LAUNCH: Proton Prevé (From RM59,990 to RM72,990 OTR)!

Will you buy the Proton Prevé?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

matt_pp

May 5, 2007
Sapphire looks really2 good.. why didn't they produce sapphire right now. So many want sapphire right now...

DeaconFrost

Oct 2, 2009
Sapphire looks really2 good.. why didn't they produce sapphire right now. So many want sapphire right now...
I would think it is the same way when this came first:

Before this (4 years later):

---------- Post added at 08:50 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:40 AM ----------

Went to the showroom today.. honestly the dashboard design is SERIOUSLY LACKING OF CREATIVITY. Cheap plastic parts will look better if there's a touch of art and creativity to it.

Like now its just too boxy and cut and paste look....need serious improvement....

Exterior and power wise.. is something to praise about...congrats on these parts
For that kinda money, you shouldn't be expecting VW standards la. It's not bad already for that kind of price. Compare it with the even cheaper Chery equivalent and then you'll know what's cheap plasticky and crappy.

---------- Post added at 09:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:25 PM ----------

I think what K_Takuya meant is sometimes the material used does not matter when the design is more creatively done.

It does not matter if it is made of cheap plastic, if the design is superb.

For analogy's sake, many Ikea items are made of cheap plastic. But the design is modern and tasteful.

Put it bluntly, I don't give a flying ____ how much it costs Proton. If the people in charge of the accounts don't know how to handle the cash flow, he should get fired. And not justify it by saying because its expensive bla bla bla so we don't do it.

Look at every other global player, they do it, hell even the Koreans and Chinese are doing it (EURO NCAP). So, is Proton really aiming to be a global player, or they are pretending to be one just to cheat the Malaysian public? It reminds me of Made in Malaysia FMCG with Japanese labeling to make you believe its Made in Japan, exported to Japan or something to do with Japan.

Proton is just a crock of shit with their marketing. "HEY LOOK! We have a global car built to Malaysian safety standards ala MyVAP!" Please, Malaysian safety standards? As a global car? The Malaysian standard don't even have compulsory ABS and air bags. As far as they are concerned our lives are worthless.

Also, Proton not willing to pay the $ to send the car for NCAP, means again using the RAKYAT'S MONEY to establish MyVAP. Who you think pay for all the research, development, equipment, salary for the people to operate MyVAP? The government, aka RAKYAT'S MONEY! So yeah, make the people pay for it instead of Proton paying for NCAP. Bravo! Malaysia boleh moment.

I think that's a bad comparison. NCAP is a moving scale, just cause it scored 2 stars last year doesn't mean it will still score 2 stars this year. Think about it, if its NOT a moving scale, safety in cars won't improve. If its NOT a moving scale, it'll be "Oh we scored 5 stars? No need to improve our next face lift then just use existing technology and no R&D to improve further". Just FYI. Again, I don't blame you cause in Malaysia safety standards are unheard of.
Talking with you is always interesting. We can diss and throw stones at each other but at the end of the day we still can go lim teh and forget about everything. Not that we've had our teh ais yet but heck, you're a cool dude. :grin: So I will indulge!

Money is a delicate thing in any corporation. Working for the worlds 2nd largest company has taught me that. The company I work for has a multi billion dollar bank account *cash* and yet they spend countless hours reducing cost where and whenever possible. Proton is no better shape than it was the previous years where they had enough profits to only line the shareholders (legal and hidden both) pockets. To wrecklessly spend several million more just to test a couple of cars isn't dollar sense la.

One thing Korean car manufacturers have is blind fierce loyalty from their people. They make way more money than Proton does (dollar for dollar) and even their slowest brand - Kia makes more than Proton. They have money to spend to send a small fleet of their cars to UK for NCAP testing. China... 0.1% of their population is already as big as M'sia. They have a massive market there and the people buy their cheapass cars too. Having said that though, how many Chinese car makers actually have NCAP certification? Not all. Only the bigger more popular ones. Another question, how many Chinese car manufacturers are there? More than 2 that's for sure. So the Chinese is a bad comparison in that respect.

