Modding 4G18

mic1616

Jun 6, 2005
jelapang
i wana do NA for my 4g18...if i change 4g15 DOHC better or change a bigger block better?

cik_yat

Aug 31, 2006
Miami
wandianagarageinc.blogspot.com
georgett said:
bolt on turbo lah...
std piston can last long at low boost o.4 to 0.6 bar, provided with enough fuel and ingition retart while boosting. I did tried proton turbo 10 yrs back while EON sport department launching this BOT kit ant RM8K. boost at 0.5bar with 1 piggy pack ecu added to stock ECU. the car still running until now even tought 3 turbo already gong... the engine in good condition. cik_yat...... ur only 2 month can broken seem 1 stone kill all the birds..... emem.. sorry.
yeah.. da true turbo.. turbo start on 1.2k rpm.. dats y..

georgett

Oct 11, 2006
why change 4g15 instead used back 4g18? above 1.8L is 2.0 already, jpj approved meh...

natagowai

Oct 12, 2006
It is quit hard to modd from 4G18 to 4G93 also.. the enginee does not really fit in.. recommend go for Mivec lahh.. althose is Mivec 1.6.. but the horse power can go up to 200.. The cost of Mivec is around RM 6k ++.. but this enginee really common now for WAJA owner.. so.. if you really like to take.. you need decide early loh..
my friend do ask .. the price is RM 6200 ++ early.. now.. heard that price go up again.. due to japan (YEN) go up liaooo..

evoX2

May 11, 2005
KCH
180hp on 1.6 is like B16B already, it would be hard to achieve on 4g18, better off for engine transplant. Better worth the penny u spent

n_chun21

Jun 28, 2005
sri damansara
sorry 4g18 is it the putra engine? if this is a putra engine last time i saw a putra on wheel 180hp na...and i ask the workshop people they said now is more than 180hp bzos still not go to dyno 2nd time. nissan also got 1 na engine call vvl n-1 1.6l 190hp.

evoX2

May 11, 2005
KCH
4g18 is waja engine. 180hp will be easier to achieve by variable valve for NA.

georgett

Oct 11, 2006
1.6 mivec origin very chick 1. it must be fully mod... then can pump out another 30hp from it.. somemore

Oct 8, 2006
stock waja is 100+- on wheel. 180 is quite impossible with 4g18 NA.

the only way u can get those figure with $$$ in mind is transplant. I will bet the amount spent to get even 150hp on wheel is more than rm 10k. (that is even if u can get 150hp on wheel.)

evo4-6 engine straight fit into waja, this is what I understand.

georgett

Oct 11, 2006
but mic1616 said money is not the matter wohhh....
lets c, if v put cam&adj. pulley, super single clutch c/w light weight flywheel, engine fully balance with low friction treatment, valve spring with titanium valve, microtech/haltech, high compression 1 : 12, piston over size 1mm, h beam conrod and forged piston, light weight crankshaft, electric water pump + electric oil pump, water cool air cond without the conventional compressor & air pump. it should get just 180hp on wheel. B it or not...

sysh

Sep 19, 2005
He really does love his 4G18. :)
Good luck to you bro if you're doing it
Would love to know how it all turns out since I'm a 4G18 driver too

ngou

Aug 2, 2006
hehhee bro.....definitely the 4G91 twin-cam head cannot fit onto waja block ler. its the 4G15 twin-cam head, and yes 4G15 has a single cam and a twin-cam version. u can get it from a Mitsubishi Colt. the colt even has a 4G15 twin-cam mivec turbo version. get tat head, and u have a 4G18 dohc mivec :) i saw in klang selling tat head for rm2k+.

p/s: in seremban sum workshop is offering rm1k to fix the 4g15 twin-cam head onto the waja's 4g18 block.
Bro, do you know how much gain for this mod?

Dear all.. I used Ford Escape 2.0XLT year 2001. This problem happened since 2 weeks ago. Before this when i fill full tank my car can reach about 560km (est.) but now i only can reach around 310km..My service record all is on time and i just replace my spark plug and service throttle body but the problem still happened. The idling sometimes can go till 2500 without press the paddle..Need help from all..:confused:..:banghead:...:nurse: