Is VR4 Better than Evo3/2/1

brandoninlove

Feb 24, 2007
Guys is Is VR4 Better than Evo3/2/1 for a putra..?
I have no idea.. witch is better...

Thanks mates...

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
there are certain things in vr4 that are better than evo, and there are certain aspects that evo is better...

but in a putra, evo fits better.

brandoninlove

Feb 24, 2007
Can i ask why Is evo better in Putra?

NFS

bcoz the evo's have the same mounting points bro ...

davidv00

Mar 27, 2006
if the discussion is about engine comparison, i want to bring in aspect of driver's skills, because engine is not the ultimate end game factors.

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
VR4 have some stronger and longlife heavyduty parts compared with EVO 1.2.3 which can be shared with EVO 1.2.3's .. it can be swapped into these engines.

A friend's known of mine was using Putra with EVO 3 engine having most parts swapped from VR4-RS with near 300ps with registration WG*32**. Its now sold and he's using Perdana V6 Twin Turbo custom widebody. See the Perdana V6 picture at one of our member nicknamed AXXeL .. under his signature image ;)

Not to say VR4 is better than EVO .. just only the parts, have to consult VR4 and EVO specialists into these matter, they know well.

brandoninlove

Feb 24, 2007
Yeah i agree that skill is always the best thanks guys

brandoninlove

Feb 24, 2007
So should i Get an evo engine or A VR4 then??

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
evo is easier to fit, will take maximum 1 week to get ur car ready fully transplanted. for vr4, u need to rewire the interior aircon wirings, modify mountings, redo intercooler piping, and at the end of the day it will not be more powerful than evo in stock form.

yeah driver is a vital part of a car but we are not discussing driving skills here bro. even if u let michael schumacher drive a wrongly matched setup, he also will face problems...

kher

Aug 30, 2004
Klang, Selangor
Fit evo engine into ur car. Is easier coz u r goin to fit into putra.
Then change to vr4 block. As simple as this. vr4's advantage is the strong block wic most ppl will replace after tired of blowing the evo's block.
In terms of hp evo will win vr4. Wic other parts that need to take tremendous stress n can be swapped wif vr4 parts then jus swap them.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
i also suggest u a evo , then run first
get a vr4 block once ur 7bolt starts to crankwalk or when its broken hahaha
depends what you aim for, stock car ? what hp ? u need response ? do you wish to change to larger turbo ?

evo 3 is more responsive than evo1 and 2 cos evo3 compression is higher
evo3 turbo is bigger than evo1,2 and vr4
evo 3 has a closer ratio than e1,2

evo1,2 has a 8.5:1 ratio compression piston
evo1,2 gear ratios can be retrieved from lancerregister.com

all evo's are known for its crankwalk problem
while vr4's are known for its oil pump problem

if u plan to build a monster , then there is alot of rojak to do
with stock evo it be stronger than a vr4
but evo's conrods will give away at high boost 1.3bar above i guess
while a vr4 gearbox are nt twin synchros like the evo2,3 and nt close ratio , maybe vr4rs is close
vr4 intercooler is smaller than the evo's , and vr4 intercooler pipings need to be modded to fit putra
another thing is that mounting of the vr4 is not plug n play for putra , u do need mountings from the evo

it really depends on ur needs
with let say 10k , u could get two kind of setups

e3 stock car , with transplant and new belts n stuff
or
cheap vr4rs halfcut and with about 2.5k-3k extra money evo mountings , t04e , bar n plate custom intercooler, intercooler pipings.

see, its wht u want :)

brandoninlove

Feb 24, 2007
Ok so from what i understand is that:
-Evo3 beats Vr4 in Hp
-Plug and play Engine
The problems for a evo3 is:
-Parts wont last
-Crankwalk problem

Vr4 must have:
-Evo mounthing to fit
-Lesser Hp
The problems with Vr4:
-Oil problem

So the over all obsevation is :
-Vr4 is Better to build a stock car
-While a Evo3 is better to build a Fast car?

huh?!

Oct 5, 2005
brandon bro....trust all of them here...all the things they said here is true....

before this, i used to be confused whether to put vr4 or evo3 in my putra.....end up i put in an evo3.....then when i blew up my block, i changed to vr4 block....

In my opinion,
1)if you want to keep it standard, evo3 is a wise choice....to me, in its standard form, its good...

or

2)if you want to make it into a monster, take jin's advice...evo3+vr4 block...nice combination....i used to mod it but not that much...then i sold off the car....

i'll let u know i used to do before:
Evo3rs+VR4 block
Trinity racing clutch
HKS boost meter + greddy pillar
Defi BF amber red Exhaust temp and Oil temp with control unit
Pivot turbo timer
Titan adjustable suspension
Greddy Type-S blow off
Sard Fuel regulator
Bosch high flow fuel pump
Tanabe Hyper Medallion muffler inlet 3"
Microtech Lt-8s
Endless brakepad(front)
17" rims with Hankook tyres
Full front EvoII bodypart
Subaru Imprezza ver.5 spoiler with brakelight
Metal Gasket
Momo corse steering
Zerone Oil catch tank

jinkl

May 22, 2004
wht im saying is
take evo3 if u want to keep it stock
vr4 if u wanna make a beast

all sifus, anyone can give me info on how to mod 2 layer brake servo to my civic eg which come only 1 layer brake servo and non abs? cause i got my eg6 2 layer brake servo but, the brake line hose fitting is different, eg6 with abs is 12 and mine non abs brake line fitting is 10... anyone can help??:bawling::bawling::nurse:

---------- Post added at 09:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:11 PM ----------

anybody?