The FIA Formula E Championship marks a new era in motorsports as it features single-seater electric racers racing in street circuits, and Malaysia is honoured to be chosen to host one of the 10 races taking place next year. Launched by the Honourable Dato’ Sri Mohd Najib Tun Razak in December 18 2013, the FIA Formula E Championship was officially launched and witnessed the signing of the City Agreement between Tan Sri Aseh bin Haji Che Mat for the city of Putrajaya and Dato’ Sri Johann Young.


Held at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre, the event was hosted by Dato’ Sri Johann Young, a founding partner and investor of series promoters Formula E Holdings and Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E. The attending media and guests who attended got to witness the new Spark-Renault SRT_01E Formula E car brought in for display, which is the second time this fully-electric race car has been shown in Asia.


“I am delighted to be here today for the official launch of the 2014 FIA Formula race in Putrajaya and to witness the unveiling of this remarkable car. I believe this event will be a very significant event, not only from the perspective of this race exclusively for electric cars, but for Malaysia it is a testimony of your confidence in us hosting this momentous event”, said the Malaysian Prime Minister.

“Malaysia is a great tourism destination and one of the major players in the world of eco-tourism. And given Malaysia’s foray into car manufacturing, and experience in the logistics of motor sports, the country is indeed an ideal choice”, said Alejandro Agag.

“Of course we are delighted to have the full commitment of the Government of Malaysia and the local authorities for their support and for welcoming us here today”, he added.


The FIA Formula E Championship uses a single-seater electric race car capable of reaching speeds in excess of 225 km/h. The series will be competing in the streets of 10 cities around the world which includes Putrajaya, Los Angeles and London. Putrajaya will be hosting the second race in the 2014/2015 calendar on October 18, 2014, after the opening round in Shanghai. We can’t wait for the race to take place as you do not see formula cars zooming past the government administrative buildings everyday, let alone one that is purely powered by electric!