When the car owner passes away, the car also dead ended?

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
Recently, I met a friend of mine wanting to sell his Honda Accord SM4 at a giveaway price...

And for spareparts only...

He told me that he bought this car from the previous owner but did not effect the transfer of ownership.

But he has got all documents presigned and Mykad photocopy.

However, when he resold his car to another, he could not do the transfer as the previous owner had passed away.

He tried all avenues but still nothing could be done.

Does this mean that once the registered owner passes away, so will be the car also written off?

Anyone got info on this matter kindly comment or suggest ways on how to go about this problem....:idea::bawling:

wsukun

Nov 17, 2008
London Calling
so you are saying your friend didn't complete the name transfer from the initial owner when purchasing the car?

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
so you are saying your friend didn't complete the name transfer from the initial owner when purchasing the car?
Yes it was very common during our days, we get all documents presigned and keep....

Sounds a bit odd today but its normal practice in those days...

csl

Aug 22, 2005
Malysia
If the previous owner has waris then the problem is only some little time. If not, need to bring to court.

twistedichc

Jan 22, 2013
Ampang Point
Then how you buy insurance if the car still in previous owner's name?
the insurance is virtually for the car not it's owner on the pink slip & his name is in the allowed driver name so if accident still can claim maahh. if the agreement is duty stamped it means that even it is just simple agreement such as "I sold this car to this yada at a price of sum sum", he can get the death certificate of the ori owner & do the name transfer, if it just written n no stamp than it's bye2 @ find a 2nd hand shop i'm surely they can find a way & go through their insider but everythings have a price loorr. like know u see ads that goes "blacklist can also apply" looorrr:driver:

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
If the previous owner has waris then the problem is only some little time. If not, need to bring to court.
Yes CSL,

Bringing to court will take many years down the road...

And the legal cost may be more than the cost of the car....:adore:

---------- Post added at 12:55 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:52 AM ----------

Then how you buy insurance if the car still in previous owner's name?
Most of the insurance company only need a copy of the grant to issue...

Whom, where the owner is, isnt an issue...

---------- Post added at 01:00 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:55 AM ----------

the insurance is virtually for the car not it's owner on the pink slip & his name is in the allowed driver name so if accident still can claim maahh. if the agreement is duty stamped it means that even it is just simple agreement such as "I sold this car to this yada at a price of sum sum", he can get the death certificate of the ori owner & do the name transfer, if it just written n no stamp than it's bye2 @ find a 2nd hand shop i'm surely they can find a way & go through their insider but everythings have a price loorr. like know u see ads that goes "blacklist can also apply" looorrr:driver:
You mean a duly stamped agreement can be used to do the transfer?

Have u seen it being done or you heard from your fren?

Probably using the Malaysia boleh method still can be done....

Only some very specialized runner may know how to do it...

But then again, being a specialist in his field, he will probably ask an arm or a leg....

Comes back to square one, too high the fees and could be equivalent to the car value....:mad::thefinger::stupid:

twistedichc

Jan 22, 2013
Ampang Point
Yes CSL,

Bringing to court will take many years down the road...

And the legal cost may be more than the cost of the car....:adore:

---------- Post added at 12:55 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:52 AM ----------

Most of the insurance company only need a copy of the grant to issue...

Whom, where the owner is, isnt an issue...

---------- Post added at 01:00 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:55 AM ----------

You mean a duly stamped agreement can be used to do the transfer?
Have u seen it being done or you heard from your fren?

Probably using the Malaysia boleh method still can be done....

Only some very specialized runner may know how to do it...

But then again, being a specialist in his field, he will probably ask an arm or a leg....

Comes back to square one, too high the fees and could be equivalent to the car value....:mad::thefinger::stupid:
my wife was working in a legal form, she said any agreement must have duty stamp to be valid for legal use. the important thing is for items, must at least have 3 significant description that tells bout the item e.g brand, type, reg #.

but then again if the pink slip (grant) is in u'r hand, it will be easier for the rider to do his job so maybe less fees btw have u gone to ask the jpj for this type of problem:hmmmm:

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
my wife was working in a legal form, she said any agreement must have duty stamp to be valid for legal use. the important thing is for items, must at least have 3 significant description that tells bout the item e.g brand, type, reg #.

but then again if the pink slip (grant) is in u'r hand, it will be easier for the rider to do his job so maybe less fees btw have u gone to ask the jpj for this type of problem:hmmmm:
Havent gone to JPJ to enquire...

Just out of curiousity sake, imagine if this applies....

All owners whom left this world, also took his car along with him....:driver:

hahaha....

There must be a way in going about this issue, I believe....

Next of kin can apply for court order but sold to another party, I am not sure....:hmmmm:

hi everyone, i'm seeking a set of exhaust system for my subaru forester SF5, from downpipe to rear muffler. Anyone if wanna sell off theirs or have any idea any place has it please give a tinkle. Many thanks.