BridgestoneFeaturesManufacturerNewsToyotaTyres

REVIEW: Toyota Avanza (2012)

Re-launched in January 2012, the Toyota Avanza has been with us for a significant time now (Since 2004) and has been the chosen vehicle for most Malaysians, which made it the best selling non-national car from 2005-2007 and has sold in excess of  140,000 units since the end of 2011.

The Japanese brand has been looked upon by most Malaysians as a one that stands for reliability, which has been and still is one of the strongest selling points for any Toyota vehicles out on our roads today.

For some who aren’t exactly earning the big bucks (yet), they really don’t need the hassle of correcting a host of reliability issues – of course all manufacturers are never free of such issues. Ideally, people would prefer something that could “take a licking and keep on ticking”.

So the 2004 Avanza has been on the beat for many years now, and while many would have had hopes that its good-looks (then) would be ever-green, sadly it hasn’t become the case. Having lost much of its youth, it’s now deemed aged and boring.

Now after 8 years, it’s back with zest some modern touches and best of all, it looks arguably sporty – about time really.

UMW Toyota has four variants of the 2012 Avanza, three trims for the 1.5L variant, 2 petrol engine displacements and a partridge in a pear tree.

First off, the most affordable of the 2012 Avanza comes with 1.3L K3-VE 4-potter that’s only available with a 5-speed Manual Transmission and will set you back about  63,864 (OTR + Ins)

However, the 1.5L Avanza now comes in 1.5E, 1.5G and 1.5S guises and are priced respectively from RM71,864, RM76,590 to RM78,864 (all prices quoted are OTR + Ins) and UMW Toyota graciously loaned us the range topper 1.5S.

Under the hood of the 1.5S lies a 1.5L 3SZ-VE engine, instead of what many initially thought was the 1NZ-FE found in the Vios, which provides about 105bhp at 6,000rpm and 136Nm of torque at 4,400rpm. Pretty decent for a vehicle that’s now 15kg lighter (Current Kerb weight: 1,105kg). All that weight loss was due to the use of high-tensile steel for a more rigid chassis. Even the 8-spoke 15” alloy rims got a 10% weight reduction.

The new Avanza is still using a 4-speed auto, which is still smooth as you progress up and down gears, but just like ‘pappy’ used to say: “…if it ain’t broke don’t fix it”. It has been arguably reliable in the past and so long as it gets the job done; right?

The Avanza may not have had much praises to go with its current looks, but at least it’s gotten an upgrade in that department. Its new panels do present a more muscular outlook, especially up front.

The 1.5S did well to instil a sportier air about itself with an updated grill, bumpers, side-skirts and grip door-handles.

On the inside, there’s nothing fancy to speak of, just a whole load of usable space that will help seat another 6 more occupants (less if you’ve got occupants built like ‘buffaloes’).

The interior has been touched-up with some newly designed resin and a double-DIN head unit that has USB capabilities. Sadly it doesn’t seem to recognise the iPhone 4S.

One thing you’ll begin to notice is a plethora of cup holders located all around the cabin and though we thought it was a little overkill, having more is still better than less. But, if you’ve got kids and want them to stay well hydrated throughout a long journey, it then becomes justified.

The seating position is rather tall and upright, putting you in that look-out position, but thankfully, head room is still aplenty and is relatively comfortable. But, with a total of 7 on board, you’ve sadly gotten yourself a boot space that lacks alot of depth.

The gated shifter does add a taste of luxury for certain owners, and with the inclusion of integrated audio controls on the steering, it helps to complete the list of necessities demanded today.

Though the Avanza gets an updated 1.5L 3SZ-VE 4-potter, engine noise intrusion into the cabin is somewhat extensive. But luckily you’ve got access to your tunes, so just crank up the volume and you’re pretty much remedied.

Handling on the 1.5S feels surprisingly better. Suspension is stiffer up front and the rear feels a little more planted than the previous 2004’s washy feel. It’s still highly-prone to under-steer, but honestly it was never meant to break any speed records, with a top speed of about 170kmh at 5,000rpm.

All in, if you’re big on family outings and you’ve got a bit more on budget, this would probably be a good choice to explore.

COMMENTS FROM PREVIOUS PLATFORM:

Old 04-08-2012, 07:31 PM   #2
250bhp Stage II Member
Liked: 25 / 16 Posts
Default Re: REVIEW: Toyota Avanza (2012)

To be very honest..
I find it very hard to like the car..
There’s nothing innovative at all..
It’s basically what they came out many cow years ago..
Only with a new skin..
paohyean is offline Report Post IP Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Likes Dislike Share with Facebook

(0)
The Following 2 Users Liked paohyean For This Useful Post:
mick87 (04-13-2012), Veloc (04-12-2012)
Old 04-08-2012, 09:08 PM   #3
200bhp Stage II Member
Liked: 12 / 10 Posts
Send a message via MSN to chiewwl Send a message via Yahoo to chiewwl

‘old’ ride, ‘new’ skin….nuthin fancy…much…
chiewwl is offline Report Post IP Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Likes Dislike Share with Facebook

(0)
Old 04-08-2012, 11:17 PM   #4
‘(00) | Contributor
Liked: 1,882 / 485 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by paohyean View Post
To be very honest..
I find it very hard to like the car..
There’s nothing innovative at all..
It’s basically what they came out many cow years ago..
Only with a new skin..

