HondaNewsSubaruVideos

Hit-And-Run Rider Meets His Match

Being at the wrong place at the wrong time might be an understatement for this situation; this is more like “Being at the wrong place, at the wrong time, against the wrong guy riding the right machine”. And for the guy on the Honda CBR, this is definitely not one of his lucky days.

A member of the North American Subaru Impreza Club was cruising idly at the windy roads of the lush green forest in Hyalite, Montana with some friends onboard. The road was quiet and virtually no traffic (except for the bike in front), until the peace was interrupted by a speeding CBR that passed their vehicle from the left, clipping the car’s front bumper.

Realizing that the CBR was building up speed to flee from the collision, the owner in his 2006 Subaru WRX STi mashed the pedal to the metal and gave chase to the fleeing superbike. And the ride was not the only sign of bad luck for the biker, as the STi’s owner is an experienced driver and knows the route like the back of his hand. And the best part of this chase is that it is all being recorded by the GoPro Hero2 mounted on the Subaru’s front bumper via a custom hook mount.

Despite the attempt to outrun the chasing STi, the biker could not shake off the STi from its rear for even a second. Realizing that running was virtually useless, the biker finally gave up and faced the music that he was in, letting go a “Dude, I so did not mean to do that!” as his first words to the STi owner. Luckily the damage was not that bad (the biker knocked off a carbon fiber accent from the front bumper) and the biker was made to find back the missing piece.

So, would this kind of scenario convince you on having an on-board recording device?

Sources:

http://jalopnik.com/5921231/watch-a-hit+and+run-rider-get-chased-and-forced-to-submit

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2371594

Migrated comments from old platform:

Old 06-29-2012, 08:43 PM
200bhp Stage II Member
these video makes me like looking the 3d movie….
Old 06-30-2012, 12:25 AM
AWD on a winding road,..hahaha…
The Following User Likes ACQ2305 For This Useful Post:
pandaB (07-02-2012)
Old 06-30-2012, 03:33 AM
Fact – 4 wheels are better than 2. Fact – Car is better than bike. Car – 1, Bike – 0
The Following 4 Users Liked stormlcc For This Useful Post:
gonth (07-01-2012), hachiroku80 (07-02-2012), highboost (06-30-2012), sinatra_shinoda (07-02-2012)
Old 06-30-2012, 09:41 AM
200bhp Stage II Member
Cool…:)
Old 06-30-2012, 10:36 AM
1000bhp Senior
hahaha… i caught u on video dude.. but really.. i think the biker is kina sux in skill if u ask me.
The Following 2 Users Liked alantjw For This Useful Post:
Izso (07-01-2012), v1ctorong (07-05-2012)
Old 06-30-2012, 11:00 AM
50bhp Junior
Quote:
Originally Posted by stormlcc View Post
Fact – 4 wheels are better than 2. Fact – Car is better than bike. Car – 1, Bike – 0

cornering speed yes, but for acceleration & top speed, it will be much easy to be done on big bike than on car

