Good tyre for 195/50 R16 size

If 6" then ok, my friend's one if not mistaken was 5.5" only, that is why he refuse anything wider than 195

hazimjauhari90

Dec 7, 2016
Jitra, Kedah
If 6" then ok, my friend's one if not mistaken was 5.5" only, that is why he refuse anything wider than 195
is that OK 195 width tire to be fitted in 6" witdh rim? i've been searching on the internet. some review said ideal size is 6.5" while some review mentioning ideal size is 6". i'm planning to upgrade my vios rim to 15 inch size. my concern is either want to buy 6jj or 6.5jj rim.

most probably thinking on fitting hankook v12 evo2 (195/50R15). but still haven't yet my mind yet (any recommendation / suggestion on any other UHP tires is highly apreciated)

is that OK 195 width tire to be fitted in 6" witdh rim? i've been searching on the internet. some review said ideal size is 6.5" while some review mentioning ideal size is 6". i'm planning to upgrade my vios rim to 15 inch size. my concern is either want to buy 6jj or 6.5jj rim.

most probably thinking on fitting hankook v12 evo2 (195/50R15). but still haven't yet my mind yet (any recommendation / suggestion on any other UHP tires is highly apreciated)
For 195/50R15, both 6J and 6.5J can be used. If aftermarket rims, I think they come with 7J, OEM rims 6J.
For tyres in 15" still PS3 is highly recommended, others BS RE-003, Hankook V12Evo2, Kumho PS31

may i know pro & con using 6jj instead of 6.5jj sifu?
Rims no sifu lah.. Anyway for 6J and 6.5J to me no difference for 195 size tyres as both sizes are recommended. Only when the rims are too narrow like 5J then the tyres gets squeeze. When this happens the tyre contact surface not flat on the ground. And when the rims are too wide, say like 7.5J then the tyre sidewall gets stretched. When this happens the sidewall less flex and tyre contact surface more to the edge, meaning the shoulder pattern will wear first

hazimjauhari90

Dec 7, 2016
Jitra, Kedah
6.5j is better fitment coz it's more square or equal to the tire width. If 6j then the rim will look narrower than the tire width and therefore also will have a bit more flexing.
thanks 6UE5t & sifu vr2tubro. but using 6.5jj means a bit more FC compare to 6jj right? is the FC is negligible or noticeable between these 2 rims width?

another question i would to ask is. about the 3% rule. currently using 175/65R14. for 15" option, printed on the driver's door is 185/55R15. so i would if changing to 195/50R15 is still abiding the 3% rules or not (as it is really hard to see UHP tires for 185/55R15 size - available option for this size only PS3, BS Potenza S001 & RE030).

thanks 6UE5t & sifu vr2tubro. but using 6.5jj means a bit more FC compare to 6jj right? is the FC is negligible or noticeable between these 2 rims width?

another question i would to ask is. about the 3% rule. currently using 175/65R14. for 15" option, printed on the driver's door is 185/55R15. so i would if changing to 195/50R15 is still abiding the 3% rules or not (as it is really hard to see UHP tires for 185/55R15 size - available option for this size only PS3, BS Potenza S001 & RE030).
FC no difference between 6J and 6.5J. In fact the 3% rule plays more in fc if the tyres are too large, meaning diameter more than 3% bigger.
For your case, 185/55R15 is most ideal size being 0.24% bigger. However 195/50R15 is also ok, since is only 1.23% smaller.
Usually 3% ruling more toward a larger tyre, meaning 3% bigger. When the tyre diameter is too large, stopping a vehicle at high speed required more force and also might have problem with wheel arch clearance

[A]aronLJW

Feb 2, 2017

Go for 195/55/15, more choices than 185/55/15, the price is somewhat similar. Choice from PS3, RE003, V12EVO2, V701, T1R, F1D5, UC6 and etc

hazimjauhari90

Dec 7, 2016
Jitra, Kedah
For your case, 185/55R15 is most ideal size being 0.24% bigger. However 195/50R15 is also ok, since is only 1.23% smaller.
Usually 3% ruling more toward a larger tyre, meaning 3% bigger. When the tyre diameter is too large, stopping a vehicle at high speed required more force and also might have problem with wheel arch clearance
i see. so it means that later i need to be cautions cruising on the AES spot right? as 110 km/h reading on speedometer is actually higher that the display speed. am i right?

