MalaysiaNewsToyota

UMW Toyota Welcomes New Measures in NAP

UMWT Logo

UMW Toyota Motor welcomes the various measures taken by the government following the National Automotive Policy (NAP) announcement earlier today by the Ministry of International Trade and Industry.

According to Mr. Kuah Kock Heng, President of UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd, “We are pleased that the government is committed to implement the ASEAN FTA and other existing, as well as new FTAs, as per schedule.”

“Another positive note is that the government has taken the first step towards implementing a ‘Vehicle End of Life Policy’”, he added.

He also said, “The Government has indicated that it intends to implement the Euro 4M fuel standard by 2011. This will put Malaysia on par with most developed countries.”

On vehicles parts incentive, Mr. Kuah said, “We welcome the additional incentives outlined to support the development of a high value-added parts & components sector and this augurs well for the future of the Malaysian automotive industry. With regards to the aspect of consumer safety, a key measure announced was the phasing out of used parts & components by June 2011.”

“While we appreciate these various measures, we still have to contend with an excess in global automotive manufacturing capacity at this moment”, he added.

N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Oct 30, 2009
Toyota toyota... when the 15 year old scrap car plan goes in. What makes you think they would buy your cheapest car when it is not the cheapest in Malaysia?
D
  • D
    Drifter
  • Oct 30, 2009
The government has taken the first step towards implementing a ‘Vehicle End of Life Policy'... Huhuhuh There's goes the KE70 Drift car for beginners...
T
  • T
  • Oct 30, 2009
I can't believe they are saying such thing. Wake up Toyota!!! They are doing this not in favor for you...
D
  • D
    DOh
  • Oct 30, 2009
It is from UMW, does not represent the view of Toyota. Tak tau baca ke?
N
  • N
    Neo
  • Oct 31, 2009
They should be happy. I mean why not? To all car manufacturers, it is actually a good move. With the "Vehicle End of Life Policy", it's 'forcing' ppl to buy new cars. Though none will be cheaper than Proton but since when it ever was? There will always be a market there.

Also, with the import of used parts stopped, we'll be forced to buy "genuine" (can be fake also la) parts. I foresee a decline in business for workshops, but an increase for those 3S centers.
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Oct 31, 2009
Toyota in Malaysia is UMW! Like no one knows? DUH!!!

Good move if you can trade the 15 year old car for 50% of the price of a new car. But god damn!!! Not even RM5000 vehicle voucher from UMW? How can these idiots think it would be helping them? You can see the amount of Saga, Myvi vs Vios on the road already you know how much people are willing to spend for a car. A blardy cheapest VIOS already RM80K!!! You could pay for 2 SAGA or Myvi or save up the 50% for a nother new car after you finish payment of the current car for another RM40K car with that kind of money.

Yeah the removal of second hand parts shop would DEFINITELY fuel immitation or compatible parts market. whats worse is, if your Altis original gearbox got busted there are no halfcut shops to get parts anymore. So wait till you get the bill for RM10000 for a new one compared to RM5000-7000 for a chop shop one. Then see la.
E
  • E
    escortburuk
  • Nov 2, 2009
Of course laa you are happy. The policy is made to force the people to scrap their old beloved car to buy new ones. Review the NAP at once!
C
  • C
    corona_ice
  • Nov 2, 2009
if i'm not mistaken, it's been umw policy to not service cars older than 10 years... i still remember when my aunty who had always serviced her car from the time she bought her kp61 at toyota federal highway, was turned down citing that the car is old and she had to go to normal shops coz they would not bring in parts... so it's no new news that they support the nap proposal...
F
  • F
    fans.
  • Nov 3, 2009
I think there will be no problem for Malaysian. As there would be no way toyota would give up these ppl. I mean Toyota fans. If anybody has a problem with this. Then may i ask? Does you dream car (whatever car)(maybe something like Skyline GT-R) look expensive to your if you really want to own it? I`m not a rich guy. Just be in flow with the country system. There is no point on upsetting on our country`s goverment. The blame is why you`re born in Malaysia? If u dun like Malaysia, i can recommend U.A.E (Abu Dhabi) is the country you would like to take a visit.
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Nov 3, 2009
I want a PRIUS to be sold as is should have been priced correctly. Not at CAMRY price!!! WTF?!?!
N