Formula 1LotusNews

Lotus Unveils It’s New Formula One Race Machine – The T127

Lotus unveiled its 2010 car at a launch ceremony in London’s Royal Horticultural Hall yesterday, in an event which played homage to the past but looked firmly towards the team’s future.

The new T127 has a distinctive green-and-yellow livery, harking back to the colour scheme of the 1960s, and will carry the hopes of Jarno Trulli and Heikki Kovalainen this year. Team principal Tony Fernandes was on hand to help with the unveiling and spoke about the achievements of his team in the past five months.

“I am extremely proud to be here today and to be able to show the world the fruits of the team’s hard work. It’s humbling for me and my fellow shareholders to see how a team that five months ago didn’t even exist is now a thriving workforce, full of enthusiasm and passion for Lotus Racing and the challenges ahead, and capable of producing such a beautiful machine in such a short time.

“Now we’ve achieved two major milestones; confirming our entry and unveiling our car. But now the real work starts. Next we move on to testing and the season ahead, and I’m confident that the team will exceed expectations wherever we go, and will do so on a wave of support around the world that has been growing daily since we first unleashed Lotus Racing back in September ’09.”

Chief technical officer Mike Gascoyne, who has worked for a number of top teams including Toyota and Renault in the past, said he was delighted to get the car up and running ahead of its official test debut in Jerez next week.

“The last few months have been some of the most challenging of my career, but it’s been a challenge the whole team and I have thrived on since we first started work on the car up in Norfolk,” he said. “I’m delighted that we’ve reached this point, and now we have a beautiful car that gives us a great base to work from for the season ahead and a fighting chance of going racing in the right way, with a winning mentality. The hard part starts now, and I know everyone in the team and I are up for whatever lies ahead.”

Trulli said that the initial expectations for the car would be low but maintained that he had no regrets about his decision to join a start-up team for 2010.

“It is a big responsibility to drive a car with the name Lotus, but I am really looking forward to it,” he said. “I am very proud and happy to have secured such a good seat for this season. We are looking to the future. As a young team we can’t expect to go out there and be on pole position straight away; it is a massive job to start to build a car from nothing. I think we have a great team and we will work very hard to improve very quickly.”

Ex-McLaren driver Kovalainen agreed that there would be added pressure running under the historic name.

“I am so impressed with what the team has achieved so far, to be honest the guys have really exceeded my expectations,” he said. “I am really pleased to be driving for Lotus as I think this was really the best opportunity for my future; this is not just a one-year project. There is a lot of pressure on all of us to race under the Lotus name but I am so proud to add my name to a list of such exceptional drivers like Mansell and Senna. I really can’t wait to get to Jerez next week and start to drive the car.”

The team gave the car its initial shakedown at Silverstone on Wednesday, where it performed systems checks in preparation for its group testing debut in Jerez. It is the second of the four new teams to launch its 2010 car, after rivals Virgin unveiled its challenger last week. The readiness of Campos and US F1 still remains in doubt although both insist they will make the first race in Bahrain.

Lotus T127 Formula One Racer (13)Lotus T127 Formula One Racer (14)Lotus T127 Formula One Racer (16)Lotus T127 Formula One Racer (11)Lotus T127 Formula One Racer (8)Lotus T127 Formula One Racer (7)Lotus T127 Formula One Racer (6)Lotus T127 Formula One RacerLotus T127 Formula One Racer (15)Lotus T127 Formula One Racer (5)Lotus T127 Formula One Racer (1)Lotus T127 Formula One Racer (4)

Source: ESPNF1
Image Credits: Lotus; Sutton Images

R
  • R
    RocK
  • Feb 13, 2010
So how many Malaysian have a hand in building this car?
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Feb 14, 2010
That is a very good question! Ask them please.
G
  • G
    gtr
  • Feb 14, 2010
maybe for making sticker/decal only...tom's sticker perhaps?
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Feb 14, 2010
I like the color scheme. But at times it reminds me of the old Jaguar F1 team. hahaha. It makes me wanna paint my wheels yellow!
B
  • B
    bokbong
  • Feb 14, 2010
i cant see any malaysian flag color on that car except for yellow one....what happen to 'satu malaysia'....suppose to be in red or blue color....and the green color resemble one of opposition party in malaysia...is this a sign for future?? who knows...
M
  • M
    m3
  • Feb 14, 2010
msian only have a hand on supply money to build this car.
E
  • E
    ephique74
  • Feb 14, 2010
It's the original color of the Lotus F1 team back when Colin Chapman run the team, nothing to do with any political stuff. That's a British racing green. Check the facts before saying something that'll make you look stupid.
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Feb 14, 2010
Its good that the flag isn't present. All of the other teams doesn't have one. If it does, it would look like A1. Then i think there would be comments like, "Hey Lotus i think you are on the wrong "1" racing track!!"

