NewsVideos

Hyper Pro Racer – Meet The Australian Made Superkart For Rich Adrenalin Junkies

If you’re a karting junkie than you’re very likely to be a adrenalin junkie as well. Starting off with 80cc fun-karts to full blown shifter karts that go and stop much quicker than some of today’s supercars, karting is the epitome of four-wheeled karts and the stepping stone to much greater things like the ultimate go-kart – Formula One. But this post is not about Formula One, it’s about the Hyper PRO Racer, a so-called “Superkart” that delivers massive power and minimum weight. (video posted after the jump)

Hyper Pro Racer Superkart (10)Hyper Pro Racer Superkart (8)Hyper Pro Racer Superkart (1)Hyper Pro Racer Superkart (2)Hyper Pro Racer Superkart (3)Hyper Pro Racer Superkart (11)

The “Superkart” is powered by a Yamaha 450 WR four-stroke motorcycle engine that runs through a five-speed sequential gearbox and the entire thing weighs just 160kg minus the weight of the driver. That’s not much more than the bike itself.

The kart utilises spaceframe technology to keep weight down and the entire thing also acts as an FIA-approved roll cage. Instead of building a frame that accessories would be mounted to with brackets, the superkart’s externals are mounted directly to a highly designed and minimalist chassis frame without additional hardware. Those externals include Ohlins aluminum-bodied race shocks, four-wheel cross-vented disc brakes with billet four-pot aluminum brake calipers.

Built by an Australian Jon Crooke, the kart is able to lap a little faster than an Aussie racing car (not a V8 supercar) but a little slower than a GT Production car. Everything is great about this little “Superkart” except it’s price, the track day Racer S is priced at US$26,546, while the hillclimb Racer R is priced at $US31,947. For all those thrills, the superkart does come at a wicked price, but no one said that the price of adrenalin is cheap, check out the video below to see what you could have for the price.

Source: AutoBlog

H
  • H
    hUIhUI
  • Feb 27, 2010
walao eh...so fast, the only thing cant compete with car is endurance =[ and the space so cramped up
S
  • S
    steven roman
  • May 29, 2011
It's nothing like a superkart to slow and will never be allowed on a race track to actualy race alot of money for a toy just to sit in the garage.
L
  • L
    linhely
  • Jul 4, 2011
I’m pleased for this beneficial excellent page; this is a form of subject that sustains me although out the day.We’ve normally heard been lately wanting near to in your web-site right immediately after I observed about these from a shut buddy and was delighted when I was inside a placement to acquire it adhering to wanting out for some time.
L