Ae86 Halfcut

scoupe

Mar 19, 2005
shah alam
i guys, i have been looking around for a ke70 with a 4age to be a play car and a learning car for a rwd platform. i have checkout a few Ke's with 4ag and most of them that are within the budget are in very very bad condition. i know it is suppose to be a play car but it has to be roadworthy and not be an aquarium and a rust bucket. i have seen some decent onces in standard form. looked around at few shops for the halfcut and it is pretty scarce now. granted it is as old as i am. so anyone knows if it is still possible to get an ae86 halfcut?

AE86 halfcuts are as rare as you make them to be. But to get the 4AGE engine and gb is not as rare. The 4AGZE is rare though but it does pop up once in a while.

KE70s are all rust buckets la. If you find one that's rust free you better lift up the carpet and check the undercarriage and all cuz you'll be very hard pressed to find one that isn't rusted somewhere/somehow unless the previous owner spent good money restoring the car.

Anyway if you can't get a 4AGE halfcut - why not consider the 7KE Toyota Unser 1.8L engine? It's torquey and all that good stuff too. Or the Altezza engine 3SGE G4 or G3? Or even the under appreciated 4AFE from the Corolla?

KE70 has plenty of options bro, 4AGE is great but it's old and like you said rare. Look around man

koshin

Feb 1, 2018
Vietnam
ae86 half cut super rare for all we know its non existence in the half-cut shop in malaysia even if you do find its like 12k~13k for a half cut. btw why are you looking for ke70.. yet want to spend so much for a half cut?
i super curious leh...

alcyon

Sep 13, 2015
The problem with a lot of these cars like KE70 is back when they were new they new they were seen as just a commute /family car, which in essence it's raison d' etre.
So no one took extra care of these cars. They were used as daily cars, left out in the sun and the rain. Over decades, the drain channels clog up from dirt and leaves getting stuck in them, the sunlight and heat repeatedly baking and drying up the seals around the glass and windows, letting water seep in the cabin, rusting out the floors and spare wheel well, boot lid rots, and the lower fenders and door rust starts eating through.
Its only like 2 to 3 decades later suddenly the retro bug started hitting the motoring population and suddenly we see IG builds with trendy JDM yo style pics and videos, of shiny stanced out examples. However, the repairs done are usually shoddy and consists of heavy layers of bondo slapped and smoothened over the rusted out areas and then painted over. While what you see on the outside might look nice, If you know where and how to look for shoddy repairs, you will know the work done was just patchwork.
My advice is, if its primarily a play car, and you dont want to pay much for it, you may just have to take one of those rust bucket types and perhaps just take steps to slow down or prevent further rot. When the time comes to sell, there will be plenty of other buyers willing to take it off your hands for probably the same price you bought it for.

scoupe

Mar 19, 2005
shah alam
Hey bro,

the only reason the ae86 cut was an option is because its pretty much plug and play. Otherwise a 20v would have been better as parts are still available everywhere. The unser's 7K i guess will be my last resort. got torque but i guess it wouldnt take me too far.

i can deal with a lil rust here and there. expected for something this old. but some are just really really bad.

thanks for the reply
AE86 halfcuts are as rare as you make them to be. But to get the 4AGE engine and gb is not as rare. The 4AGZE is rare though but it does pop up once in a while.

KE70s are all rust buckets la. If you find one that's rust free you better lift up the carpet and check the undercarriage and all cuz you'll be very hard pressed to find one that isn't rusted somewhere/somehow unless the previous owner spent good money restoring the car.

Anyway if you can't get a 4AGE halfcut - why not consider the 7KE Toyota Unser 1.8L engine? It's torquey and all that good stuff too. Or the Altezza engine 3SGE G4 or G3? Or even the under appreciated 4AFE from the Corolla?