anyway sifu yesterday i whatsapp a mudah seller selling 2nd 15 inch rim (6.5jj) . he write his shop at bukit kemuning (not put shop name). at first glace i have feeling it is weng heng. so on the progress closing the deal, i decided to ask my friend to go & collect the rim at the shop. upon asking on the shop location what a suprise it is weng heng :laugh::laugh:

Go for 195/55/15, more choices than 185/55/15, the price is somewhat similar. Choice from PS3, RE003, V12EVO2, V701, T1R, F1D5, UC6 and etc
nope. i''m thinking on fitting 195/50R15 instead. but this size still have option like u said. PS3, RE003, F1D5, V12EVO2, V701, PS31 (for UHP category). but if going to 195/55R15, is it not exceed the 3% ruling? (50 profile might be slightly bumpy than 55 profile right?)

i see. so it means that later i need to be cautions cruising on the AES spot right? as 110 km/h reading on speedometer is actually higher that the display speed. am i right?

anyway sifu yesterday i whatsapp a mudah seller selling 2nd 15 inch rim (6.5jj) . he write his shop at bukit kemuning (not put shop name). at first glace i have feeling it is weng heng. so on the progress closing the deal, i decided to ask my friend to go & collect the rim at the shop. upon asking on the shop location what a suprise it is weng heng :laugh::laugh:

nope. i''m thinking on fitting 195/50R15 instead. but this size still have option like u said. PS3, RE003, F1D5, V12EVO2, V701, PS31 (for UHP category). but if going to 195/55R15, is it not exceed the 3% ruling? (50 profile might be slightly bumpy than 55 profile right?)
If using 195/50R15, yes, speedo will show faster speed but very minimal like 2kph faster, since only 1.23% smaller.

Weng Heng is okay. Tyre price is cheap, just be careful of his camber nut tactic or he try to ask you add this and that.....lol

195/55R15 do not exceed 3%, actual is 2.13% bigger. Between 50 and 55, there is always pros and cons. Basically more on ride comfort and handling. 50 better handling, less flex, more bumpy. 55 better comfort, more flex, less handling.....

hazimjauhari90

Dec 7, 2016
Jitra, Kedah
Weng Heng is okay. Tyre price is cheap, just be careful of his camber nut tactic or he try to ask you add this and that.....lol
i just purchase the 2nd hand rim only (need to hurry UP. coz only weng heng selling vios original rim with 6.5jj). maybe if got extra money later will fit new tire . pokai already (early year spend so much money)

195/55R15 do not exceed 3%, actual is 2.13% bigger. Between 50 and 55, there is always pros and cons. Basically more on ride comfort and handling. 50 better handling, less flex, more bumpy. 55 better comfort, more flex, less handling.....
if aiming for handling, will sacrifice comfort & vice versa. even on 175/65R14 my wife complaining on bumpy (she is now 4 months pregancy). tayar already almost botak already. such a tough decision to make. either 50 or 55 :banghead::banghead::banghead:

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
i just purchase the 2nd hand rim only (need to hurry UP. coz only weng heng selling vios original rim with 6.5jj). maybe if got extra money later will fit new tire . pokai already (early year spend so much money)

if aiming for handling, will sacrifice comfort & vice versa. even on 175/65R14 my wife complaining on bumpy (she is now 4 months pregancy). tayar already almost botak already. such a tough decision to make. either 50 or 55 :banghead::banghead::banghead:
Bumpy stock vios...thats a first time for me...
Vios is known as the master of numbness.
your tires could be too old and becomes hard or your tire pressure is way off.

Just get the 55, how much better of handling u expect on a 50? not much.
its a Vios after all.

hazimjauhari90

Dec 7, 2016
Jitra, Kedah
Bumpy stock vios...thats a first time for me...
Vios is known as the master of numbness.
your tires could be too old and becomes hard or your tire pressure is way off.
its a Vios after all.
my tires were purchase on around Q2 14. almost 5 years already. all 4 tires almost reachin TWI. anyway, i always keep the tire pressure around 200. another cause of bumpy maybe rear absorber soft already with bonet usually full of loads (i go back and forth seberang perai to jitra on weekend - friday night travel to jitra & sunday evening back to seberang perai). sitting at the back is just like sitting on the boat being hit by the waves lol my wife said. plus dont expect highway plus on northern is properly maintain. it is totally terrible with the speed just 120km/h

I'm using a wira 1.5 carburator engine........can i switch my standard engine to turbo engine?.......plz any sifu tell me! izzit possible?