If you could do it cheaply wouldn't you consider it? (MCAP)

I don't think Proton has marketed their cars as being "Global". They focus on the target market, like in Aust they push the Arena like crazy since those type of cars are pretty important in Aust. In UK it's all about "cheap and cheerful" (even though I believe there is no such thing), the UK cars are sold as one of the cheapest cars you can buy with reasonable safety features and all (considering it's a basic requirement to have all these safety features to be sold in the UK, these 'features' don't really count imho). They've never put themselves up against their more expensive (in the UK) but way better (IMHO) alternatives like the Golf or Polo or whatever.

There are loads of car manufacturers out there that don't have NCAP that have more respect that Proton does, like TVR for example. They have zero safety crash testing, have rubbish finishing in most of their cars, have almost no R&D but yet people revere the brand even though it's bankrupt. Why so? Personally I think it's because of the passion the buyers have for the brand. If Proton even had 30% of the passion people have for TVR, I think they'll do better already. But they had to ruin it with the introduction of a couple of crappy cars with shoddy questionable quality as well as questionable suppliers.

But I have to agree that NCAP standards are never stagnant, that's a pretty good point. But I'm quite sure if Waja was a 2-star NCAP car, it's not going to be any better than that :biggrin:

Quit dreaming people. Proton no longer belong to the rakyat. It now belongs to DRB-Hicom. Basically they built a company using the rakyat's money and left pocket right pocket it and "acquired" it. Another Malaysia boleh moment.
:biggrin: Hehehehe.. agree with this generalised statement too.

dunno la, rite or wrong... about the welding quality....

Facebook
Aiya.. everyone's going on and on about this. It's called spot welding. If you can find me a spot welded stock car that looks better than this I'll be stumped. Spot welding is a pretty common (and strong) way of welding and it may be ugly but that isn't a manufacturing flaw or a problem. It's supposed to look like that!

sometimes giving out 10yrs warranty or whole life dont solve the problems for d power windows ..
problem is ur giving ppl troubles when defect. spoil > fix > spoil > fix n vice versa.
instead of putting effort on d dashboard design being very plastic or wutever it is on d cons, they went for trends. LEDS, auto wipers, push starts etc ..
juz.dont.understand.
There's a problem with this statement of yours. They recently offered lifetime warranty on all their power windows. And if they don't start offering all these new fandangled stuff (auto whatever, push start, LED) then people will start complaining about how old fashioned these cars are etc etc. You can't win like that. :banghead:

Do also die, don't do also die.

Note : I'm not pro-Proton. I only think P1 should be given the chance to improve and since they seem to be trying, I think it's only fair we give them the benefit of the doubt. The only thing/person that doesn't deserve a 2nd chance has already been banned from ZTH so that's that :biggrin:

If P1 after all this "effort" still produces rubbish quality cars, cars that notoriously break down all the time (like when Vios and Avanza had their fair share of teething problems), and we see no change whatsoever in the management - then we castrate the brand and the govt. Until then let them have their viagra to try to impress us. :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 09:19 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:11 AM ----------

I think what K_Takuya meant is sometimes the material used does not matter when the design is more creatively done.

For analogy's sake, many Ikea items are made of cheap plastic. But the design is modern and tasteful.
Ah ok. But for the record, some of the plastic mould bits they did for the dash is quite daring. According to some folks it's actually not easy to make. Personally I find the design quite pleasing. I like simple clean lines.

DeaconFrost

Oct 2, 2009
Ah ok. But for the record, some of the plastic mould bits they did for the dash is quite daring. According to some folks it's actually not easy to make. Personally I find the design quite pleasing. I like simple clean lines.
You sure you're not pro-Proton? :biggrin:

Note : I'm not pro-Proton. I only think P1 should be given the chance to improve and since they seem to be trying, I think it's only fair we give them the benefit of the doubt. The only thing/person that doesn't deserve a 2nd chance has already been banned from ZTH so that's that :biggrin:
I've owned a Wira (1st car) and a V6 before but I can't see myself buying a Proton in the near future, so I don't consider myself pro-Proton.

But I've driven and sat in a number of cars already, enough to view Proton from an objective point of view.

Cheap plastic? Suzuki Swift.

Breakdown? Fiat.

From where I sit, Proton fared better than the Koreans. I've never been to Korea but when my wife watches Korean dramas, I noticed that all the cars driven are Korean-made: from nice Kia Forte to ugly as f**k Ssangyong SUV.