Yeah well, name me a MPV in that price range that’s attractive and “want-able”. The Avanza is just a car that does the job, it’s not a Caldina which incidentally has rubbish space inside but looks fan-f*ck-ing-tastic.

Pros and cons I guess!

Izso is offline Report Post IP Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Likes Dislike Share with Facebook

(0)
The Following User Likes Izso For This Useful Post:
ehdrian (04-10-2012)
Old 04-08-2012, 11:37 PM   #5
600bhp Member
Liked: 109 / 80 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Izso View Post
Yeah well, name me a MPV in that price range that’s attractive and “want-able”. The Avanza is just a car that does the job, it’s not a Caldina which incidentally has rubbish space inside but looks fan-f*ck-ing-tastic.

Pros and cons I guess!

True, but I still hands down prefer Nissan Grand Livina 1.6 than Avanza even though it’s more expensive. The handling, ride & comfort are much better, like night and day IMHO. It also has a bit more space.
If going for cheaper ones, might as well go with Alza, at least got the same Tyt engine and the ride & handling are also still better than Avanza.

6UE5t is offline Report Post IP Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Likes Dislike Share with Facebook

(0)
The Following User Likes 6UE5t For This Useful Post:
mick87 (04-13-2012)
Old 04-08-2012, 11:39 PM   #6
5bhp Stock
Liked: 0 / 0 Posts

Quote:

Pros and cons I guess!

Exora cfe???

the_devil is offline Report Post IP Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Likes Dislike Share with Facebook

(0)
Old 04-09-2012, 09:12 AM   #7
‘(00) | Contributor

Uh.. you think the Exora is “attractive” meh? I don’t lor.
Izso is offline Report Post IP Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Likes Dislike Share with Facebook

(0)
Old 04-09-2012, 04:39 PM   #8
From Facebook

Nothing to fuss about here
I thought it was bang by someone when I saw a unit on the road the other day but after some close observation it was just the body line….
It don’t even have technology to save fuel
Tan Kin Sung is offline Report Post IP Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Likes Dislike Share with Facebook

(0)
The Following User Disliked Tan Kin Sung For This Un-useful Post:
xMika (04-20-2012)
Old 04-09-2012, 06:38 PM   #9
ModMod
Liked: 2,500 / 1,047 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to TitanRev

Honestly, this car is really not appealing even with the new styling. Just my 2 cent
TitanRev is offline Report Post IP Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Likes Dislike Share with Facebook

(0)
The Following User Likes TitanRev For This Useful Post:
Veloc (04-12-2012)
Old 04-09-2012, 07:23 PM   #10
Liked: 12 / 7 Posts

Quote:

at least it’s more attractive than this piece of shxt

stormlcc is offline Report Post IP Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Likes Dislike Share with Facebook

(0)
The Following User Likes stormlcc For This Useful Post:
Izso (04-09-2012)
Old 04-09-2012, 07:30 PM   #11
Liked: 230 / 117 Posts

Look wise isn’t much. practicality pretty much OK. OK for family guy.
The price is pretty high, knowing the fact it has the “T” badge. Typical malaysia mentality.
ken yeang is offline Report Post IP Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Likes Dislike Share with Facebook

(0)
Old 04-09-2012, 10:41 PM   #12
5bhp Stock

Quote:

Well, different ppl different taste. Eg some might like mitsu than a scooby, and vice versa. So u can really never satisfy both parties… Cheers

the_devil is offline Report Post IP Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Likes Dislike Share with Facebook

(0)
Old 04-10-2012, 07:42 AM   #13
‘(00) | Contributor

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_devil View Post
Well, different ppl different taste. Eg some might like mitsu than a scooby, and vice versa. So u can really never satisfy both parties… Cheers

True!

But for the record, Mitsu, Scooby, I heart both!

(0)
Old 04-12-2012, 04:57 PM   #14
1bhp Stock

Quote:

AVANZA looks like shit! I don’t recommend it to anyone including you.

krakmxer is offline Report Post IP Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Likes Dislike Share with Facebook

(0)
Old 04-13-2012, 11:19 PM   #15
800bhp Member
Liked: 99 / 64 Posts

Alza look better than this, got all the similar accersories only difference is the “T” badge and a higher price tax.
mick87 is offline Report Post IP Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Likes Dislike Share with Facebook

(0)

A
  • A
    armandd
  • Aug 8, 2012
For RM70k plus, you get 4-speed autobox, engine (1.5l) more ancient than vios'... I simply don't understand why on earth people still want to buy this.
A
waste of money... rather buy the old one... just new face lift and new interior... using 5 yr old engine... :s
A