Formula 1News

Rendering: Lotus Formula One Car Decals

Lotus_concept01

We’re all excited about the return of the Lotus name onto the Formula One grid and though we already know who the financiers are, who the drivers are going to be and that the 1Malaysia Formula One Team is just a political card the government is playing to fool us again but we’re still not sure about how the car will look like. So out come the designers and their renderings and this is the latest one by Malaysian designer Hafidz Moro.

As is apparent in the picture above, the traditional Lotus green has been retained and the 14-pointed star of the Malaysian flag adorns the rear wing of the car but I’m guessing that the real car will have a lot more Malaysian features on it to be in-line with the “1Malaysia Formula One Team” propaganda. Well, let us know what you think of the rendering in the comments section after the jump. 

Z
  • Z
    zain
  • Jan 6, 2010
"...14-pointed star of the Malaysian flag...."

Not really, some points are missing. Sudah jatuh due to high G cornering...
A
  • A
    A1Diablo
  • Jan 6, 2010
Nice design. Have seen similar nice renderings by other designers for Lotus F1. The coolest was a design of an Audi F1.

I doubt Air Asia and MAM would appear on the car. Air Asia is contracted to Williams in 2010 and MAM I doubt is giving pot loads of money to justify sponsorship space. I also don't think there would be more Malaysian elements in the design. This team is known as Lotus F1 globally and in the F1 fraternity and is registered as such in FIA.

Maybe they might be charitable to the 1 Malaysia cause and place some startegically placed small '1 Malaysia' stickers on it just to keep the peace in Malaysia. Then again that might contravene the sporting regulation as it might conflict with the car number
Z
  • Z
    zaim
  • Jan 6, 2010
If this is the final design, then should be the most ugly in the F1 circuit.. shame of lotus team...certainly a step backward of late 70s...lack of visual appeal...
Y
  • Y
    yigiYIGGS
  • Jan 6, 2010
At least this one looks better than the ugly reddish toy! lol. Good work Moro! I'm sure more ppl will come up with their own design.
J
Design is always subjective - some hate, some love, so... can lah. If Tony put money into it, i'm sure he wants more red than green - he kiasu like that.

And seriously, if the team is so 1Malaysia, why don't they get 1Malaysia involved - open the design up to the M'sian public to showcase their creativity - like that Gallardo competition.

Engage the public, get them involved, let them feel proud of our (so called) own team - that is, afterall, the idea behind 1Malaysia, is it not?

The Tourism M'sia board did it for the VisitM'sia logo a couple years back. Do it for this too.

You're supposed to be on your toes Team 1Malaysia. Chop chop, get it moving. Oh yeah, wait, that's right... it's not really 1Malaysia. Just 1Malaysian. Sigh...
L
  • L
    Lancermania
  • Jan 6, 2010
omg....outdated & ugly design, even if wan to preserve the old lotus image oso don't came out wif tis kind of design..
A
  • A
    A1Diablo
  • Jan 6, 2010
Lest not forgot, this is just a design idea from Hafidz Moro not from Lotus F1. So no need to get worked up for nothing
Z
  • Z
    Zealless
  • Jan 6, 2010
lol, exactly same design as lotus 49 f1 car ... same green, yellow strips

lancermania: lotus logo is that color la ... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Lotus_logo.png

http://www.gs-illustration.co.uk/sample%20pics/lotus%2049.jpg
H
Thanx for all the comments :) its just me playin wif adobe stuffs..its not from Lotus F1 team of coz! They must hav better design than this I guess rite A1diablo? :)

I'm sooo excited and tired of waiting for the car decal design,so I just create a few concepts and this is 1 of it..

Cheers all :)
C
  • C
    civic8887
  • Jan 6, 2010
it looks more like a South African team .... mayb Malaysia F1 team also have the WORLD CUP fever in their mind already..

OLE OLE OLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
K
  • K
    ky69
  • Jan 6, 2010
At least put a malaysia flag design or air asia red color.Look like 70's F1 car.They are using malaysia taxpayers money come out with lotus design
E
  • E
    Eyes Open Malaysian
  • Jan 6, 2010
I'm wondering if the Cosworth Engine will go missing one day, just like RMAF F-5E Jet engine, who will be blamed?? Most probably the Mechanics or Pit crew...heheheh
S
  • S
    samso
  • Jan 6, 2010
All hail Diablo.. Must we worship the Diablo deity
K
  • K
    kimi
  • Jan 7, 2010
y dont they put some red n wight stripe on the black area at the back of the car just like malaysian flag. u say it is 1mf1 team ma
not lotus only put some more malaysia on it hehe
B
  • B
    bizardo
  • Jan 7, 2010
well ugly as it may seem, the colour choice make sense as it is the colour of Lotus. The British Racing Green and the Canary Yellow, (hope i got the right name..) are colours in the Lotus badge. And since this is the Lotus F1 team, why can't it have Lotus' colour?