The Following User Likes neohadri For This Useful Post:
HBS (07-04-2012)
Old 06-30-2012, 02:28 PM
haha.. the raider skill not gud enuff.. 2wheels more faster than 4 wheels on the road.. not on track.. indeed 4wheels are more faster when turning..
The Following 3 Users Liked aHLengChai For This Useful Post:
gonth (07-01-2012), HBS (07-04-2012), sinatra_shinoda (07-02-2012)
Old 06-30-2012, 04:42 PM
200bhp Stage II Member
the rider didn’t lean low enough..novice rider..or else, the subaru owner will find hard time to chase him..
Old 06-30-2012, 10:20 PM
250bhp Stage II Member
Obviously the biker is a noob. From the fact that he managed to scrape the only on the whole road…..
Old 07-01-2012, 12:46 AM
I got a Gopro for sale. Anyone? 🙂
Old 07-01-2012, 03:12 AM
I really hate riders trying to flee and those who got away with it after hitting my car no matter how minor the damage.
From my front bumpers, to hitting the side mirrors. My last encounter was one who broke my granador sider mirror!!!
The Following 3 Users Liked chc1980 For This Useful Post:
gonth (07-01-2012), sinatra_shinoda (07-02-2012), Tom (07-02-2012)
Old 07-01-2012, 08:54 AM
sumtimes.. “we” driver.. have to try riding a bike.. then “we” will know feel to be a rider. hehe
The Following 7 Users Liked aHLengChai For This Useful Post:
crazykatak (07-02-2012), dwen (07-10-2012), humongousgravy (07-09-2012), sinatra_shinoda (07-02-2012), Tom (07-02-2012), WPQ800 (07-06-2012), Zaid Zainuddin (07-01-2012)
Old 07-01-2012, 12:43 PM
during traffic jam, the rider will zig-zag through all the cars, and bump in to one or more cars….some will say sorry but most just ignore and speed off….
The Following User Likes chc1980 For This Useful Post:
sinatra_shinoda (07-02-2012)
Old 07-01-2012, 10:58 PM
From Facebook
Sometimes i dont like to be a 2 wheeler coz of this…you’re small and getting even smaller from the others…
if an evil biker hit n run a car,the biker always fleeing like a hell…but if an evil driver hit n run a biker,he/she doesnt need to worry about
coz the biker already down n maybe monster truck behind solved the driver’s prob…
bikers like this would make a negative perception upon motorcyclist…
but drivers also didnt think about bikers on the road as well…

Last edited by Ayabah Bonzer; 07-01-2012 at 11:05 PM..

The Following User Disliked Ayabah Bonzer For This Un-useful Post:
dwen (07-10-2012)

Old 07-01-2012, 11:44 PM

the last word of your statement i agreed!

me also commute everyday to office with my scooterama.. haha

(0)
Old 07-02-2012, 12:16 AM
5bhp Stock
I thought the chase scene is right from the first second and said is that really fast? Then that bike hit and run and HONK! Haha. Btw, I love that boosting sound. And I reckon one of the thing said by the Subaru owner is “Thanks dude! Now I got an awesome video on Youtube.” Haha.
Old 07-02-2012, 12:29 AM
Why is it everyday I see bikers not using the lanes for motorbikes, and they are riding in the middle of the highway?
I see there isn’t any roadworks or damage on the motor lanes. Can someone answer?
Old 07-02-2012, 01:28 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by chc1980 View Post
Why is it everyday I see bikers not using the lanes for motorbikes, and they are riding in the middle of the highway?
I see there isn’t any roadworks or damage on the motor lanes. Can someone answer?

motorcycle lanes were never safe dude..
try riding a moped on federal highway from klang to KL. even in daylight, you may never know whats behind that bush..or that tunnel.

i once saw a bike plunged into a tunnel that was flooded near jalan 222..hillarious..but pity that fellar la..

Old 07-02-2012, 02:16 AM
From Facebook

cbr no skill, try chasing down ghostrider

if not he can vs ghostrider scubby too

The Following User Likes Ah Li For This Useful Post:
HBS (07-04-2012)
Old 07-02-2012, 11:24 AM
1000bhp Senior
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazykatak View Post
motorcycle lanes were never safe dude..
try riding a moped on federal highway from klang to KL. even in daylight, you may never know whats behind that bush..or that tunnel.i once saw a bike plunged into a tunnel that was flooded near jalan 222..hillarious..but pity that fellar la..

yup agreed… most of my frens say they rather kena saman on highway then using the motor lanes. because its dangerous.

Old 07-02-2012, 01:02 PM
Quote:
I really hate riders trying to flee and those who got away with it after hitting my car no matter how minor the damage.
From my front bumpers, to hitting the side mirrors. My last encounter was one who broke my granador sider mirror!!!

in Malaysia they are not riders, they are rempits. note of the difference.

