Bridgestone RE003 vs Michelin Pilot Sport 3 (PS3)

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
My Pilot Sport 3s are due for replacement. This is my second set of them. So far I'm really satisfied, they're very good in cornering feel, traction and ride comfort except for the soft sidewalls, which makes the car rolls a bit more than usual in corners. The RE003 is relatively new and there are not many reviews yet. But from what I've read they're just as good except for the lower wet traction. Plus, the sidewall is slightly stiffer, which is good. I could not decide whether to stick to PS3 or change to the slightly cheaper RE003. So, any of you are using RE003? How does it perform/feel?

From feedback is like what you have mentioned. Whether which is better depends on your priorities. If more into cornering the RE-003 will be better but going towards comfort then PS3. RE-003 wet traction lower buy dry can be equal or better. Most use RE-003 probably because of stiffer sidewall if they touge more, anyway in the wet should be driving slower....

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
There are a few feedback and reviews though that claim the RE003 is also equally good in the wet if not better, at least when new. Then there are some who said it's rubbish in the wet once already worn down to 50-60% even though still got pretty deep treads left. So not sure there, I wanted to try it but when I was looking for replacement for my size, all out of stock here in KL.

Another option is the Hankook V12 Evo 2 which can be even cheaper, but bro Izso said it's also soft sidewall.

There are a few feedback and reviews though that claim the RE003 is also equally good in the wet if not better, at least when new. Then there are some who said it's rubbish in the wet once already worn down to 50-60% even though still got pretty deep treads left. So not sure there, I wanted to try it but when I was looking for replacement for my size, all out of stock here in KL.

Another option is the Hankook V12 Evo 2 which can be even cheaper, but bro Izso said it's also soft sidewall.
50 to 60% worn most tyre not very good in wet already.

For cornering Asy will be better, more rubber on outer side then directional......

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
50 to 60% worn most tyre not very good in wet already.

For cornering Asy will be better, more rubber on outer side then directional......
I meant usage 40-50% so still 50-60% treads left which is still pretty deep leh. I could still easily 100-120kph in the wet in some sweepers using my F1-D5 when the treads were at those level.

Yah, unless the directional tire has also big blocks on both sides of the outer treads. My F1-D5 not too shabby last time, at least for my mediocre level of driving lor. But now practically all really top performance street tires are asymmetric, some even using different compounds between inner and outer side. Only semi slicks are still directional ya.

KenDiriwan

Mar 15, 2006
kendiriwan.multiply.com
This is a good topic. I was heard RE003 is better than T1R, did not knew the dry grip is on par as PS3.

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
I think I might get the RE003 because PS3 is about RM40 more expensive per piece. After 2 sets, the PS3 seem a bit boring... :sleep:

I meant usage 40-50% so still 50-60% treads left which is still pretty deep leh. I could still easily 100-120kph in the wet in some sweepers using my F1-D5 when the treads were at those level.

Yah, unless the directional tire has also big blocks on both sides of the outer treads. My F1-D5 not too shabby last time, at least for my mediocre level of driving lor. But now practically all really top performance street tires are asymmetric, some even using different compounds between inner and outer side. Only semi slicks are still directional ya.
Most of the tyres I used after 50% aquaplane more easily and that is because 50% less depth in the grooves to channel away water.
Semi slick even though directional have big shoulder block. Extreme AD-08R also.....lol

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
So uncle vr2turbo, if you were me, which tyre would you choose? The roads I travel are 50% rough kampung roads with lots of corners and potholes & 50% highway.

If wet not much concern give RE-003 a try, since cheaper also. I am like you after 2 sets sure itchy to try something else.....lol:biggrin:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
If wet not much concern give RE-003 a try, since cheaper also. I am like you after 2 sets sure itchy to try something else.....lol:biggrin:
I've never even use the same tires twice! Always change different when comes the time to replace it. :biggrin:

Ever since the first Lambo with a V12 rolled off the factory floor, every subsequent model that has had a dozen cylinders in the rear up to today more or less has had a variation of that same V12 from the 1960’s. That’s a very long shelve life for a powerplant.

Finally, the Murcielago replacement that is supposedly named the Aventador, will...