Formula 1MalaysiaNews

Dr M: “Lotus Racing Must Perform Well in Bahrain”

Former prime minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad said Malaysia’s formula one team, Lotus Racing, must perform well in Bahrain next month to maintain the Lotus image and brand.

He said he believed that the team had their own mission to do their level best as failure to deliver would tarnish the famous name that they carried.

Dr Mahathir, who played an important role in setting up motoring sports in Malaysia, was speaking at the reporters after officially opening the team’s factory in Norfolk, Norwich on Monday.

He was joined by the team’s principal Tony Fernandes, his deputies Kamaruddin Meranun and SM Nasaruddin SM Nasimuddin, chief executive officer Riad Asmat and chief technical officer Mike Gascoyne.

Dr Mahathir jokingly said that the team’s ability in building the car in such a short span of time had caused him to “lose his bet”.

“I came here because I did not believe that they could get the car ready in time so I challenged them. You get your car ready and I will come to visit, so they got their car ready.

“So I lost my bet… fortunately no money involved,” he said.

He said it took at least a year to build up a car, even with a prototype, thus it was very impressive when a team as small as Lotus Racing managed to get it done only in five months.

“I’m very impressed and can see that they have been very lucky that they found a factory hall ready for making cars. The factory belonged originally to Toyota and Audi and everything is in place so they have little need to do or add anything,” he said.

He said it was also amazing that the team managed to gather quite a number of people who were very familiar with car-making.

Earlier, during a visit to the factory, Dr Mahahthir was given an opportunity to sit in the Lotus Cosworth T127 Chassis 02 while the engine was fired up.

Meanwhile, Fernandes said Lotus Racing was competing with the best in the world and he believed that it would do its level best despite having to operate with a limited budget.

It was not about having a lot of money but more about showing their true abilities to the world, particularly as Malaysians, he said.

Denying claims that the team had failed to attract sponsors because of its unknown abilities, he said:

“I know there’s a lot of scepticism here but first of all, we only had five months, other teams had 10 years. Just wait and see and we did not put any time frame to bring in the sponsors.

“Our target for now is we want to finish the first four races. No, we don’t aim for any positions.

“You race with the Ferrari and they have been racing since 1930, that has been 80 years and we only five months of age.

“Ferrari’s budget is substantially higher than us, so get behind us and let’s show the world what we can do.”

Many people, he said, had asked about the budget but history had proven that having tons of money was not a key to success.

“I have great people. The energy, the innovation is something that money can’t buy so I’m not too worried about it.

“Of course we would like to have big sponsors who could have give us a large cheque and we can be more competitive but that doesn’t happen and we will make do with what we have,” he added.

– Bernama

T
  • T
    TonyTony
  • Feb 23, 2010
This was omitted:-

Fernandes drew attention to a question by CNN once on how the team could compete when Toyota and Honda had pulled out. “ Air Asia made more money than Japan Airlines and All-Nippon Airways,” he said,

Seriously !!

You cannot equate winning F1 races with running a budget airline. And neither should you equate it with operating a full fledge carrier.

Rather arrogant statement

LOTUS MUST WIN... otherwise what will the foreign press think of Malaysians
N
  • N
    NightRace
  • Feb 23, 2010
Lotus had their glory years in the 70s.

Question is....

Is today's Lotus technology comparable to Ferrari and McLaren ?

Anyone care to shed some light ?
G
  • G
    gtr
  • Feb 23, 2010
just stop comparing with those more than 50yrs in the f1...lotus is just a baby (5 months only) with a little budget...

in 70s yeah they are no1..but do they consistently stay in f1...nope..they already left 12 yrs ago..since then how much new technology coming?...can keep up in just 5 months?..

i think to be able finish all race this season is a good start..they should preparing to make new car for 2011 then...
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • Feb 23, 2010
look how tony again made me puke.

his airline (or is it his anyway?) he said make more money compare to Japan whatever etc etc.

did he tell his airline ask for exemption of payment here and there? and how much they 'owe' malaysian airport?

tony, seriously, get in the F1 mode. team principal i mean.
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Feb 23, 2010
LOL this is not the sort of thing Lotus would want to see in the media. Suddenly expectations are 10-fold, as if Malaysians understand F1 enough in the first place to have reasonable expectations on this team.