You would think that by now Koreans would have been already driving high powered performance Hyundais, but what do they get? An effing Tiburon. A weakass Forte freaking Koup.

Blind obedience (like you said) from double the population of Malaysia, and still what they get is a freaking Tiburon.

Corrupt? Daewoo boss committed suicide.

So Thailand make Toyotas? They only assemble them. One or two more big floods or one or two more coup d'etat and that will surely make the Japs rethink.

Without Toyota is Thailand still an automotive hub?

In Malaysia it's not only Proton. There are 20-30 more Proton vendors providing jobs and livelihood. Yes, you would think that these cronies have a hand in the making of dissapointing Proton models. Probably these vendors will fold if they produce a better quality dashboard.

But still, while we get a Satria Neo Campro CPS, the Koreans get a freaking Tiburon.

khencana

Jul 31, 2008
Aiya.. everyone's going on and on about this. It's called spot welding. If you can find me a spot welded stock car that looks better than this I'll be stumped. Spot welding is a pretty common (and strong) way of welding and it may be ugly but that isn't a manufacturing flaw or a problem. It's supposed to look like that!

tq for the info bro....

but.. for me lah.. how many chance? how about quality issue with gen2?

sorry no offense ya
i'll wait and see.... at least 2 years.... after 2 years, got preve r3 maybe hohooho

You sure you're not pro-Proton? :biggrin:

I've owned a Wira (1st car) and a V6 before but I can't see myself buying a Proton in the near future, so I don't consider myself pro-Proton.

In Malaysia it's not only Proton. There are 20-30 more Proton vendors providing jobs and livelihood. Yes, you would think that these cronies have a hand in the making of dissapointing Proton models. Probably these vendors will fold if they produce a better quality dashboard.

But still, while we get a Satria Neo Campro CPS, the Koreans get a freaking Tiburon.
I'm not pro-proton la. I have no Protons at home except for a 8 year old Wira A/B which is my test mule for everything I DIY. :biggrin:

My car history has been quite sad. First car a Nissan Sentra Genting Taxi type. Sold it after the manual GB broke down. No freaking idea how that happened. 2nd car a Ford Telstar, sold that after a Perdana (non v6) got offered to me at a good deal (trade-in high). Got a 2nd car - Wira sedan carbie. Ruined the Perdana GB and sold that for a Toyota. Bloody Perdana gave me more problems than it was worth. The goddamn Wira was possessed by a PMSing ghost and was covered in rust after 3 years. Refused to work whenever I picked up certain people and got me into 4 major accidents 2 of which was consecutively after the other (4 hours after it came out from the shop it crashed). And I blame the car because twice it was burst tyres, once was failed brakes and the last was just pure badluck. Sold that for my current Wira A/B SE. Have 2 other Myvis at home, both different generation Myvis. Wira A/B has been very cheap to maintain and mod, and my Myvis are soulless but at least they never have major issues. Toyota is from the old Toyota generation - meaning it never breaks down.

So yeah, I'm not pro-Proton. I've hated every car before the Persona for various personal reasons but my personal reasons aren't enough for me to condemn the brand.

Eh.. the new Tiburon is quite nice ler. And I happen to like the Koup! It's underpowered but that makes modding it all the more interesting! :biggrin:
i'll wait and see.... at least 2 years.... after 2 years, got preve r3 maybe hohooho
My friend, nothing you say will offend me. We're just discussing so as long as you don't start talking about my mother / father then nothing will be offensive la.

The Gen2 is still in the "problematic P1" era with the exception of the Satria GTI. It only started to get better with the Persona and Satria Neo. If you have a look the Neo, the complaints people have are pretty small. Nothing serious to complain about and those who own the car love their cars until they get something bigger or more powerful. The same goes for Persona owners. That's indication of improvement imho.

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Wow Izso...

You change car like change clothes man... Haha... For me, I hate all protons except wira, perdana and the newer models like BLM and persona. Oh but I hate the Exora too. I feel that the older wiras has some decent build quality and this goes for the interior too.

---------- Post added at 12:10 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:09 PM ----------

Wow Izso...

