what daihatsu engine suitable for race/time attack??

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
Hii all sifus.. i'm wondering anyone have this issue as i need all the info and opinion from all kancil old timer, what is the most suitable in all situation of racing means the most reliable engine for race? is it L2/L2s (EF-JL) or L5/L7 (EF-DET) or L5/L9 (JB-DET)? all of these mentioned engine has its own pro and con, so that is why i would like to discuss it here.. thanks u all in advance..:biggrin:

L2 Series engine. More potential. 200hp is possible.
L5 Series. Limitation not more than 130hp :biggrin:

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
but L2 have these problems

1. temperature rising when drive hard. but this is refering to stock radiator. some say need to mate with 1000cc block to make it more durable to heat.

2. boost cut is at 0.9 bar. need stand alone to remove. but some say it can be hacked by doing some re-wiring or cheat the map sensor.

L5/L7 (EF-DET)have this advantage

1. more torque even in stock form than L2

2. pnp with 1000cc block.

3. no temperature problem like L2

4. boost cut at 1.3 bar if i'm not mistaken..

correct me if im wrong..

---------- Post added at 05:29 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:26 PM ----------

if u say L5, L5 have few model of engines such as EF-JL (3 cylinder SOHC with more electronics than L2), EF-RL (3 cylinder DOHC) and JB-JL (4 cylinder DOHC)

but L2 have these problems

1. temperature rising when drive hard. but this is refering to stock radiator. some say need to mate with 1000cc block to make it more durable to heat.

2. boost cut is at 0.9 bar. need stand alone to remove. but some say it can be hacked by doing some re-wiring or cheat the map sensor.

L5/L7 (EF-DET)have this advantage

1. more torque even in stock form than L2

2. pnp with 1000cc block.

3. no temperature problem like L2

4. boost cut at 1.3 bar if i'm not mistaken..

correct me if im wrong..
Ya I ask the same questions and concern on L2 overheating problems. But according to the guy, he told me no problem with overheating as long as use 1000cc kelisa block like you mentioned and match with a proper aluminum radiator. Recommended to use Synergy ones. Track proven as well.

Boost wise, I'm not sure. No experience on that. Only asked about overheating issues.

L5 more comfortable and yes more torque they said if compared to L2 which is more power on high speed. But limitations to have higher hp. Max is 150hp but not recommended since the conrod is too thin. Letup also hard to find parts to replace also.

I'm just repeating what he said previously. Which made me change my mind and go for L2s instead of JBJL. :biggrin:

I think L5 or L2 is really depends on what we want in our Mira. Comfort and sufficient power, L5. Want more power, L2s but sacrifice comfort. I guess Comfort and Performance can never match perfectly well. :rofl: Is just one way or the other.

I was thinking, 130hp for L5 engine is actually quite enough for normal city drive. But since I don't plan to take the car for Highway or balik kampung, I guess L2s would be better for me. Little bit of vibration should be fine for me. Since stock kancil already vibrating :rofl:

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
ok. i get u SF. but still i need someone who has experience with tuning a EF-DET engine. i wanna know the limitation of EF-DET as i already know the limitation of L2 engine.. what i can say for u is that L2 engine is a sleeping monster in a tiny body.. so much tuning option to choose. its just a matter of $$$..

Too bad that guy not in zth, if not he can advise u more. K-car tuning specialist.
Ya, kena poison by him on the potential of the L2. Hope to experience the engine myself soon.

But a bit keberatan to let go the stock engine. Still running good :rofl:
Maybe can trade in or sell it off.

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
if your stock engine still running good, maintain it first while u can refurbish the L2 engine before transplant it into ur kancil mah.. just take ur time to do some preventive maintainance too like engine balancing, top overhaul, check your clutch etc.. u can even do the cam cover wrinkle spray may.. make it look so beautiful, ur finance minister wont nag u mah.. :rofl:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Hmm, why no one suggested K3-VET? But that one only comes with automatic transmission which could be a disadvantage...

if your stock engine still running good, maintain it first while u can refurbish the L2 engine before transplant it into ur kancil mah.. just take ur time to do some preventive maintainance too like engine balancing, top overhaul, check your clutch etc.. u can even do the cam cover wrinkle spray may.. make it look so beautiful, ur finance minister wont nag u mah.. :rofl:
Ya stock engine running good. Very low mileage when I bought it. Buy it secretly won't nag. Know I transplant, will shoot me upside down for wasting money haha

Hmmm...buy and keep at workshop and slowly build it up before transplant? Wrinkle spray no like.
Plastidip myself then :love:

Hmm, why no one suggested K3-VET? But that one only comes with automatic transmission which could be a disadvantage...
K3VET i think not plug and play into kancil? Kelisa and Myvi i know they did it but Kancil usually I see them mod L2 or L5 engine more.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Ya stock engine running good. Very low mileage when I bought it. Buy it secretly won't nag. Know I transplant, will shoot me upside down for wasting money haha

Hmmm...buy and keep at workshop and slowly build it up before transplant? Wrinkle spray no like.
Plastidip myself then :love:

K3VET i think not plug and play into kancil? Kelisa and Myvi i know they did it but Kancil usually I see them mod L2 or L5 engine more.
I'm also not too sure about whether the mounting in Kancil can fit K3-VET or not. BTW, L2 and L5 are both 660cc right? Both DOHC 12 Valve? Or L2 is SOHC?

Ya both 660cc. L2 series SOHC but L5 series have SOHC and DOHC, depends on which engine.
L502s JBJL is 16v, L5s EFRL is 12v. Both DOHC. L5s EFJL is SOHC

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Ya both 660cc. L2 series SOHC but L5 series have SOHC and DOHC, depends on which engine.
L502s JBJL is 16v, L5s EFRL is 12v. Both DOHC. L5s EFJL is SOHC
Urgh, all these small kei car engines are technically more advanced than the engine that I am using. More valve per cylinder and one more extra camshaft than mine. :banghead:

Time to trade in for a Kancil. Cheaper and fun to play :biggrin: Your wira trade in you still earn :rofl:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Time to trade in for a Kancil. Cheaper and fun to play :biggrin: Your wira trade in you still earn :rofl:
I did once suggested to get Kancil Turbo before I got back Wira. The first thing my mother said is, "You want get a car with swapped engine? Later inside there got wiring short circuit and burn your car then you know". Because there is once she saw a Kancil turbo caught fire by the road side. Plus if they know that car has a turbo, that's enough to go against me already. They'll think I'll go racing with that car or perhaps revving around the streets to demo the BOV sound. :rofl:

Hai...anyone out there been using sunroof from Caroz...(the one advert in Extreme Kar mag)??
Just want to find out how much is the price and is it reliable?
How bout the installation? good or not?it hav manual version and auto....so anyone using it....need to hear it...Thanx... :)