nice work there hafidz, but it's a lil too flat for me. i love Honda's RA107 paint job, really really beautiful. btw, the RA107 is the Earth car.
O
  • O
    Oliver Gomez
  • Jan 7, 2010
God please, none of that 1Malaysia bullcrap on the car...and personally, I think the renderings look quite classy. A nice throwback to when the perfomance matters slightly more than the looks. Especially in a race car. Less to distract us from the high revving monster that is the F1 engine! :D :D
M
  • M
    Marv
  • Jan 7, 2010
An overall simple design. Look better without the 1Malaysia craps. At least it's better than the "GO KL" design previously driven by Alex Yoong.
W
  • W
    wakjoe
  • Jan 7, 2010
wa rase ok jek.. not bad at all
W
  • W
    WHY
  • Jan 7, 2010
Tiger stripes on the car .. make it looks fierce ...
A
  • A
    azizi
  • Jan 7, 2010
for me too many colours...messy...try use 2 main colours 1 minor...beside sponsors logo...
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • Jan 7, 2010
good try, Hafidz. The blend of traditional Lotus' green and sponsor logos that might appear on the car seems nice to me. keep up the good work.
K
  • K
    koolspyda
  • Jan 7, 2010
l'll say good effort Hafidz Moro, it's traditional Lotus in nature. not all F1 teams go for extreme liveries. Look at Scuderia Ferrari.
A
Check out this Audi F1 concept by Kim Stapleton which dates back to early 2007. Cool design

http://www.fourtitude.com/news/publish/Features/article_2944.shtml
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Jan 7, 2010
I suspect that no matter what design is rendered, there will always be a critic out there saying it looks like crap.

Ah....there's just no pleasing people. It's a good effort Hafidz and you are commendably brave to show it off knowing that there are plenty of keyboard warrior misfits ever ready to shoot down your work.

One thing though, I think Tony said that they won't be using the tradional Lotus logo (triangle in a circle) out of respect of not wanting to hijack Chapman's legacy. I think they will be sticking instead to their new 'Lotus F1 Racing' logo.
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Jan 7, 2010
"One thing though, I think Tony said that they won’t be using the tradional Lotus logo (triangle in a circle) out of respect of not wanting to hijack Chapman’s legacy. I think they will be sticking instead to their new ‘Lotus F1 Racing’ logo."

Read between the lines. He saying that because if he used the traditional Lotus logo on the car he will be sued by David Hunt, who still own the commercial rights

If he really doesn't want to 'hijack Chapman's legacy' he would have called the team 'Bunga Raya F1 Racing', anything but Lotus.
R
  • R
    RocK
  • Jan 7, 2010
Yo Hafidz Moro, less is more leh..
That looks like william in green in the 90s..
H
  • H
    Hafidz Moro
  • Jan 7, 2010
Thanx for the comment guys :) anyway,all these feedback are not for me..there might be someone from the Lotus Team themselves might keep an eye on all of your comments..it's the freedom of comments! better now rather than comments after the car already on track by end of next month :)
A
If Lotus F1 is watching then they would know that the design needs to be driven by their commercial objectives almost irrespective of what F1 fans think. The sponsors are paying the bills. Hows the visibility of car and sponsor's logos? Do they want to clearly and strongly be linked to the old 'Team Lotus' etc. The livery design can instantly invoke that thinking in the viewer. Commercial objectives are fundamental. The rest of the design approach is secondary.
L
  • L
    LEVOC
  • Jan 7, 2010
I understand there is some people with different mind set but i don't think we should give bad comment about the design. It is a hard work from Moro and if either it will be a final design or not, we should give a thumps up for Moro for his effort. Moro, i give you a thumps up for your effort!!!
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Jan 7, 2010
race fan says:
"Read between the lines. He saying that because if he used the traditional Lotus logo on the car he will be sued by David Hunt, who still own the commercial rights

If he really doesn’t want to ‘hijack Chapman’s legacy’ he would have called the team ‘Bunga Raya F1 Racing’, anything but Lotus."

Please explain and reconcile the fact that Hunt own commercial rights to the logo but strangely not the name which is now being branded openly around as Lotus Cars , Lotus F1 in all sorts of different renditions. Kind of stupid, right ? It's like someone not using the Prancing Horse logo but putting the word 'Ferrari' in a different font on all their cars. Explain that then, hmmm?
S
  • S
    Stonor Park
  • Jan 7, 2010
Who r u A1 Diablew? You seem to have an opinion on just about all aspects of the automobile world. Do you work for some automotive related industry? If now what a waste mate.. Cheers
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Jan 7, 2010
FVel,

In 1994 when the team was liquidated Hunt bought all the "Team Lotus" commercial rights for use in F1 including all associated Lotus branding logos they used which includes the yellow green circular logo. His rights apply only in an F1 environment and does not extend to other areas which Lotus Cars is involved in like the automotive sector. Proton in '94 or '95 bought the Lotus Group but not the rights held by Hunt.

