News

Akrapovic Exhaust now in Malaysia

akrapovic exhaust (19)

Exhaust system is an integral part for a car’s performance. It would either make or break the engine output produced by an engine. As many car owners out there will agree, it’s one of the first modifications that will be done by them. Cars owners nowadays are well aware, without proper research and development, going to the exhaust shop to change the muffler or creating a new system will not give them the power gains they have always craved. All it will create are just more noise than necessary without producing the power. Enter the new exhaust specialist from Slovenia, Akrapovic.

akrapovic exhaust (13)

A Full Titanium system for the R35 GTR.

While Akrapovic (pronounced “Ack-rap’-o-vich”) has enjoyed a dominant reputation in the motorbike world, their name in the car tuning market is unheard of by many. The company founded by Igor Akrapovic in 1990 as he feels the need for a serious exhaust system that will meet extreme technical demand. Well known as a perfectionist, he began producing exhaust system for private motorcycle racing teams. In that time, the exhaust was branded ‘Skorpion’ (Akrap means scorpion in Turkish) till 1997 when it starts using the founder’s name. A unique and somewhat exotic brand name which characterised the product was well received by the public.Akrapovic uses three basic materials for creating exhaust systems: high grade titanium, stainless steel, and pre impregnated ultra light carbon fibre with high tensile strength and temperature resistance. A unique and exotic grade 37 or XT titanium alloy are used which are a custom blend and a highly guarded secret supplied exclusively by a Japanese company. It is therefore more much stronger and durable than regular titanium on the free market. Compared to other titanium alloy of lower grade, this grade of titanium is more suited for manual welding, extremely stable and resistant to oxidation at extreme temperatures of up to 900 degrees Celsius. Akrapovic titanium exhaust is stronger and 40% lighter than stainless steel. The material that was once only available to the aerospace and aviation or top racing teams are now available to the public. Akrapovic broke new ground by introducing titanium into its mass-produced exhaust system.

akrapovic exhaust (15)

Akrapovic exhausts have won more than 29 world championship titles in the motorcycle racing scene. Their first success in car racing came at the prestigious 2006 ADAC 24 Hours race at Nurburgring. The same team, Manthey Racing running the Porsche 911 GT3-RSR won it in again 2007 and 2008. Cars running Akrapovic exhaust have also won numerous races in Porsche Sports Cup Series with the 911 GT3-RS. The difference with other vehicles in this series was in the Akrapovic titanium exhaust system with a 21 kg weight advantage and increasing the engine output by 8.4 HP and 16 Nm of torque. They have also produced exhaust systems for Formula 1 teams.

akrapovic exhaust (6)

Using hydro forming process to mould the titanium with pressurised water,(from 1,000 to 4,000 bars) will ensure the material will not lose its strength. This process will also allow the exhaust fumes to flow optimally through the tube. Before that is done, the skilled and motivated R&D team using state of the art equipment which include dynamometer, a 3D scanner and 3D printer to produce a full size prototype from ABS plastic. This is all done in house with its strong 450 workforce.Computers have long been its constant companions in the 3-D planning of configurations, programming of tools, computer-aided manufacture, and as an indispensable accessory in the testing department for the analysis and setting of all possible parameters.

akrapovic exhaust (1)

Another special feature of Akrapovic workmanship is the TIG welding, which is the only way to guarantee the stiffness, durability, and smoothness of the welds.The CNC machines and laser cutting equipments in the factory allows for the precise components required for production. They built and design everything in house to maintain 100% control over quality. Only the stickers, clamps and the muffler’s damping wool are manufactured by subcontractors under the watchful eye of Akrapovic’s quality supervisor. The attention to details of its exhaust system is truly astounding.

akrapovic exhaust (22)

For an example, Akrapovic Evolution Exhaust System fitted to the BMW 335i will have an engine output increase of 12.4 HP and 16.4 NM of torque, tested on a dyno with a completely standard car. It weighs in at 14.37 kg while the standard exhaust weighs in at 34.22 kg which is a massive savings of 19.85 kg. This will definitely improve the acceleration, handling and also the braking performance of the car on top of the horsepower and torque gained. It is made entirely from titanium and will give the car a sporty sound that will reflect the formidable nature of the powerful six-pot engine.

akrapovic exhaust (12)

Currently Akrapovic exhaust systems are available for several Porsche,BMW, the Nissan GT-R and with the Mini Cooper S system coming soon. Akrapovic is constantly improving the line of range available to the market. The exhaust system that once was only available to elite race team is now available to you. For further

inquiries please contact:

HIGH N LUBRICANT SDN BHD (277976-T)
15-1, Jalan Setiawangsa 9
Taman Setiawangsa
54200 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: +603 4251 4113
Fax: +603 4251 3966
Webpage: www.high-n.com
E-mail: [email protected]

Text supplied by High N Lubricant

B
  • B
    Bird
  • Jan 15, 2010
surely super expensive...
F
  • F
    fxy
  • Jan 15, 2010
one exhaust systems = one kancil ?
H
  • H
    HBS
  • Jan 15, 2010
Akrapovic shorty Carbon full system for GSX-R1000K7=RM15.5k....:(

I got the old scorpion brand at my bike(Evo 3..not that loud & still give nice sounding when in high rev) but have changed to Quill...about power increases,I cant tell since it was slip on end can only....