The Following User Likes ixeo For This Useful Post:
Ah Li (07-02-2012)
Old 07-02-2012, 01:10 PM
Quote:

try ride on that lane bro.!! then u will know.. me also have bigbike besides of scooter. seldom use that lane.. the road surface very very sucks.. after 75kmh.. never feel like ride a bike tapi macam naik kuda..ahaha..

bigbike actually not suit with motorcycles lane.. very dangerous.. tight corners.. sempit.. bouncing road.. etcetc.. + damage your bike every day or month.. bigbike + small bike parts not always cheap

———- Post added at 01:10 PM ———- 6 hour anti-bump limit – Previous post was at 01:05 PM ———-

Quote:
Originally Posted by ixeo View Post
in Malaysia they are not riders, they are rempits. note of the difference.

not all of them.. takkan pakcik also rempits.. haha..

sum of them trying to solve our country problem (traffic jam).. by using bikes to go to work.. we should appreciate them.. cuz hot or rain beside (robbery,sabotage,etcetc).. they have to face it.. not like 4wheels driver.. got ekon.. hujan have bumbung.. etcetc advantage..

The Following 3 Users Liked aHLengChai For This Useful Post:
basikal_pancit (07-02-2012), DonShah Jbot (07-05-2012), neohadri (07-05-2012)
Old 07-02-2012, 03:45 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by aHLengChai View Post

sum of them trying to solve our country problem (traffic jam).. by using bikes to go to work.. we should appreciate them.. cuz hot or rain beside (robbery,sabotage,etcetc).. they have to face it.. not like 4wheels driver.. got ekon.. hujan have bumbung.. etcetc advantage..

ah leng chai, i was referring to those motorcyclist described by chc1980, the hit and run ones as rempit.

I am more than happy to share the road with pakciks and motorcyclist but I will gladly run over a rempit if they give me a valid reason (e.g. attack my hovercraft — i don’t have car).

but a lot of rempits lah, especially on Federal Highway, got motorcycle lane and by law motorcyclist not supposed to be on the highway. These buggers trying to get themselves killed.

Last edited by ixeo; 07-02-2012 at 03:54 PM..

The Following User Likes ixeo For This Useful Post:
aHLengChai (07-02-2012)
Old 07-02-2012, 05:13 PM

i also wondered why the motoscyclist didnt use the lane provided until i day i’ve decided that i need to ride everyday to work due to i cant afford the tol and car park anymore (working in KL, u know lah)

And yes, after a while, i also use the 1st lane, not the most right one lah when i’m on highway. the emergency lane is dangerous with lots of unwanted stuff that people throw, tayar lori pecah , even besi and etc… the road surface also very dangerous to our small tire – we tend to easily shake off or even fall down.

Sometime when i cruise on the lane, there will be car stopping or even cutting through the emergency lane where we need to emergency brake and risk our live.

after a while, i choose to use the furst lane whenever i could (not during peak hour lah) for my own safety.

Old 07-02-2012, 11:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by basikal_pancit View Post

i also wondered why the motoscyclist didnt use the lane provided until i day i’ve decided that i need to ride everyday to work due to i cant afford the tol and car park anymore (working in KL, u know lah)

And yes, after a while, i also use the 1st lane, not the most right one lah when i’m on highway. the emergency lane is dangerous with lots of unwanted stuff that people throw, tayar lori pecah , even besi and etc… the road surface also very dangerous to our small tire – we tend to easily shake off or even fall down.

Sometime when i cruise on the lane, there will be car stopping or even cutting through the emergency lane where we need to emergency brake and risk our live.

after a while, i choose to use the furst lane whenever i could (not during peak hour lah) for my own safety.

why don’t want to use motorcycle lane?

Old 07-02-2012, 11:41 PM

respect for the Scooby’s driver

‘Get on ur knees boy’… very Mafia style…

Old 07-04-2012, 10:18 PM
150bhp Tuned Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by stormlcc View Post

Really?Then why it was boring as hell,& need a bitch of dollar to make it competitive as the small dollar bike & yeah,the bike had more fun than car……taking the life for granted like saying you never had any accident with car & avoid biking & other dangerous will regret their decision in their old time because you never be able to enjoy the bike to its fullest as other xtreme activity.