This sort of reporting puts the team in a 'shitehole'. Lets see how Tony 's people handle this one. No effect to Lotus fans outside Malaysia. They know enough about the sport and don't care too much about Tun.
A
  • A
    alonso
  • Feb 23, 2010
dont know whether Lotus F1 team can stand in F1 events how many years...currently used petronas money for first step in F1 but if petronas not enough money then what happen next? global economy still not stable enough sure hard to find big sponsor..for D.Tony u just principal of team but im sure ur airline money not enough for maintain this LOtus F1 team so dont be arrogant lorr..
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Feb 23, 2010
Alonso, Lotus Racing (not Lotus F1. Will take time to get used to their name change agan.) is not using Petronas money. Petronas decided to spend with Mercedes GP and glorious Schumacher. Haven't you been reading the news?
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • Feb 23, 2010
Tun's words must be taken as a challenge, not added pressure. the fact is that the team consist mainly of foreigners who appreciate challenges as a main jumping stone to success, and this development wont be doing the team any problem.

infact, they will be more focus and work harder to meet the challenge by Tun.

of course the first ever step by Malaysia towards F1 is by using Petronas money. even tho it took nearly a decade for petronas to fully utilize the opening it gets from F1 (lube development etc etc), Petronas is a proven producer of lube oil.

and one of the known clause in Petronas's sponsorship of Mercedes F1 team is the, its lube oil is used as the first fill of all mercedes cars.

anyone familiar of advertising business will be able to mention the cost of a 4-5 minutes advert in Japan. I dont know the exact amount but figures are at hundreds of million.

imagine the petronas logo and business being advertised all 1 year, without limit whatsoever at a cost of whatever they sponsoring mercedes? its worth every penny of it.
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Feb 23, 2010
Dr M: “Lotus Racing Must Perform Well in Bahrain”

Noticed the words PERFORM WELL and BAHRAIN (which is only just over 2 weeks away).

Saying "Lotus Racing Must Perform Well" is one thing. All and good. But saying, "Lotus Racing Must Perform Well in BAHRAIN" is another thing. This why there is such thing as PR depts in companies.

Between now and Bahrain nothing is going to change the fact that Lotus Racing will be the last team in Bahrain or at best second last if Virgin is in trouble. And this is a fact that has nothing to do for any lack of 'trying' by the Lotus technicians between now and Bahrain. It just IS.

Any result better than this would be down to luck, which doesn't count.

As for Petronas, yes they could not have done a better deal than what they did with Mercedes and really it isn't to do so much with the TV branding exposure. Brand exposure through advertising for Petronas carries a lot less value to them compared to say if it was Shell that was enjoying the same advert exposure.

The reason is because Petronas has next to nil front end retail network outside Malaysia unlike Shell. They cannot leverage on the exposure as how Shell could.

Related to that, "Petronas is a proven producer of lube oil" is highly arguable if 'proven' implies being renowned or have market presence. Having world's 'best' oil and have no one use it makes it pointless.

No one in Europe knows what Syntium is let alone where to buy one. Petronas publicly declared their market penetration for lubes is only 2% .Yes Petronas oil will be the OEM first fill oil at Mercedes facilities and thats one of the worthwhile reasons for their deal with MercGP but whether the oil will be branded 'Syntium'is something we will have to wait and see. I hear it will not. Still it's worthwhile.

Just giving you a fresh perspective on the matter.
H
  • H
    HumbleMalaysian
  • Feb 23, 2010
TONY has undoubtedly represented the MalaysianF1 team as a ARROGANT lot.

Remember you represents Malaysia not your budget airline

Just make sure "YOUR" team makes it to the podium or you will see & feel the wrath of DrM
T
  • T
    teamsleepnine
  • Feb 23, 2010
humblemalaysian:+10 point for you!!
M
  • M
    Motorsport Fan
  • Feb 23, 2010
Guys,

So much being said! There is right and wrong from the comments above. Lets just wait and see what is the outcome from the first four races.