You change car like change clothes man... Haha... For me, I hate all protons except wira, perdana and the newer models like BLM and persona. Oh but I hate the Exora too. I feel that the older wiras has some decent build quality and this goes for the interior too.

DeaconFrost

Oct 2, 2009
Eh.. the new Tiburon is quite nice ler. And I happen to like the Koup! It's underpowered but that makes modding it all the more interesting! :biggrin:
There you've said it man! The Koup is underpowered!

You know what other kereta that looks nice but underpowered?

Freaking kereta berhias.

I tell you these Koreans, after all their history of ship-building and car-making, they manage to become worse than us!

K_Takuya

Moderate Moderator
Sep 1, 2005
Limau bali,Ipoh

You got me right. Its not the matter of material. Its the design and creativity. While we have a nice aero exterior for the Preve, but the dashboard inside seems loosing the 'theme' almost completely. The centre console is almost all 90 degree in corner in al parts... and the meter panel... I dare to say electronic display panel will cost less when produce in bulk...

Maybe they will do it in Preve SE ? hehe

Wow Izso...

Erm.. Sigh.. must you make me say it? I'm probably much older than you (having seen your FB I know I am) so having all these cars over the period of several decades, nothing much to shout about la. And whats more I have quite a few drivers in my family so the number of cars I have isn't really that surprising not to mention on average there are 2 cars per family these days.

The older Wiras had decent build quality because they were just rebadged Lancers mah. Same car different make. But build quality erm...

There you've said it man! The Koup is underpowered!

You know what other kereta that looks nice but underpowered?

Freaking kereta berhias.

I tell you these Koreans, after all their history of ship-building and car-making, they manage to become worse than us!
You're a funny guy you know that? If I had an interest in moving floats then I'd take offense to what you said here! I mean, imagine the kind of "modifications" I could do to a float to make it super grand and all.

But I have no interest in floats. Koup is underpowered la.. but plonk in the Forte 2.0 engine and it'll fly. Can't blame Kia for the tiny engine, they have regulations on capacity like we do here. If it were based on CO2 and emissions instead (like in the US of A) then we'd see 8L torque monsters in KL loo...

Aiya.. you don't like, I like. I like, you don't like. There's nothing wrong with either preference. I'm just not a huge power buff like most of the ZTH-ians here. Afterall I only own a Wira 1.5 that does 15km/L on average and gets me from point A to B happily without issues. I don't need to be faster than the neighboring car mah. For me anyway.

DeaconFrost

Oct 2, 2009
Aiya.. you don't like, I like. I like, you don't like. There's nothing wrong with either preference. I'm just not a huge power buff like most of the ZTH-ians here. Afterall I only own a Wira 1.5 that does 15km/L on average and gets me from point A to B happily without issues. I don't need to be faster than the neighboring car mah. For me anyway.
Ahahaha bro, please, don't exhibit too much love for your Wira in front of us bro, it's already obscene man, spare us. I liked my Wira too, the same way as I like my plastic water pail that I use to wash my car: practical tools both of them, still haven't wrote a love letter to them. :rofl:

Talking with you is always interesting. We can diss and throw stones at each other but at the end of the day we still can go lim teh and forget about everything. Not that we've had our teh ais yet but heck, you're a cool dude. :grin: So I will indulge!

Money is a delicate thing in any corporation. Working for the worlds 2nd largest company has taught me that. The company I work for has a multi billion dollar bank account *cash* and yet they spend countless hours reducing cost where and whenever possible. Proton is no better shape than it was the previous years where they had enough profits to only line the shareholders (legal and hidden both) pockets. To wrecklessly spend several million more just to test a couple of cars isn't dollar sense la.

One thing Korean car manufacturers have is blind fierce loyalty from their people. They make way more money than Proton does (dollar for dollar) and even their slowest brand - Kia makes more than Proton. They have money to spend to send a small fleet of their cars to UK for NCAP testing. China... 0.1% of their population is already as big as M'sia. They have a massive market there and the people buy their cheapass cars too. Having said that though, how many Chinese car makers actually have NCAP certification? Not all. Only the bigger more popular ones. Another question, how many Chinese car manufacturers are there? More than 2 that's for sure. So the Chinese is a bad comparison in that respect.

