Zero2Hero: BMW E34 520, sweet immaculate condition but....

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
My dad who drives a BMW E34 520 with a 525 engine bought the car in a very immaculate condition but the paint was hacked! Ive been wanted to detail it for some time but i know black is the worst colour to be detailed. As a beginner i took it as a lesson and training , as long i didnt burn the paint right? =p
SO i just took up the Front Bonnet as a test session for a black colour so that i could learn from my mistakes.

not forgetting the steps that KC taught me, just gives me a peace of mind that "I can be a detailer!"

My prescriptions for today would be
ONR No Rinse
Meg's detailing clay
OPT Hyper Compound
OPT polish
OPT wax
Meg's UQD
cut with makita's Wool pads as im still waiting for silk wool to arrive
more cutting with lake country ccs yellow cutting pad
lake country polishing pad
and waxed off with my fluffy microfibers

Here are some shots of the hood before anything was done...

dun be fooled by the imba reflection, its because i took these pictures after an ONR wash! so simple it gives a fake shine! easy like 123. wipe wipe wipe and wipe, 4 wipes complete 1 hood wash

it is actually.....

more...

more n more pain...

im sad for this bmw...more sad when its my dad's car

then i started claying the hood, half the hood only.. look at how much contaminants i picked up!

meg's clay is white so its easier to spot how dirty is the car...
look after i clayed and ONR wash again the reflection is just... WAO! but.....

with proper lightining.... it ....shes crying within...

and so i taped up and started with wool pad and OPT compound...
result of 50/50

it doesnt look very satisfying...
so i did another layer of cutting

seems better...
another 50/50 at the middle of the hood

finally i compounded the whole hood and this was the reflection i got..

not very clear tho.. but at least its better from the beginning.

Actually i freaked out when i saw all the buffing marks or holograms. i thought i fcuked up big time..
so i gave KC a call, relieved after his explanation i continue on!

oh btw.. this was wad freaked me out..

continuing to lake country yellow cutting pad with OPT compound
much better i feel but forgot to take pic due to dinner :biggrin:

now finishing off with polish with lake country white polishing pad
tadaaaa

gave another quick ONR wash and applied wax
after waxing i sprayed a layer Meg's UQD just for some finishing touches

at least i get to see my dad in the reflection and not his distorted looks lol

still i see some not perfect places but im too tired edi. i shall fix it during the weekends..

lampu dah pecah but nvm still got posh light..

reflecting my ceiling

i duno im gila or hardcore... but see the sky..

btw i ate dinner outside coz i couldnt stop detailing the baby...

btw.. before ONR wash it was like this but i didnt take the bonnet, this is the roof, same looks from zero to hero..

some shots of the 75% mirror finish, im not satisfied but im determined to do better next time, for now. i really need some rest. ive been detailing non-stop since saturday!

and :bawling: my 300watt halogen bulb burned! was checking for parts i need to touch up too long suddenly POP! burned =( i haz a sad, tmr go buy replacement bulb, surgical gloves and longer extention wire since saturday and sunday will be another detailing weekend...
and oh, no proper lighting cant show the finishing but still got good reflection...

extra goodies for rim lovers...limited edition BBS

Regards,
Josh

p/s: Thanks KC for the quick tip, calmed me down phew~~~

muyo

Jan 27, 2010
hi josh! remember me? im mun from the detailing clinic we went last saturday. fantastic work there! hope to see you post more here! cheers!:proud:

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
hi mun! thanks for the tip for the promotion to get the halogen, but unfortunately i over use it and burn the bulb =( tmr gonna get it replaced and rest detailing till the end of the week. ive been detailing since saturday on the clinic, sunday the mazda, then monday my dad's e34, maybe i'll go crazy tmr and detail the vios lolxx

muyo

Jan 27, 2010
hi mun! thanks for the tip for the promotion to get the halogen, but unfortunately i over use it and burn the bulb =( tmr gonna get it replaced and rest detailing till the end of the week. ive been detailing since saturday on the clinic, sunday the mazda, then monday my dad's e34, maybe i'll go crazy tmr and detail the vios lolxx
you're welcome bro. buy 2 spares bulb keep it just in case it will burnt again. dont over do man, you need alot concentration on detailing, see if im free to go ipoh meet you up. my girlfriend lives there only, maybe can detail together. cheers!:proud:

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
sure sure, pm me ur number i miss call u =D

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
thedetailers.blogspot.com
As a beginner i took it as a lesson and training
Black

not forgetting the steps that KC taught me, just gives me a peace of mind that "I can be a detailer!"

My prescriptions for today would be
ONR No Rinse

OPT Hyper Compound
OPT polish
OPT wax

Here are some shots of the hood before anything was done...

dun be fooled by the imba reflection, its because i took these pictures after an ONR wash! so simple

more n more pain...

and so i taped up and started with wool pad and OPT compound...
result
another 50/50 at the middle of the hood

Actually i freaked out when i saw all the buffing marks or holograms.
so i gave KC a call, relieved after his explanation i continue on!

now finishing off with polish with lake country white polishing pad
tadaaaa

lampu dah pecah but nvm still got posh light..

reflecting my ceiling

p/s: Thanks KC for the quick tip, calmed me down phew~~~
another wow wow wow wow

from

to here

ta da

a pictures describe a thousand words :love::love:

Thank you for giving yourself a chance & stepping forward to take this challenge

Keep it up great detailer on the way - diamond in the rough is coming :proud:

Cheers

Mum, pls join the force with him when u r up in kinta:driver::driver:

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
haha it was a really scary experience, but at least im a step further in understanding black cars. i was really scared when i saw the holograms, tot i really screwed up. but i persisted and continue. mana tau. result was simply amazing. but im still not very satisfied. still some isolate scratches here and there. will try to fix them soon. needa rest for now. i think im over doing it. lol:stupid:

muyo

Jan 27, 2010
i will kc :proud::proud: will meet up with him around next week cause im going down to ipoh. you live nearby jusco kinta city ar josh?

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
can say around that area la mun, pm me ur number, i miss call u, exchange contacts