Its all about being optimistic.
Z
  • Z
    zse
  • Feb 23, 2010
Tony is taking rubbish. I cant wait to see him wearing skirt.

His image in the mirror will definitely break the mirror, due to his ugliness...
L
  • L
    Lancewood
  • Feb 23, 2010
Who says luck doesnt count? you seriously need luck to hit the jackpot or 4D.
If by luck any F1 so-called 2nd tier F1 team secured pole position - monetary bonus.
If by luck any F1 so-called NON-fav team wins the race - monetary reward and INSTANT recognition.
If memory served me right, a lot of skeptics said a certain unknown team who won the 1st few races last year was TOTALLY riding on luck...and they presevered later on to win the championship.
Who said luck doesnt count?
Undeniable fact.
M
  • M
    munky
  • Feb 23, 2010
U guys talk as if u know how to run an f1 team

im gonna wait at least until the first race ends
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • Feb 24, 2010
munky,

i believe we are not talking like we know how to run an F1 team. it just tony the team principal decided to open his mouth, as usual, at the wrong time and about the wrong thing.

and also he got the fact twisted and so on.
J
  • J
    James
  • Feb 24, 2010
Hi, what is the yard stick measurement for a F1 team to do well in their first year outing!
Like the initially Brawn team that won the first GP of 2009?
Or maybe, as Mike Gascyone (Technical Director)for Lotus, to make it to Q2 for Qualifying is a great objective in Dubai!
No, my thoughts on this are, please ask all politicians to stay out of this sort of comments as F1 is really very technical and as a politician, I dont see this as an issues worth commenting unless there is an alternative agenda.
In fact all Malaysian's should salute Proton, Tony Fernandez (Air Asia) and Nazim (Nazar) for even conceiving this wonderful idea!
For once One Malaysia is now an International Brand name.
I for one wish Lotus F1 team the best and dont be dissapointed in their first appearence at Dubai, should they fail in Q1 and be the last on grid in Dubai.
As, the fact that Lotus F1 could be on grid at all in 2010 in Dubai is absolutely amazing as it was conceived so late in 2009.
Tony, has a litle competition with Richard Branson, now he has said that should Lotus be behind Virgin in points for 2010, he will run a lap using a stewardess outfit!
Now that statement is not arrogant! but just another spot of pantomime rivalry which is part of the F1 fun.
Lastly Gascoyle has said "Every team, I have joined has got to the podium within 20 races of me being there"
Good luck and shabas to Lotus F1 team.
D
  • D
    - D i a b l o -
  • Feb 24, 2010
Kudos Lotus,lets get the ball rolling. I cant wait to see the new car in action.

To Tony,if you are reading us here or any of your public relations/colleagues. Please take note of us,malaysian motorsports fans that you are representing us and refrain of making statements that is misinformed.

I agree you are trying to make a point showing how much Air Asia is becoming a cash cow and its true so please put that money into good use. We've seen how Brawn pulled out a stunning first season,lets take that as a challenge to pursue.
R
  • R
    RocK
  • Feb 24, 2010
Yes One Malaysia is now an International Brand name. But if the F1 venture goes down in shame, so will the One Malaysia Brand name.

Mike Gascoyne said every team he join got to the podium within 20 races. Did he forgot he ran Spyker F1?? which only score 1 point in total, thats no podium. He was at Spyker from 2006 to 2008. (24mths)

The only reason he use '20mths' is because of Force India score a podium in 2009 August in Spa. He joint Force India in 2008 when they took over from Spyker F1. He was release from Force India in November 7 2008. Thats 10mths before their podium. I highly doubt its was because of Mike.

So Lotus, I hope you marked the calander. March 2011 will be 20mths..
B
  • B
    BudgetTONY
  • Feb 24, 2010
Tony said “I have great people. The energy, the innovation is something that money can’t buy so I’m not too worried about it.

1) Try not paying them , see if they stay on to work with you

2) Then try getting Schuey or Alonso to race for you based on your belief ... and pay him peanuts

F1 is all about BIG MONEY, BIG NAMES and DEEP POCKETS to burn ... its not a BUDGET sport where you can cut edges and make do make do, unlike AirAsia... where passengers need to walk to board the planes even when it rains and even pay for a packet of peanuts !