If you could do it cheaply wouldn't you consider it? (MCAP)

I don't think Proton has marketed their cars as being "Global". They focus on the target market, like in Aust they push the Arena like crazy since those type of cars are pretty important in Aust. In UK it's all about "cheap and cheerful" (even though I believe there is no such thing), the UK cars are sold as one of the cheapest cars you can buy with reasonable safety features and all (considering it's a basic requirement to have all these safety features to be sold in the UK, these 'features' don't really count imho). They've never put themselves up against their more expensive (in the UK) but way better (IMHO) alternatives like the Golf or Polo or whatever.

There are loads of car manufacturers out there that don't have NCAP that have more respect that Proton does, like TVR for example. They have zero safety crash testing, have rubbish finishing in most of their cars, have almost no R&D but yet people revere the brand even though it's bankrupt. Why so? Personally I think it's because of the passion the buyers have for the brand. If Proton even had 30% of the passion people have for TVR, I think they'll do better already. But they had to ruin it with the introduction of a couple of crappy cars with shoddy questionable quality as well as questionable suppliers.

But I have to agree that NCAP standards are never stagnant, that's a pretty good point. But I'm quite sure if Waja was a 2-star NCAP car, it's not going to be any better than that :biggrin:
About the money part I can understand the corporate standpoint, but seriously, all they are doing is passing the cost (sending car to NCAP) to the rakyat of Malaysia (getting government to setup MyVAP). I guess in that case you can say Proton damn smart and the rakyat bodoh lah.

Again if they can't figure out how to manage the money to be able to afford to send cars to NCAP, then get someone who can. Market leaders were not always market leaders, some used to be underdogs e.g. Toyota when it entered the USA market. A more recent example, Hyundai in USA.

I think the Chinese is a good example because the Malaysian car industry started before the Chinese, and the only thing Chinese car makers have going for them is a larger market. Proton has better available technology (through Mitsubishi when it started, and Lotus later on) yet they still make cars that are below par. Then you argue, but Proton have a smaller market! True, thats why you're supposed to EXPORT the bloody car. Wait, nobody buying your car outside of Malaysia? Well, HELLO, because people don't buy rubbish!

TVR..ahh, yes, people do revere them, but as your said, they are bankrupt, and if you're dead nobody cares. Likewise, if Proton continues to make crap that they cannot export, they will be dead. And guess who's money will be used to bail it out?

Proton position Preve as a global car. Read the news bro
Malaysia's carmaker has global ambitions with Preve
Proton Prevé launched - Top News - New Straits Times

Proton's *first* global car. What? You figured you can't rip people of after 29 years of existence and now you want to export? So for the past 29 years, you been selling what? Crap cars of crap standard?

I think its a first global joke. It has an ass that even a mother would puke at. I think an art student from Lim Kok Weng can do a better design.

I think we make good points at we don't take things personal. That's why we enjoy our virtual sparring. :rofl:

Ahahaha bro, please, don't exhibit too much love for your Wira in front of us bro, it's already obscene man, spare us. I liked my Wira too, the same way as I like my plastic water pail that I use to wash my car: practical tools both of them, still haven't wrote a love letter to them. :rofl:
Wahahaha.. glad you caught that. But I mentioned it the way I did because no normal Wira can get 15km/L la. In fact I doubt any of the cars today can do that unless they have some new fandangled technological marvel thingy like dual VVTI or IDSI or whatever. Anyway, I am passionate about my Wira because I stripped her bare down to the bone and rebuilt her back screw by screw until what she is today. (I wanted to make some obscene female analogy but couldn't find the appropriate choice of words dammit) So yeah I love my Wira. But in no way am I pro-Proton.

About the money part I can understand the corporate standpoint, but seriously, all they are doing is passing the cost (sending car to NCAP) to the rakyat of Malaysia (getting government to setup MyVAP). I guess in that case you can say Proton damn smart and the rakyat bodoh lah.

Again if they can't figure out how to manage the money to be able to afford to send cars to NCAP, then get someone who can. Market leaders were not always market leaders, some used to be underdogs e.g. Toyota when it entered the USA market. A more recent example, Hyundai in USA.