Bike rules!Car are so slow they are biatch to be driven for daily workhorse(I got few sportscar now,& about to get my NSX 6spd tranny….but still I rarely driven it because other than great looking car & sound very wild when vtec kicked in,in the end it was BORING AS HELL,not as DANGEROUS & ADVENTUROUS as riding a bike…..& always TRAPPED IN TRAFFIC JAM like TRAFFIC JAM ENTHUSIAST I seeing everyday in Ampang….That alone put the car scored back to square one,& yeah it is BORINGG…..)

———- Post added at 09:51 PM ———- 6 hour anti-bump limit – Previous post was at 09:46 PM ———-

Quote:
Originally Posted by aHLengChai View Post

try ride on that lane bro.!! then u will know.. me also have bigbike besides of scooter. seldom use that lane.. the road surface very very sucks.. after 75kmh.. never feel like ride a bike tapi macam naik kuda..ahaha..

bigbike actually not suit with motorcycles lane.. very dangerous.. tight corners.. sempit.. bouncing road.. etcetc.. + damage your bike every day or month.. bigbike + small bike parts not always cheap

———- Post added at 01:10 PM ———- 6 hour anti-bump limit – Previous post was at 01:05 PM ———-

Me also didnt always ride on motorcycle lane since it not really great for any kind of bike due to the bad maintainces & managment,always dark without brighly litted light for most of the time,dangerous sharp turn & the overall design simply not bike-friendly,especially the super-close,tight & sharp rail-guard divider between main highway & bike lane.

So I not really blame them of taking the main road as with the car….atleast they didnt produce any stupid traffic jam due to oversized vehicle nowadays that as fat as united states of fatland,& with eagerly ah beng that love to drive a car with all those heavy amenities but going all alone(4-7 seater car with only 1 driver…no wonder the congestion is getting uncontrollable each day!)

———- Post added at 10:11 PM ———- 6 hour anti-bump limit – Previous post was at 09:51 PM ———-

Quote:

First hand experience tell different story bro…..& blame those uncle “semi value” for those shitty bike lane design that look almost incomplete when it supposed to be a complete bike lane.

The only good bike lane so far in KL is Shah Alam area.Wide enough for most of the bike class to use it,good run of area,most of the section got rest area & parking for rain-concerned biker,great lightning & road sign board & less unintentioned tight corner.

———- Post added at 10:18 PM ———- 6 hour anti-bump limit – Previous post was at 10:11 PM ———-

Quote:
Originally Posted by neohadri View Post
cornering speed yes, but for acceleration & top speed, it will be much easy to be done on big bike than on car

Yup….my GSX-R750 K9 on stock condition would easily outperformed my NSX with mild mod (91′ NSX with Downforce Intake,HKS open pod filter,SOS throttle body kit,Top speed header,GT-Xtreme Ti exhaust system,test pipe,CR-Kai 17/18 lightweight forged wheels)

0-240 Km/h on bike are wayyy too frantic than the car!Always love the action of “quick-snapping” the throttle….can see the speedo skipping the number like maniac,before I put a lil bit of brake & as quick as it go….it slowed down at very great pace.Always love the feel of it.

Old 07-05-2012, 11:41 AM
250bhp Stage II Member
Very cool! And yes, i hate bikers who accidentally knock people’s cars and just drive away…
Old 07-09-2012, 02:27 PM
100bhp Junior
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk View Post
So, would this kind of scenario convince you on having an on-board recording device?

I think this is the kind of scenario that would convince me to buy a Impreza STi;)

Old 07-11-2012, 11:00 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixeo View Post
why don’t want to use motorcycle lane?

not all highway come with motorcycle lane.

i’m using nkve for daily travelling and npe which dont have motorcycle lane

and as for federal highway, u will likely to get accident using the lane that using the main road, believe me. nail, hole and oil is common there.

there are also few cases on kesas motorcycle lane where the robber will block ur way using their motor and when u stop, bye bye. some of them will just kick the motorcycle from yor side while u are taking slow corner especially in the tunnel.

Last edited by basikal_pancit; 07-11-2012 at 11:03 AM..

(0)