:P
S
  • S
    Sean
  • Feb 14, 2010
Welcome back !
L
  • L
    Leroy
  • Feb 14, 2010
Leave the politics out of this one please....
The Malaysian gov sucks as it is
Z
  • Z
    zain
  • Feb 14, 2010
Got proton logo on the car samor...

lucky thing this F1 car doesn't have power windows, if not, sure....rosak during driving. Must be so paiseh...
A
  • A
    Areoulz
  • Feb 15, 2010
Yeah.. And also thank god it has no air bag, and sticky gas pedal so no need to be recall or disqualified during race..
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Feb 15, 2010
bokbong says:
February 14, 2010 at 2:56 am i cant see any malaysian flag color on that car except for yellow one….what happen to ’satu malaysia’….suppose to be in red or blue color….and the green color resemble one of opposition party in malaysia…is this a sign for future?? who knows…
----------------

Hard enough as it is to get an event appreciated purely for its sporting attributes, without having some people wanting to stick every f*cking appendage of the car with political logos. Are you going to Sepang to see F1, or are you there to support your favourite political party ? Which is it ? If you are confused, then note that the upcoming Sepang F1 is the 'SPORTING' event...not the 'political ceramah'. As for the election campaign, it's not due for a few years yet. Hope that clears it up for you. 1-Malaysia my ass.
B
  • B
    BabyGodzillaGTi-R
  • Feb 15, 2010
We could always ask tourism malaysia to sponsor another f1 car and we'll get a malaysian flag on the rear wing again like Team Stewart F1.
V
  • V
    Vox
  • Feb 15, 2010
Lol, whenever they see proton logo at anywhere, they will start bashing rubbish.

I love this car, and i, as a malaysian is very happy to see our country's name on a F1 Circuit.

Good luck to Malaysia's Lotus Proton team!
V
  • V
    Vox
  • Feb 15, 2010
and hell ya, the matching between green and yellow is really nice.

Bored with red colours.
R
  • R
    RocK
  • Feb 16, 2010
Prime Minister mention the team will move to Malaysia ie. Sepang.
Tony F. said no to going Malaysia.

I bet Malaysia will pull the plug in a year or 2. Then its up to Tony's AirAsia money if he willing to fund the team.
C
  • C
    cheapshot
  • Feb 16, 2010
the decals will be revise according to today's paper to resemble more msia as our country own the lotus F1..to those speaked crap bout proton or whutsoever..other car makers are not so good after all meh..instead of bashing like coward..contact their bos lah n speak..nway..hope tiger year bring good start to Lotus F1..oyeah~
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Feb 16, 2010
Lotus racing green and yellow is fine.
Proton logos is fine as are alltheir endeavors in motorsport.
Sponsor logos like Naza, Air Asia are all fine.
A Malaysian flag somewhere on the car is fine as long as it is done tastefully and within reasonable dimensions and size as to not be overbearingly 'loud'. Just because Malaysian companies own Lotus doesn't mean you kill off countless years of Lotus racing heritage by painting the whole thing red, white and blue.

But leave out the '1-Malaysia' crap. Most ppl i.d. this as a sporting event. It should not be a platform for any political party to plaster their rhoetoric and logos and cheapen the whole thing with a ploitcal statement. People have to naive if they think the average Malaysian identify 1-Malaysia with unity. Most everyone you ask will identify it with Najib. When I look at the car and cheer it on, I have nowish to reminded that Najib puthisdamn graffiti on the sidepod.
S
  • S
    Speed
  • Feb 17, 2010
This project is a great idea, no doubt, but its better to nurture new talent and establishing motorsport on the grassroot level rather than go straight to f1 where it will only benefit those who are directly involve.

but than maybe with this the motorsport secene in malaysia will bloom??
cuz u know motorsport is dying in malaysia.
A
Don't worry FVel, The livery of the car is an important piece of team inventory controlled by their commercial dept. Important source of revenue. It is not controlled by graphic designers.

The rainbow coloured model car seen last year was probably just a late minute design made by some student designer they hired just to have something to present at the announcement event with Najib. No race team in their right mind would have that kind of livery because you cannot see sponsor logos on it.
H
  • H
    HaZaRd
  • Feb 17, 2010
FYI, if this team won and step into podium, Malaysia anthem will be played instead of British anthem (lotus british). thats cool enough....
H
I knew it! i was right on the earlier concept...its gonna be british racing green.. and they maintain the yellow livery!

Gorgeous F1 car i must say.. :)
Go Go Go Lotus!

P/s: Malaysian mind been poluted with politic toxic waste (especially those opposition supporters)..give a break! focus on racing/car/F1 relevant issues only please..!! TQ
M
  • M
    Marv
  • Feb 18, 2010
Nice colour and livery! Good luck to Lotus Team!

"Lulus Proton"..
R
  • R
    RocK
  • Feb 18, 2010
"FYI, if this team won and step into podium, Malaysia anthem will be played instead of British anthem (lotus british). thats cool enough…."

That will cost a big outcry in UK..
K
  • K
    knopix
  • Feb 21, 2010
yeahhh... hopefully Malaysia anthem will be played as RocK said. But if this team lose and not step into podium, i still support and proud on our team.
V
  • V
    Vnayak
  • Mar 1, 2010
If Fairuz has chance to race, and IF he goes to the podium - how to spray champagne man? Haram lah....
V