Therefore is it a coincidence that the new team opted to name themselves "Lotus F1 Racing" and not by the iconic "Team Lotus" name which would have been in direct breach of the rights of David Hunt.

Same issue if he used the traditional yellow green logo as that was also used by the historic "Team Lotus". Notice that even before they created the new Lotus F1 Racing logo, they used a black & white version of the original Lotus logo which probably never was used by Team Lotus, certainly you don't find that on any Lotus Cars so why black and white?

This issue is widely known in Europe
H
You were right A1Diablo, commercial values and objectives really give means to the looks of the itself. Logos and the color of the car may give impacts to the global audience. Plus,after doin my research..only few commercial companies are related directly or non-directly to this team [ie: AirAsia or Tune Group, Motorsport Association of Malaysia, Litespeed F3, Bridgestone, Lotus or Proton, Naza Group,Cosworth and not to forget 1 Malaysia or even Axle?] for the moment there's not even an oil company or telco companies (which normally have most money to sponsor) attached with team Lotus F1. Imagine if Celcom or TM will act as main sponsor of this team, the car might turn purple or even orange :)

Even which brand of apparels of the race driver, lollipop guy and the pit crew have not been announce yet so far. Might end-up with Alpinestar, Sparco, Puma, Boss or local brand Canggih rite? :p by the way A1Diablo,is there any rule in FIA dat says none identical colours of car should appear racing on track?
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Jan 8, 2010
The design is ok la. But there is a point to say that the car does look like a African A1 car. hehehe.
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Jan 8, 2010
race fan says:
January 7, 2010 at 10:09 pm

"FVel,
In 1994 when the team was liquidated Hunt bought all the “Team Lotus” commercial rights for use in F1 including all associated Lotus branding logos they used which includes the yellow green circular logo. His rights apply only in an F1 environment and does not extend to other areas which Lotus Cars is involved in like the automotive sector. Proton in ‘94 or ‘95 bought the Lotus Group but not the rights held by Hunt.
Therefore is it a coincidence that the new team opted to name themselves “Lotus F1 Racing” and not by the iconic “Team Lotus” name which would have been in direct breach of the rights of David Hunt.
Same issue if he used the traditional yellow green logo as that was also used by the historic “Team Lotus”. Notice that even before they created the new Lotus F1 Racing logo, they used a black & white version of the original Lotus logo which probably never was used by Team Lotus, certainly you don’t find that on any Lotus Cars so why black and white?
This issue is widely known in Europe"

If what you said is true, and Tony/Proton is actually adopting his current design to circumvent Hunt’s commercial rights, then the one thing that I’m still not comprehending is simply what I said earlier :-

How does Hunt come to own the commercial rights to use the logo in motorsport, (which has the name ‘Lotus’ within the logo’s design), but at the same time unable to prevent any other establishment using the word ‘Lotus’ for the same purposes (racing) albeit in a different design ?

Obviously from the perspective of common sense, this does not make sense…lol….because Hunt would have paid good money for the rights but all the same those commercial rights won’t mean shit if someone else can simply lift off the ‘Lotus’ word, change the fonts and the design to the word and then use it on their racing cars for their own benefit.

In effect, what you are telling me amounts to Tony/Proton screwing on Hunt’s commercial rights merely on account of changing a couple of fonts, color and design to the word ‘Lotus’….and ultimately getting away with it by passing it off and saying to the viewing public :- “Well, we are ‘Lotus’, but not ‘Lotus-Lotus’." lol

Not saying you are wrong. Merely saying that if ‘true’ then it’s a ridiculous situation for the reasons I said earlier.
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Jan 8, 2010
FVel,

I think you have understood it correctly. And the rights are as you noted.

Of course I've read that Hunt's rights naturally extends to any use of the Lotus name in F1 in whatever form which implicates Lotus F1 Racing but that is said to be arguable. However what is not arguable is the branding that was used by the old TEAM LOTUS which includes "TEAM LOTUS" and various other Lotus branding including the crest.

Reading the string of Lotus F1 Racing's media reports it seems clear that they are attempting to circumvent Hunt and not recognize him by constantly mentioning that they have gotten blessings from Group Lotus, Proton and the Chapman family. So that if it goes to court they can probably try say, "Hey Lotus Group, Proton and Chapman say we can call ourselves this, who are you to say otherwise?" The judge would then have to decide who actually owned those rights.. Hunt or the mentioned parties - Lotus Group, Proton, Chapman family..