KE70 has plenty of options bro, 4AGE is great but it's old and like you said rare. Look around man

scoupe

Mar 19, 2005
shah alam
ae86 half cut super rare for all we know its non existence in the half-cut shop in malaysia even if you do find its like 12k~13k for a half cut. btw why are you looking for ke70.. yet want to spend so much for a half cut?
i super curious leh...
not planing on spending too much on the car. either i get one with a 4age in already, or get a cheap one and plonk it in. but if the cut prices are as you say then definitely not worth it at all

scoupe

Mar 19, 2005
shah alam
The problem with a lot of these cars like KE70 is back when they were new they new they were seen as just a commute /family car, which in essence it's raison d' etre.
So no one took extra care of these cars. They were used as daily cars, left out in the sun and the rain. Over decades, the drain channels clog up from dirt and leaves getting stuck in them, the sunlight and heat repeatedly baking and drying up the seals around the glass and windows, letting water seep in the cabin, rusting out the floors and spare wheel well, boot lid rots, and the lower fenders and door rust starts eating through.
Its only like 2 to 3 decades later suddenly the retro bug started hitting the motoring population and suddenly we see IG builds with trendy JDM yo style pics and videos, of shiny stanced out examples. However, the repairs done are usually shoddy and consists of heavy layers of bondo slapped and smoothened over the rusted out areas and then painted over. While what you see on the outside might look nice, If you know where and how to look for shoddy repairs, you will know the work done was just patchwork.
My advice is, if its primarily a play car, and you dont want to pay much for it, you may just have to take one of those rust bucket types and perhaps just take steps to slow down or prevent further rot. When the time comes to sell, there will be plenty of other buyers willing to take it off your hands for probably the same price you bought it for.
yeah this was the original plan. But my OCDness for car care is bugging me.. hahaha. i need to tune it down if i really wanna get learning to on a rwd platform without a huge dent in the wallet.

thanks bro for the input.

Reactions: alcyon

scoupe

Mar 19, 2005
shah alam
i would love to own an e30! but not for learning purpose. dings and broken stuff on a bmw cost way more then a ke. Ke still got lots of body parts available. lamps and etc can get taiwan ones new some more. they are not expensive. If the play car gets too expensive then susah.

That highly depends which Bimmer you're looking at. I don't think KE70 parts are cheap btw because getting new parts is nearly impossible and you'll want to know how easy parts will be to get parts. For BMW there are new parts all the way to the old e30 model from "Bavarian Auto" and "Innerpower" spare parts shops and the parts will surprise you in terms of cost. Almost all except the F-series BMWs aren't expensive.

But if you're comparing Toyota vs BMW, Toyota will always be cheaper though.

That highly depends which Bimmer you're looking at. I don't think KE70 parts are cheap btw because getting new parts is nearly impossible and you'll want to know how easy parts will be to get parts. For BMW there are new parts all the way to the old e30 model from "Bavarian Auto" and "Innerpower" spare parts shops and the parts will surprise you in terms of cost. Almost all except the F-series BMWs aren't expensive.

Funny, I have like 5 to 6 friends, all owning Beemers previously, some from new, some from second hand all have given up on them.......lol

Reactions: alcyon

scoupe

Mar 19, 2005
shah alam

Ke70 parts are still cheap. only 4age stuffs are for some reason like gold. The e30 build will definitely happen someday when i can afford a lil more. :)

Funny, I have like 5 to 6 friends, all owning Beemers previously, some from new, some from second hand all have given up on them.......lol
Your friends are just talking to the right people and probably all of them don't understand that bimmers need overkill maintenance. They can't overshoot the OCI and stuff.

Ke70 parts are still cheap. only 4age stuffs are for some reason like gold. The e30 build will definitely happen someday when i can afford a lil more. :)
E30 isn't going to be cheap to fix up. Tonnes of rust buckets out there and those non-rust buckets aren't going to be cheap.

Your friends are just talking to the right people and probably all of them don't understand that bimmers need overkill maintenance. They can't overshoot the OCI and stuff.

E30 isn't going to be cheap to fix up. Tonnes of rust buckets out there and those non-rust buckets aren't going to be cheap.
Got one close friend who bought an old 5 series, well maintained and even paint in good condition. However he seems to be sending in for repairs monthly. Even month is something else wrong and need to change, even send to BMW specialists. After 6 months he sold it off......lol

E39? Or E60? I want a 3 series

It is well known that the inimitable Jeremy Clarkson has a way with words. Especially when they're uncomplimentary. In fact, as a measure of how much his wit can hurt, when Clarkson actually does give a compliment, a carmaker might simply be happier about not getting roasted than about getting a good review.

The London Times has posted a dozen delicious lines from various Clarkson reviews for...