Tony pls stop making senseless statements... you make the rest of us Malaysians look just as stupid too
S
  • S
    shark79
  • Feb 24, 2010
You fuckers are them stupid...what Tony is trying to do is put the mat salleh in place...u see the west thinks we asians are not capable...he was being sarcastic...and that is not a stupid statement its a fact assholes

whenever malaysia our country strives to do something internationally we malaysians are fast to critic..but whenever a foreign country do the same thing you guys seem to suck up to their balls...like whatever comes out from a mat salleh ass is good
"you fuckers are THEM stupid" .... really now ??? .... ROFLOL ....
T
  • T
    teamsleepnine
  • Feb 24, 2010
"you fuckers are then stupid laaa"..ololololoololololol
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Feb 24, 2010
I don't see Malaysians condemning Petronas for their tie up with Mercedes GP. Everyone's supportive of them. Lotus ain't the only home linked team for Malaysians to support. Seriously ask yourself why the flak toward Lotus and non towards Petronas..
S
  • S
    shark79
  • Feb 24, 2010
keshy...like i said stupid...probably u should take a good look at yourself in the mirror and ask what have u achieved...or better still dont ask...
right ...
S
  • S
    shark79
  • Feb 24, 2010
race fan...like i said for them what ever comes out from the mat salleh ass is good for them..this are the people that think they know best but hell they know shit
S
  • S
    shark79
  • Feb 24, 2010
we malaysian have to stay positive...the season has not started yet you guys are like praying for th Lotus team to go down the drain
S
  • S
    shark79
  • Feb 24, 2010
yup..
A
We can't equate the situation Lotus is in to Brawn's situation at the start of last season. In pre-season it was CLEAR that Brawn had a fast car, thanks to Honda.

In last week's pre-season testing it was CLEAR Lotus will be right near the back as expected. And it's a FAIR expectation.

Would anyone bet that they will be very 'lucky' in Bahrain, earning a podium?? Who knows.. there could be a massive foul up by the majority of teams in Bahrain, handing a podium to Lotus which would be very nice.

But for them to earn serious recognition in F1 would require that they be very 'lucky' 18 more times this year. So what are the odds on that??
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Feb 24, 2010
shark79,

I see what you mean. Tony is trying to "put the mat salleh in place". He is doing that by putting them all IN his team. Thats a good vote of confidence to "mat sallehs" :)
@Shark79

"we malaysian have to stay positive…the season has not started yet you guys are like praying for th Lotus team to go down the drain"

- that I have to agree to ... cheers to that ...
S
  • S
    SuperBrand
  • Feb 24, 2010
DrM looks really worried ! As Lotus is something he has made known to us he holds dearly.

Roughly he and we know the teams that stand better chances to be on the podium when the lights turn green ..... probably he is more concerned if the Lotus car crashes or breaks-down too often.... that will break the Lotus brand, reputation and reliability internationally

"Lotus finish your races, thats more important !!" - otherwise Proton may need to consider a new tagline to "Handling by Lotus".
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Feb 24, 2010
Though Lotus cars were still lagging in terms of market share for their segment, they did have a sterling reputation especially with regards to handling. It seems with the foray into F1 their reputation is now under considerable risk, when previously it was quite safe... More food for thought.
D
  • D
    dr.d
  • Feb 27, 2010
if it wasnt for dr.m visionary, maybank tower would still be the tallest tower in kl... we malaysians couldnt see what he saw... so stop sucking up to the gwailos and have the Msian Boleh attitude
K
  • K
    kRiminaLz
  • Mar 4, 2010
shark79> i second urs!

anyway, ITs sad to see a lot of negative comments..
just give this Tony guy a break.. he has achived a lot compared to all those naye sayers in here!
he has done well for the company n for malaysia as well..
Its a good start for the team to be in F1.. wish them luck!
who knows, maybe singapore will again follow our steps ; after having their own f1 track..

just keep politics out of this, coz it smells like it everywhere.. *effing boring!
K