InternationalMalaysiaManufacturerNewsProton

Govt to Boost Proton with RM120mil for a Hybrid Model

RM 120 million. That is the amount that the government is ready to allocate for national automaker Proton in order to carry out the research and development for a new hybrid model, which is in their plan to get in commercialized by mid-2014.

“The government allocated RM 100 million this year for Proton to develop a hybrid and electric model and will consider an allocation of RM 120 million next year for research and development”, said International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed. He also added that the allocation was both justified and relevant as the automotive industry is now gaining momentum towards a positive direction.

In developing this hybrid model, Proton is collaborating with Frazer-Nash Research; a UK-based engineering consultancy specialized in electric and hybrid vehicle technology since four years ago. With this collaboration, Proton now has 40 professionals and 30 semi-professional working in the field.

Among the success of the partnership between these two entities was notably with the Proton Exora Range-Extended Electric Vehicle’s (REEV) accomplishment in defending the “most energy-efficient multipurpose vehicle” in the 92km Future Car Challenge held in London last year. Already showing a great potential after going through such a challenge participated by 70 vehicles from various makes, Proton might have a great shot in producing environmentally friendly cars.

Source 1, Source 2

A
  • A
    AvanT
  • Oct 3, 2012
quote: ..."Proton might have a great shot in producing environmentally friendly cars."

Maybe for a one off thingy, but for mass production, sigh......
With current know how Proton has, I seriously think the RM 100+million (public's funds) government is giving is gonna go into some cronies pocket. Come mid-2014, Proton will declare the EV project is not feasible & have failed, beyond affordability of most ppl, there goes our RM200-million taxpayers money. Pls dun throw our hard earned money down the drain la!!!
I
  • I
  • Oct 3, 2012
Why is the government (the Rakyat) funding Proton? It is owned by DRB-Hicom, a private entity.
M
  • M
    myself
  • Oct 4, 2012
Whatever proton is coming up with is purely crappish..how many decades down the drain up the hill and yet they refuses to adapt and adopt new design to their cars..not to mention new proton preve launching..there is no hype..no sensation..no joy because public are disappointed by them.People in malaysia are buying proton purely based on affordability..if you walk out the streets and ask the consumer ..what do you love about proton? they will give you one and only answer.."its cheap what..where else can buy cheap like this..but what proton are forgetting is or so to speak diminishing is their very own pampered attitude is people are willing to pay for something which is more on quality despite of affordability..15-20 years ago i can said its affordability...20years down the road now..its about quality,performance, longer years of warranty and attractive services.
D
  • D
    devious17
  • Oct 4, 2012
There goes our tax money AGAIN!!
A
  • A
    Arvind
  • Oct 4, 2012
They still wanna waste money on Proton again?dont the f*&ckers every learn?why is the Government still getting involved after selling Proton to DRB?
I
  • I
    ivan7
  • Oct 5, 2012
absolute waste of money
I