I think the Chinese is a good example because the Malaysian car industry started before the Chinese, and the only thing Chinese car makers have going for them is a larger market. Proton has better available technology (through Mitsubishi when it started, and Lotus later on) yet they still make cars that are below par. Then you argue, but Proton have a smaller market! True, thats why you're supposed to EXPORT the bloody car. Wait, nobody buying your car outside of Malaysia? Well, HELLO, because people don't buy rubbish!

TVR..ahh, yes, people do revere them, but as your said, they are bankrupt, and if you're dead nobody cares. Likewise, if Proton continues to make crap that they cannot export, they will be dead. And guess who's money will be used to bail it out?

Proton position Preve as a global car. Read the news bro
Malaysia's carmaker has global ambitions with Preve
Proton Prevé launched - Top News - New Straits Times

Proton's *first* global car. What? You figured you can't rip people of after 29 years of existence and now you want to export? So for the past 29 years, you been selling what? Crap cars of crap standard?

I think its a first global joke. It has an ass that even a mother would puke at. I think an art student from Lim Kok Weng can do a better design.

I think we make good points at we don't take things personal. That's why we enjoy our virtual sparring. :rofl:
:biggrin: I have nothing to say to your points except for the China market part. I know for a fact that for a company to sell their brand in China, they are required to submit schematics of some sort to the govt before they are given the license to operate in China. Hence the ridiculous Chinese brand rip off copies of the BMW X5, VW Jetta and all those other cars which literally look exactly the same as their originals, except for some minor details.

And I still think beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I don't think the Pervert is an ugly car lor. A stupid name - yes, ugly no. But that's my personal opinion though.

Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, though I might argue that they are blind. :thefinger: In any case, Proton doesn't need to export to China, they can export to anywhere they want, and if their cars were any good people would buy it.

Go to an Audi showroom and ask the salesman how long is the wait period for a brand new Q5, how much is the deposit and how many orders they have waiting. You'd be surprised, I know I was. You know why? People are willing to pay and wait for things that are worth it.

If Proton cars were any good, and if they exported it, well, people would queue for it too.

I do acknowledge that their cars have pros, namely the handling, hell I think Savvy for a car of its shape and size have amazing handling, easily better than all cars in that class including imports. Other than that, I don't think the CPS engine is a pro, its 20 years late - oh hello VTEC and its only good for track - lousy power band on the low revs.

Features don't sell a car. What's the use of auto wipers if my windows are busted and I can't wind it up? Giving a 10 year warranty is not solving the problem, giving us a quality power window that won't break down in the first place, that's the solution.

fraz006

Apr 10, 2010
Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, though I might argue that they are blind. :thefinger: In any case, Proton doesn't need to export to China, they can export to anywhere they want, and if their cars were any good people would buy it.

Go to an Audi showroom and ask the salesman how long is the wait period for a brand new Q5, how much is the deposit and how many orders they have waiting. You'd be surprised, I know I was. You know why? People are willing to pay and wait for things that are worth it.

If Proton cars were any good, and if they exported it, well, people would queue for it too.

I do acknowledge that their cars have pros, namely the handling, hell I think Savvy for a car of its shape and size have amazing handling, easily better than all cars in that class including imports. Other than that, I don't think the CPS engine is a pro, its 20 years late - oh hello VTEC and its only good for track - lousy power band on the low revs.

Features don't sell a car. What's the use of auto wipers if my windows are busted and I can't wind it up? Giving a 10 year warranty is not solving the problem, giving us a quality power window that won't break down in the first place, that's the solution.
the problem with you is you presume that the proton quality will suck forever... i do think proton reliability has improved a lot and have faith that preve will leap big step again.

features dont sell a car? ok you are smart enough to use the most useless one for example, auto wiper. but hell yes, features do sell cars my brother, esc, ebd, multilink suspension, low pressure turbo. those who dont like to know about car that much, yes, will ignore features.

lousy power band on low revs? not that sucks, can live with it, really. that is purposely designed. google kristof of punchpowertrain.

i appreciate their effort, really, its not like :biggrin:converting toyota vios to toyota vios trd, friends.

i'm now driving wira se with 4g15p right? does anyone know how can i modify to it?i plan to look for a block to change..
like those 1.6 Vtec change to CRV block then become 2.0 Vtec liow..
does anyone knows?