FeaturesSepang International CircuitTime AttackTIMETOATTACK

JDMs at the TIMETOATTACK 2012 Round 2 (Part 2) + JDM Results!

Honda and Nissan has since been ticked off the checklist in part 1, time to get back on track and pay a visit to the other Japanese contenders that had made their long journey to Sepang International Circuit for our 2012 TIMETOATTACK Round 2. Despite the downpour that gloomed the beginning of the day, the cars kept on gushing in like there was no tomorrow, which also included a large score of both Mitsubishis and Subarus.

The Lancer Evolution line had spanned up to ten generations of pure AWD madness in the course of 20 years, and each of them has a charm of their own that differentiates one from another. Even so, all of them have this shark-like front looks that strike fear to those being closed in from the rear-view mirror.

The seventh generation and above seems to be a favorite choice among track enthusiasts, with quite a number of them making an appearance last Sunday. Despite that, the older generations are still a potent weapon as demonstrated by Round 1’s fastest time holder at 2:26.331; an Evo VI nicknamed “Evonne”.

But giving the Evo a hard time, whether on tarmac or loose gravel is its arch nemesis, the Subaru Impreza. With the unmistakable Boxer burble as one of its trademarks, the Impreza also has its edge in track driving and could post a very fast time around Sepang.

In the last round, Tung Wei’s STi RAR had almost closed in to Ken Yap’s time with his 2:27.260, which is only a mere second behind! Did he manage to close the gap and actually make it onto the top spot? Be patient as we will get into that in just a few.

Although we didnt see as many contenders from the Toyota scene in TIMETOATTACK, except for the usual suspects, we do have a special guest in this round. A lot of people had been waiting for this car to actually hit the streets, and the same excitement goes for it to tear it down the track.

With its launch in Malaysia taking place not too long ago, we actually had a Toyota 86 TRD participating in the time attack mayhem, along with a manual 86 being tamed gracefully by the Prince of Drift Tengku Djan around a series of cones, and a couple of AE86s. Could this be a positive sign that we will be seeing more of them participating in any track events in the near future?

As a special way to end this post this time, we present to you the best times of the JDMs that had participated in our TIMETOATTACK Round 2; from the NA-FR going all the way to the Time Attack Machines. And being the nature of motorsports, there will always be someone stronger and faster than the previous, which in this round saw Arthur Lo from Singapore grabbing the Fastest Time in his Nissan GT-R at a 2:26.015! Congratulations to him and his team at Ascendant Motorsport!


  1. Ken Yap – Mitsubishi Evo 6 – 2:30.856
  2. Desmond Yee – Honda Civic FD2R – 2:31.355
  3. Paul Wong – Nissan Silvia S15 – 2:33.451


  1. Akina Teo – Honda Civic EK9 – 2:28.291
  2. Ong Chee Yong – Honda Civic EK9 – 2:34.091
  3. Zoggee Hwang – Toyota Levin AE101 – 2:47.950


  1. Arthur Lo – Nissan GT-R – 2:26.015
  2. Ken Ji Ling – Nissan GT-R – 2:27.434
  3. Raymond Liew – Nissan GT-R – 2:28.050


  1. Hsiao Tung Wei – Subaru Impreza WRX STi RAR – 2:28.922
  2. Desmond Tan – Mitsubishi Evo 9 – 2:30.032
  3. Tan Jian Wen – Mitsubishi Evo 10 – 2:35.602


  1. Ho Wil Liam – Nissan Silvia S15 – 2:32.870
  2. Jason Kong – Nissan Silvia S15 – 2:34.473
  3. Akina Teo – Nissan Skyline ECR33 – 2:35.956


  1. YS Lim – Nissan 350Z – 2:35.944
  2. Torres Christian George – Nissan 350Z – 2:36.474
  3. Eugene Lee – Lotus Elise – 2:37.244


  1. Lai Wee Sing – Honda Civic FD2R – 2:28.091
  2. Chris Tan – Honda Civic FD2R – 2:29.367
  3. Desmond Yee – Honda Civic FD2R – 2:32.050


  1. Ee Yoong Cherng – Nissan Skyline BCNR33 – 2:35.217
  2. Nelson Wong – Mitsubishi Evo 10 – 2:38.458
  3. Ivan Tan – Mitsubishi Evo 7 – 2:38.556


  1. Akina Teo – Nissan Skyline ECR33 – 2:35.956
  2. Sebastian Lee – Nissan 180SX – 2:36.753
  3. Zen Low – Lotus Exige – 2:38.687


  1. Steve Toh – Honda S2000 – 2:41.219
  2. William Chong – Toyota Altezza – 2:45.995
  3. Kenny Lee – Toyota 86 – 2:47.475


  1. Lai Wee Sing – Honda Civic FD2R – 2:31.839
  2. Mark Darwin – Honda Integra DC5 – 2:36.376
  3. William Chong – Honda Civic EK9 – 2:36.647


  1. Eric Yong – Honda CR-Z Hybrid – 2:56.103
  2. Gareth Tan – Honda CR-Z Hybrid – 2:56.680
  3. Lee Cooper – Honda CR-Z Hybrid – 3:00.943