BMWConceptNews

BMW Vision EfficientDynamics Confirmed For Production in 2013

According to our sources, BMW will build a production version of the Vision EfficientDynamics Concept. Details are yet limited but Inside Line is reporting that a source has confirmed the car will be launched in 2013.

It has also been mentioned that the concept’s hybrid powertain will be carried over to the production model but “there will be less of the synthetic glass and more solid structure added to the final design.” The source, said to be a “senior BMW authority” also stated production would like be limited to less than 100,000 units.

BMW first introduced the Vision EfficientDynamics Concept last year, the car is essentially a plug-in hybrid car with performance that’s reminiscent of it’s petrol burning lesser siblings. It’s powered by a three-cylinder turbodiesel engine and two electric motors. It boasts 356hp and 800Nm of torque and accelerates from 0-100 in less than 5-seconds before maxing out at a electronically limited 250km/h.

The best part? Despite some great performance, the next generation sports BMW consumes just 3.76 liters/100km (62.6mpg) while emitting only 99 grams of CO2 per kilometer. If you’re wondering if that’s good, then the answer for you is, yes, that’s really good.

Source: Inside Line via WorldCarFans

B
  • B
    Bismark
  • Feb 2, 2010
bravo BMW.
the Japs are still century behind compares to Deutsch.
B
  • B
    bapakkau
  • Feb 2, 2010
are u Otto von Bismarck?!
H
  • H
    HaZaRd
  • Feb 2, 2010
blue light front grill = ahbeng
F
  • F
    FlyWh3eL
  • Feb 2, 2010
HaZaRd, you're definitely right about that!
R
  • R
    rewlie
  • Feb 3, 2010
How it will be efficient for environment if only 100,000 units will be released? If want to make it efficient in bigger picture, then make it on production as per demand and make the price reliable, i can assure that this is not efficient for our pocket also.
T
  • T
    Tetsuya
  • Feb 4, 2010
don't like blue light, change to white LEDs or any color you like.
P
its not ah beng when it comes OEM.. everyone know BMW.. people doesn't care even if they produce a 100% box shape of car.. as long as it got BMW stamp on it..
same as when u have a cup of coffee at old town white coffee for RM5.++
u dun even think that was way too expensive..
but what if other regular restaurant charge the same?
P