However Lotus F1 cannot call themselves "Team Lotus" and use whatever associated branding used in that old team and try to run the same argument because it wouldn't be debatable. Hunts rights were clear on that regard.

Hope that makes some sense
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Jan 8, 2010
race fan,

Ok, that clarifies somewhat the situation about where Hunt stands vis-a-vis Tony/Proton.

Not being an expert on intellectual property and merely saying this from a perspective of a layman,.......I would assume that a common sense conclusion to all this is that if Hunt had legally acquired all the rights to the logo and associated branding (including the word 'Lotus') for use within motorsport, the Chapman family should not and would not have any legal grounds to insist that Hunt does not have standing to sue for infringement of his commercial rights. Ditto with Lotus Group and Proton.

I think it is really stretching believability to the point of splitting hairs if Tony is suggesting that his version of the Lotus branding is so remotely dissimilar from Hunt's, that a layman would not associate the 2010 Lotus name with that of the old Lotus F1 teams. Obviously a layman would assume Lotus is Lotus, so it'll be interesting to see how Proton tries to legally worm their way out of this one.
A
netmatrix,
It doesn't look anything like the A1Team RSA car. Here is a link http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:A1_Grand_Prix,_Kyalami_-_South_Africa.jpg

Hafidz Moro,
Not sure what you mean but I think nothing in the sporting regs prohibiting cars presumably of the same team, to have non identical liveries. Commercially speaking it wouldn't be favourable as fans would be confused which team the car belongs to. I myself am confused sometimes whether I'm looking at a Scuderia Torro Rosso car or RedBull Racing car because they're somewhat similar. I'm just not that sharp :)
But since Redbull owns both teams, they probably don't mind that fans can get confused between the two teams. Cause for confusion probably even deliberate! They are very good with branding.

Stonor Park,
I'm just expressing an opinion just like everyone else...
F
  • F
    faisal
  • Jan 8, 2010
A1Diablo,

I think there is a reg stating both cars from the same F1 team Must have identical livery.

I recall 1999's BAR cars, where Villeneuve's and Zonta's cars were suppose to be one Lucky Strike ( Red/white of Canada-Villeneuve) and one 555 (Blue/Yellow of Brazil-Zonta) respectively. However it wasn't allowed hence the "zipper" down the centre.

Though FIA may have changed their stance.. can't be bothered reading the Sporting Regulations....http://www.fia.com/en-GB/sport/regulations/Pages/FIAFormulaOneWorldChampionship.aspx
V
  • V
    Vaastu Shastra
  • Jan 8, 2010
Bad Fengshui !
colour out; decal out;
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Jan 8, 2010
FVel,

Hunt legally acquired those rights when Team Lotus was liquidated and sold off. However those rights apply only for F1, not motorsport in general. Quite specific.

As for Tony, from day one his messages in the media have been nothing but confusing. From funding (govt?private?Petronas?) to actual costs. The facts are always changing down to what the team represents in relation to the historical Team Lotus. Very murky and the message sent out changes depending on who is asking and the time of day. Very confusing
A
Thanks faisal. Haven't heard or seen you for some time, assuming same faisal that roamed ZTH before
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Jan 8, 2010
race fan,

Hehehe Can't see how Tony can, in any way, satisfactorily dis-associate his outfit's name from the old Team Lotus.

Like I said, Lotus is Lotus, however hard Tony tries to label a 'spoon' as a 'cup' :)

Not confusing in the least. The old boy is probably stone-walling and playing with words. I guess if Tony hangs around someone as rhetorically colorful as our PM (Mr. 1Malaysia), a little of all that gibberish will rub off onto him as well. I like your original suggestion better .....Bunga Raya F1....has a certain fragrant ring to it, and Trulli/Heiki will look great in floral racesuits.

Go McLaren !
B
  • B
    BabyGodzillaGTi-R
  • Jan 8, 2010
British racing green combined with malaysian kuning racing colours...
Sweet...

Just for nostalgia, throw in a dash of yellow camel and jps black livery.
Not to forget we need some pepper red with gold leave flakes too in reference to the Gold leaf livery lol...

Just hallucinating lol...
C
  • C
    corona_ice
  • Jan 8, 2010
purely commenting on the design, i would say that i like the color/paint work...simple and not to "overdone"... the color couldn't be all green coz it would look like sumthin from the jaguar days, all red of air asia will look like ferrari, so a mix of the green and yellow is perfect! well, hope the team lotus gets sum ideas from here!
R
  • R
    reddevil
  • Feb 8, 2010
ugly ,the car look like a frog....
R