New Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance Suv For Subaru Forester

Was looking out for new model tyres to try for my Subaru Forester. Found the new Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance SUV but they did not have them in my tyre size of 225/60R17. In Goodyear website the size is listed but found they have not been manufactured yet. Waited 3 months from February 2018, but until end April found the size still not in production. This model is manufactured in Goodyear factory in Thailand.

So finally opt for the X-trail/CX-5 and CRV tyre size of 225/65R17. This tyre size is 3.2% larger in diameter, so my speedo meter will under read by 3kph. Since the forester is mostly driven by my wife, comfort and quiet are our main priorities, knowing with 3% larger diameter we will loose some pick up.

Initial drive was not bad, I think is due to the CVT gears I did not feel too much lost in pick up. The tyres are very quiet, even the tyre shop boss who drove out for a test, mentioned they are really quiet. My wife and even my daughter who sat in later mentioned they are less tyre noise. With a tyre that is made for comfort now couple with a higher aspect ratio of 65 series it is much more comfortable now.

Now after 3 months use, really love the quietness and comfort. Outstation drive is now really nice, but hear more wind noise.....lol

upload_2018-8-3_13-27-29.jpeg
upload_2018-8-3_13-25-46.jpeg
upload_2018-8-3_13-25-23.jpeg

upload_2018-8-3_13-27-4.jpeg

upload_2018-8-3_13-27-53.jpeg

upload_2018-8-3_13-28-5.jpeg

Reactions: RENESIS VIII

Weng Tat SS14. You really like that shop huh?

I've always wondered do you really need SUV tyres for SUVs. I thought it was always about the load rating of the tyres.

Weng Tat SS14. You really like that shop huh?

I've always wondered do you really need SUV tyres for SUVs. I thought it was always about the load rating of the tyres.
Friend mah! sometimes nothing to do also lepak there...hahhaha

The load range usually follow the tyre size. The name SUV on the tyre is actually for SUV to use on tarmac. The pattern are finer, so gets less noise and are more comfortable. Used to be H/T tyres but still noisy. For off road will be A/T tyres or at least rated M&S....lol

Friend mah! sometimes nothing to do also lepak there...hahhaha

The load range usually follow the tyre size. The name SUV on the tyre is actually for SUV to use on tarmac. The pattern are finer, so gets less noise and are more comfortable. Used to be H/T tyres but still noisy. For off road will be A/T tyres or at least rated M&S....lol
I just use normal sedan tyres on my 4x4. Of course it doesn't go off road at all.

The original tyres for the forester were Conti Passenger car tyres too, the MC5.....lol

Ewww sucks tires. MC5 isn’t real continental tires (get it? Not continental) It’s Sime Tyres hahaha.

upload_2019-3-9_21-49-17.jpeg

Time for 10k km rotation

upload_2019-3-9_21-51-30.jpeg

Front tyres a bit more worn, but in pretty good shape after 10k km

upload_2019-3-9_21-52-25.jpeg

Rear tyre look like new.....

Reactions: Tom

front tyre look ok. Compare my ps3 front, it start chipping off tiny pieces of rubber. 3yrs dy.
Yours 3 years, mine less than 1 year mah, and threadwear 440 is much higher than yours. PS3 when old got tendency of chipping

I have a problem with my manual gearbox on JB-JL L512. I am now unable to push gear into 1 or 2. I can push the gear shifter to the left and to the right. But, I can't push from the left side into either gear 1 or 2.

Previously, it worked fine until last month where the symptom started with the difficulty to change gear to 1 and 2 (I mean, I managed to put into gear 1 or 2, but with a struggle).

But, I have no problem to push to 3,4,5 and reverse gear, yet.

DO you all think the problem...