What to check when buying 2008 Proton Persona SE

qms_ria

Jun 1, 2014
Kuala Lumpur
Hi. I am buying a Proton Persona SE' 2008 from a used car dealer. Can anyone please tell me what things to check when buying a second hand proton car?? This is my first time buying a Proton. So I really don't know what to look for. I have already paid the booking and I'm waiting for the car to go for inspection in puspakom. The dealer insisted once the inspection is done, I pay him full.

Can anyone please accompany me to check the car, before I officially get it??

I'm attaching the picture of the engine here. Please lemme know if anything looks fishy..

Attachments

stupidcar

5,000 RPM
Mar 18, 2013
Kuala Lumpur
Hi. I am buying a Proton Persona SE' 2008 from a used car dealer. Can anyone please tell me what things to check when buying a second hand proton car?? This is my first time buying a Proton. So I really don't know what to look for. I have already paid the booking and I'm waiting for the car to go for inspection in puspakom. The dealer insisted once the inspection is done, I pay him full.

Can anyone please accompany me to check the car, before I officially get it??

I'm attaching the picture of the engine here. Please lemme know if anything looks fishy..
Base on the picture, I can only say the battery definitely needs changing.
It's still the same old battery from the factory. Unless the owner changed to the same brand which is highly unlikely.
Should have buy my Persona. hahahaha.

ken yeang

6,000 RPM
Feb 2, 2006
bro, a picture can only tell so much. If the owner is "sneaky" about the car, he would angle the shot to his advantage. You'll never know.

Instead of relying on photos, the better bet would bring along a mechanic when viewing the car. Just pay the mechanic by the hour and buy him a cuppa kopi after checking the car. The owner of the car might be upset or say something unpleasant though when he saw the mechanic...