Good laa after this got one of centre for Akra exhaust....will put the shorty on my kancil..see how it sound hehhehehe...
A
Interestingly, F1 cars don't use Titanium. They use 'Inconel', which is tradename for a special nickel-chromium based alloy originally used in rockets
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Jan 16, 2010
Wow. Looks soo sharply cut. Its like the thing was whole made straight from a CAD and CNC machine. Crazy stuff.
L
  • L
    Lelek
  • Jan 16, 2010
For such a high end product, you guys should definitely get a proof reader before posting... Not as bad as a babelfish direct translation, but still, quite bad la...
H
  • H
    HBS
  • Jan 16, 2010
They got Inconel based material for the exhaust such as street illegal Akrapovic Race Series & SP....but that was for bike,for the car I dont know if Akra has it for this time...& exotic material in afforable street bike is not a new thing anymore....recently streetbike using magnesium frame for even more weight saving.

The other motorcycle high end exhaust & very popular is Yoshimura RS-3 & Tri Oval which come in many material such as CF,Titanium & Inconel.
S
  • S
    savahn
  • Jan 16, 2010
A1Diablo: that's true. F1 cars use Inconel - which contains titanium as an alloy element in tiny amounts (4%) plus a heck load of other elements with the majority of mass being nickel. Inconel is used in rockets.

Not sure why though as titanium seems such a strong metal by itself since it was used to build the SR-71 Blackbird.

Grade 37 Titanium is alloyed with Aluminium (1.5%). A lot of nonsense jargon in the above article - mostly marketing rubbish.
S
  • S
    savahn
  • Jan 16, 2010
Hah! I just figured it out. F1 does not use Titanium because that metal expands and stretches at high temps. Inconel is resistant to this metal "creep" due to its unique internal structure.
M
  • M
    monster_killa
  • Jan 17, 2010
wow..so impressive.have a muffler for bike??
H
  • H
    HBS
  • Jan 17, 2010
Akrapovic started as motorcycle aftermarket exhaust back in late 80's.

Their company notable for impressive use of aerospace material where at early 90's it is rare to see it as aftermarket parts rather than pure racing/privateer upgrades.Mostly their compete in production motorcycle racing such as WSBK & BSBK & scored a good result even to this day.

BTW,still loves their old scorpion based logo Akra...:))
E
  • E
    escortburuk
  • Jan 18, 2010
Titanium is also used for construction of critical parts in the Typhoon class Soviet nuclear subs and their mach 3++ MiG-25 Foxbat jets... So titanium is tough enough for something as trivial as an exhaust system...
A
  • A
    A1Diablo
  • Jan 18, 2010
Titanium alloys are not just used in Typhoon class Soviet subs and Mig-25 jets.. It was very widely used in aerospace, naval, automotive etc where metallic materials with lightweight and strength is important where the cost can be afforded and where composites materials are not the solution.

However composite materials are the way forward these days.
Z
  • Z
    Zack
  • Oct 19, 2011
How much carbon akrapovic slip on Yamaha R1 2005..
R
  • R
    rosli
  • Dec 25, 2011
l'm locking for yamaha fz1 slip on carbon..how much
E
  • E
    eddie30
  • Apr 28, 2012
I'm looking for honda cbr250r slip on carbon....how much
W
  • W
    Wan
  • May 15, 2012
I would like to know the price of titanium exhaust system for the GTR R35. Please, do inform me
R
  • R
    Ritchie Tong
  • May 27, 2012
I have a Ducati Evo 848 which I bought last year.I would like to replace
its exhaust system with an Akrapovic exhaust system.Is it possible to have it fixed at your workshop?How long does it take to fix the new exhaust system?Any modification required? What is the total cost of the Akrapovic exhaust system plus the labour charges?I am looking forward to your reply.
Thanking you very much.
Ritchie Tong
H
  • H
    hesham mohiddin
  • Nov 7, 2013
i have a bike yamaha r15 150cc which exhaust gives good sound please can you help me . and i would like to have gp muffler sound
M
  • M
    Mr Noorani Fatadin
  • Jan 18, 2014
hi, I would like to know if you manufacture exhaust for Daf Truck?
Kind Regards
from Mr Noor.
F
Hi,I log on to your blog named "Akrapovic Exhaust now in Malaysia" regularly.Your writing style is awesome, keep it up! And you can look our website about free proxy.
F