bit underdrive...

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
orait sorry for the misunderstanding, if there was one

just wondering....u really dont know whether u have to put on the water and alternator pullies, or not?

hehe..
i think..juz install crank pulley is enogh for me !@!
ANYWAY...
THANKS YOU VERY VERY MUCHHHHH !!!
:thrasher::tee:

proPIPING

Mar 23, 2006
hmmm...just buy and install laaa...your worries to install it same as you are gotta spend 100k for it...:hmmmm:

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
money is no problem bro..
juz scared will harm my engine oil pump only...
so wanna ask more infor before buy ...:biggrin:

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
wow..cool !! tq !! :burnout:
haiz...
1 month salary RM600... WTF !!!!
anyway luckily pertro drop to RM2.00 lt...:biggrin: